Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, Australia

Home away from Home- Tropical and Welcoming

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: The staff warmth and professioanlism.
Cons: The food offerings could be improved but an Executive Chef from Fiji was brought in to consult so management is aware that food needs fine tuning.
Location: Location is a little out of town but inexpensive taxis and buses are always available at short notice. There is a Casino and Spa for those interested
From the greeting to our departure we truly felt loved and respected by staff. The usual formal politeness in such establishments is thankfully missing here in Vanuatu's Holiday Inn. I have special mobility needs and the hotel far exceeded our expectations in catering for those needs. They have a special room but they felt it a little small so offered the use of an adjacent room for no extra fee. To access all facilities, the golf cart was at our disposal in a minute or two every time. The concierge "Chief Sam" is an absolute professional and a genuine gentleman. He even arranged and escorted us to his own local chapel for Sunday worship. The manager, Matthew and his deputy Simon run an amazing outfit and are ever present personally speaking to all guests as much as possible, making them all feel at home. The Fire Show and Dinner on the Beach are musts as is the Traditional Dancing on the Beach. We would definitely choose Holiday Inn Vanuatu again. Unfortunately on our first night , the air-con broke down and the TV was also broken. Both were very promptly fixed and/or replaced thanks to Matthew's personal attention. Extensive grounds and two large pools are ideal for adults holidaying alone or for families as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Picture perfect but not for the tastebuds

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: The views are beautiful and remind you everyday that you are in the beautiful pacific.
Cons: The hotel needs to employ chefs not cooks. Food is overpriced and bland. Staff also need to ge crossed trained so they know how to work in all areas
Location: Golf course for those who are interested. Excursion bookings available from staff in lobby for a small fee but certainly makes things easier.
Welcomed into a huge Bure style reception area with a water bottle and a shell necklace is a nice touch. The air conditioned room welcomes you with interior that you would expect from any other holiday inn. The veiws over the lagoon from most areas in the hotel is amazing. With a show most nights the family will be entertained however the buffet food actually just food in general (other than breakfast which did hold a variety of selections) was at a very poor standard taste wise. Now don't get me wrong the presentation of the food was good and the marquee by the water was a nice touch especially with the fire burning. However the staff are generally not happy although after touring the island extensively I soon came to see that it was actually the people in general. I understand that as a people they have been bashed a bit by natural elements such as the most recent volcano and concern of it blowing and of course the huge hurricane a year or two back which as we know almost wiped out the capital. Yes they have a lot of challenges on a daily basis, however for island living and people it is weird to not feel that joy except from the little children. I suppose it is a good place to go to get away from the hustle and bustle without that extra touch of special service... Because I just don't think you get it from the people. However the management at the hotel and European staff bend over backwards to help. Special thank you to Simon and Benjamin who do amazing work!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Fun family destination

Posted Sep 24, 2017
I stayed here for 7 nights along with family. We all had a great time especially the kids. I would recommend it. Any issues are dealt with efficiently and courteously.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by MatthewS, Hotel Management
Dear Nean, Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Resort while in Vanuatu. We're really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon. Regards, Matthew Senyard Resort Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Friendly staff, nice food, great swimming pools and the free kayaks and sail boats were a lot of fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by MatthewS, Hotel Management
Dear maree, Thank you for taking the time to share your review after your recent stay. We hope that you had the chance to relax, unwind and have some fun, and we can't wait to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Mathew Senyard Resort Manager
5 out of 5
by jim

BEST POSITION,LANDSCAPE & VIEW

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoy every minute of it ,& we will love to go to holiday inn resort in vanuatu again ,the position ,the landscape & view were magnificent,all staff were friendly & very helpful,the bed was very comfortable,our room was cleaned every single day, breakfast was really good a lot of variety to choose from ,most dishes were nice & tasty we had couple times buffet dinner by the beach chicken & fish dishes were very tasty we found beef & pork to be chewy deserts were tasty we loved the fire show on Thursday night.Thanks to all staff & Managers .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2017
Dear jim, Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Resort on your most recent trip to Vanuatu! We certainly appreciate your reviews of the Resort and your experiences with our team! It's lovely to read that you had such a wonderful time at the Resort and that you enjoyed the natural beauty of the surrounds. We can't wait to welcome you back to Vanuatu and to the Resort! Kind Regards, Matthew Senyard Resort Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Traralgon, Victoria, Australia

Nice big Resort

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: The friendly people Casino
Cons: We stayed in an overwater villa, very nice, just needs updating, especially the bathroom. Buggy service very slow. A swim up bar.
Location: great location, but no busses so had to get a taxi into town which are very expensive.
Very nice big resort, stayed for 8 nigthts. NIce big pool. great to have the casino right at the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by MatthewS, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Resort on your last trip to Vanuatu and for taking the time to write your review. We're very sorry that you found the buggy service slow, but glad you enjoyed the Villa. Busses and Taxi's can be somewhat of a challenge in Vila, with busses only passing through on an ad hoc basis as they drop people to the Resort and Taxi's being more expensive as they are allowed to sit at specified taxi ranks, but we will share your feedback with the Taxi Association nonetheless. Kind Regards, Matthew Senyard Resort Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Loved it.

Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Lastminute
You have everything you could ask for your trip. Towels, shampoo, body cream, toothpaste, etc... So no worries about the little things. Dinner is nice, but not so many choices. Otherwise everything very clean. Staff friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2017 by MatthewS, Hotel Management
Dear Milda, Thank you for your review of your recent stay! We're glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and note your feedback about the menu options. It's something that we've been working really hard on, and have just launched our new menu's on Sunday just gone, it's a shame we couldn't have done it while you were with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and to showing your our new and improved menus!! Kind Regards, Matthew Senyard Resort Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Caledonia

Lovely place in a paradise

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Great hotel for everyone family with and without children. Stuff are very kind and helpful. This place will make you comfortable from the first day until the last day of your visit. I hope we will be there again .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by MatthewS, Hotel Management
Dear Kone, Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Resort on your most recent visit to Vanuatu! It's great to read that you had such a comfortable and relaxing stay with us, and we can't wait to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Matthew Senyard Resort Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, modern resort on beautiful lagoon.

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Friendly staff and comfortable, clean rooms. Beautiful lagoon with free paddle boards etc. two great pools with ample loungers. Delicious buffets but a la carte items poor and expensive. Garden rooms only have standing room balconies...... book lagoon view!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2017 by Matthew.S, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to write and review your recent stay. While disappointing to read that you did not enjoy the a la carte meals, we appreciate the feedback and have taken on much of the feedback similar to yours while developing our new menus and concepts! We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Matthew Senyard Resort Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Wotif
Good location and facilities excellent to keep yourself entertained. Friendly staff. Really enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2017 by MatthewS, Hotel Management
Dear Bevan, Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Resort while in Vanuatu! It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Vanuatu and to Holiday Inn Resort! All the best, Matthew Senyard Resort Manager