Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Long way from town

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: For a self contained unit, it had everything we needed.
Cons: Certainly wouldn't class this as a four star resort. The breakfasts were decidedly average. Not great swimming off the edge of this resort.
Managers of the resort were on the whole helpful. Resort had a tired feel. The lock box in our room was broken and no keys, so had to have our money and documents on us everywhere. Beds were extremely comfortable and linen was clean. Resort a long way from anywhere. We ended up hiring a car to not feel so isolated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whangarei NZ

Island paradise found

Posted Oct 22, 2017
We absolutely loved our stay here and we would definitely go back. However, we were initially a little disappointed at the condition and cleanliness of the bungalow - (floor tiles in particular needed scrubbing rather than wet mopped), the corroded fans, lamps, lights and tap ware detracted from an otherwise spacious airy and comfortable bungalow. it would have also been good to see a few more reclining sun loungers. There were all the facilities to self cater but we would encourage that you support the onsite restaurant as the chef provides beautiful food and well priced. We had the best seafood platter and steaks we have ever had. The hospitality shown by Gerri and Jan was an absolute highlight. The staff were lovely. The seawater here was stunning and pristine with tropical fish in abundance off the end of the jetty. There is something truly magical about the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sunshine coast qld

relaxed and clean environment with a great chef

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Wotif
Loved the fish feeding from the wharf , lovely cool afternoon breeze , refreshing swim in the pool and a lovely fresh breakfast. Food lovely the chef can cook anything you want. Recommend for great value
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Relaxing resort overlooking the ocean

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff (especially Gerry). In house restaurant with good quality food. Relaxing setting. Spacious rooms. Private jetty with fish.
Location: 10 minutes drive from Port Vila. You will need to catch a bus or taxi to go to most places. Nearby activities included Wet n Wild and the summit.
We spent one week at the Island Magic Resort. We arranged a number of tours and activities with the help of the hotel staff. We spent Christmas Day here and had a nice buffet lunch including fresh seafood. The resort has a private jetty which a nearby reef. You can see feed the fishes and go snorkeling. We used buses to travel into town. As bus fare is per person and the limited buses operating in off-peak times, next time I would consider renting a car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Amazing!

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Close to tourist attractions and port Vila, but so quiet and peaceful
Cons: Nothing it was perfect!
Location: Water zorbing and wet and wild just across the road, fantastic snorkelling on site, hideaway island very close
Such a beautiful place, close to port Vila, but away from the hustle and bustle. So peaceful, our 2 bedroom bungalow was fantastic, clean and very spacious, staff were so friendly and helpful, we had such a wonderful time here - would definitely recommend to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Pleasant 12 days

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Just about everything - there wasn't much to complain about. The restaurant did some excellent meals and the curries in particular are first-rate.
Cons: Not much. We liked the place all through.
Location: Location was quiet and there wasn't much orgainsed in the area - which does me nicely on a holiday, thanks very much.
For a first trip to Vanuatu - on which relaxing was the most important thing - the Island Magic proved to be a good choice of places to stay. It's out of the bustle around town (which can get busy) and in a nice location with good swimming around, although there's no beach immediately by the hotel. Rather, there's a reef which provided some super snorkelling and the beach (black sand) is a few minutes walk down the road. The pace was gentle, the people were nice and the place was just what we were after. We had a very pleasant stay - the 12 days proved almost exactly right for us - and returned home feeling significantly better in mind and body.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and pool for the little kids who did not want to go snorkelling
Location: As island magic is located in mele outside POrt Villa we had to catch buses or tours to other activities but the resort was able to organise transport
Really enjoyed our stay at island magic. Staff were so lovely and very helpful. Great snorkelling off the jetty. the view across Mele Bay was beautiful
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Gerry, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whangarei

Lovely surroundings, peaceful, good snorkelling.

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: as above
Cons: nothing
Location: snorkeling, mele beach, restaurants, fire show, zip line, zorb, wet n wild, Tana coffee cafe n roaster
Island Magic was just what we needed, peaceful, safe, lovely surroundings. The staff were friendly and very helpful as required, when we asked about different excursions they were organised quickly without issue. It was great to be away from the main town but close to shops if we needed anything, biking distance. We were well catered for at the on site restaurant, delicious meals served by friendly faces. Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Gerry, Hotel Management
Hi Vikki and Keith, Thank you very much for your positive review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle NSW

Lovely location for snorkelling

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Comfortable accommodation, nice little restaurant, great snorkelling right at the resort, spacious units,
Cons: Accommodation is showing signs of needing a fresh update.
Location: Great location for snorkelling and swimming. Close to Hideaway island, close enough to town, close to Havannah harbour.
Comfortable accommodation, nice little restaurant, great snorkelling right at the resort, spacious units,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from king Creek NSW

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The bungalow was roomy, good facilities, lovely outlook.
Cons: Probably a bit more variety in menu at the restaurant
Location: Close to waterfall, very close to snorkelling and some other restaurant.
We enjoyed our stay but road condition to get there was poor. At our age probably a little too far out of town. The staff were great and very helpful.