Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Can't beat the location within the marine reserve!

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Very friendly and welcoming staff. Free wifi. Very quiet. Entertainment three times a week with movie night, Pacific buffet and BBQ with life music.
Cons: Food is on par with Sydney prices, though, and it would be nice to see some localised dishes on the menu, as well as some savoury options on the other
Location: Superb snorkelling at the house reef and scuba diving on site. Short trip to/from airport and Vila as well as waterfall and Mele.
My second visit to Hideaway Island. For me personally a great place to go when I need to truly unwind and recharge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: cleanliness, just on the beach in front of you
this hotel is very nice with good staff. very clean and the hotel is next to the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Good location if you want peace and quiet.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Location and the beach
Cons: The entire resort needs a re-vamp. Most things have been 'patched' up.
Location: Mele Cascades is about 5-10 minutes drive away. The Beach Bar is great which is across from the ferry.
Hideaway Island is located about 15 minutes bus ride from the main town (about 300 vatu per person one way). The resort itself is very run down and needs work. We asked for a number of maintenance issues to get fixed, but nothing got fixed during our week holiday duration. The Managers say they will look into it despite raising the issues several times, but don't. Most staff are friendly but if you are looking for a flash resort, this is definitely not the place to stay. The beach and snorkelling are worth it. Eat across at the Beach Bar as its alot cheaper and much better atmosphere. Hardly anyone was eating at the restaurant on the premises while we were there.
4 out of 5
by Guida

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
It was amazing staying in the island. The staff is friendly and helpful and everything you need is on the island. The breakfast had a good variety.
5 out of 5
by claire

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

In a nut shell, time to spend some money!

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Position, staff all. Always have a great welcome, rooms always well presented. Clean water, staff who care about the reef and the fish. My Island home
Cons: Food, money spent on rooms. TV available, Day trippers need a changing room, perhaps more toilets. offer a paddling pool for little ones, paid nanny?
Location: Hideaway has location! easy to access for all ages, beautiful setting, the jewel of Mele Bay. clear water, generally good visibility. See guide.
I have been a regular visitor to Hideaway Island for some years. Having been in this industry and well aware of what the elements can do, I can only praise the regular staff on their efforts to keep Hideaway running as well as it does. Right now the hard part, only one meal was memorable , the curry, lovely! Breakfast, chopping up a couple of local grapefruit and a bit of pawpaw, does not rate, nor do the dry little cakes. We do pay for this meal, it is included in accommodation, yes I could have paid for a cooked alternative, but have little appetite for this first thing in the morning. I will not comment on the beach facilities as I could see others enjoying themselves, I had a cold, however we were staying in the privately owned rooms with a pool, yes I did enjoy my swim . Sad to see the house has still not been adequately cared for, a dislodged gutter allowed to drip for a long time! has rotted wood . We paid the extra, got full time wifi and a tv, a real bonus given the humid weather. I would however like others to be able to have access to a tv , weather has been very inclement this year and it is nice to have the option. Books can be heavy with weight restrictions. Not everyone can handle the numerous sandflies, which are everywhere in the Islands this year. The staff do a wonderful job, but I think a dinner of fish and chips , my fish came battered on a stick! is hardly up to the standard, I compared this meal and pricing to many others enjoyed in the past.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

A very relaxing Hideaway

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The peace and quiet location
Cons: The resort is showing it's age but we love it as it is :)
Location: Plenty of great snorkeling, diving and other water activities (Kayak, paddle boarding, etc ...)
This is now our 3rd visit to Hideaway in 2 years and already planning our next trip. The staff is absolutely amazing, courteous and very kind and helpful. The diving sites are very relaxed and pleasant. A sanctuary on earth. Looking forward to our visit again. Tank yu Tumas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small beach

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Rooms were clean and had a good fan but the double bed is too small for a couple (best to get 2 single beds). Shared bathrooms could be better maintained. The island is lovely, staff is friendly, snorkels and fins are free to see the coral. The restaurant is good, but has restricted options for vegetarians. Breakfast is very good, lots of fruit, cereal, breads, pastry, coffee. It is very easy and quick to cross to the main island and free of charge if you are staying in the island. There's another restaurant/pub right at the jetty and it is also very good, for those staying longer looking for more options. Very enjoyable, reasonably priced, great breakfast, lovely staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roma Qld

Rundown and in need of some money spent on it!

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: The staff are very friendly
Cons: As above
Location: Mele Bay. Golf, zip line, hire a bus and go around the mainland
This was our second visit to Hideaway Island and we were disappointed to see that the place was even more run down that the last visit which was only in 2015. About time the owners spend some money on an upgrade. They also need to take some responsibility for keeping visitors from standing on the reef! A floating exclusion zone would help the reef recover which it is never going to do if it keeps getting abused! There seems to be no inclination from management to do anything to help preserve the reef which is the drawcard for this resort. Even having better signage in a number of languages might help! Seriously - would not go there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, NSW

Fantastic experience and superb snorkeling!!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: The snorkeling, the staff and the island itself
Cons: Air conditioning in the rooms
Me and my girlfriend loved this place. You are literally on a tiny island! The staff is really friendly, the snorkeling was fantastic and the place was so beautiful! I definitely recommend it and will be back for sure!