Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from Canberra, Australia
Nice resort feel hotel in a great locationPosted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Location and great facilities. Great staff.
Cons: Rooms a bit noisy esp Ground floor can hear every movements from above. Never got to try pancakes as wasnt ready till 8am for 7am included breakfast.
Location: Great location. Walking distance to town and 2 minute walk to patisserie. Lots of buses outside.
Loved the hotel with room facing the lagoon. Also very good front staff for finding me a day round Island tour and giving directions to cascades on my own. Lagoon front still going through renovation. Nice pool. Overall very nice stay until last night when some lady knocked on the door and opened without waiting for responce only to tell me that I need to leave the door open for my friend. Didnt have a friend. Wouldnt be an issue if I didnt have to wakeup very early for flight so was trying to get some sleep when disturbed. Rooms can get a bit noisy from neighboring rooms, talking and every furniture movements.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Yorick, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear kan, We thank you for having taken the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at Moorings Hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience for the most part. We thank you for your feedback about noise and pancakes. I shall ensure I have words with the head-chef, as such an unavailability of pancakes should not be happening. I do apologise for this and I share your disappointment; those fish pancakes are too tempting to pass! :) Noise can indeed be an inconvenience in such small properties. We are sorry for this issue. What made things more challenging for all is that we had a large group of golfers with us for about a week and they were indeed at times inconsiderate of others, especially after a few at the bar(s). They were also noisy returning jolly late evenings, but fortunately given a few minutes they quietened down. I'm so sorry to hear of your late night disturbance on your last evening. My staff should know better as I drill the triple knock procedure in firmly. Vanuatu does reserve surprises regretfully... I vow to look into this immediately to reaffirm the procedure and to ensure we do not in the process wake the wrong persons. Again we apologise for the inconvenience felt on the night. It was likely a confusion with the golf group. We thank you again for providing us with your feedback. And we hope to have the chance to make it up to you in the not so distant future. Kind regards,
by A verified traveler from NZ
Poky little RoomPosted Jun 24, 2017
Very small dark room no chairs table seating at all only one side cabinet, brick wall out one door with one outside chair and little table waste of time even sitting on it other door where you enter just walls.... Did not get an email until it was to late as I was travelling at the time and had no internet as they were renovating and it was my last week of travel and was looking forward to my last week of relaxation but you couldn't relax anywhere not even your room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Yorick Nicholls, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear 'disappointed', Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment. The very small room matches the description as stated on all booking sources, being 17 square metres. None of our rooms feature chairs and tables, again as described on all room descriptions & features. From your comments, you did book a Standard Queen Room. Most would expect an entry level room of a 2star hotel to be standard & basic. We did have other room types, for little more, that would have offered you a better view. We are sorry to hear of the delayed notice about renovations, however depending on your time of booking either the information was already online for you to read or Expedia failed to forward the information to you. Please do not hold the hotel accountable for this understandable inconvenience as we have tried very hard to avoid such unfortunate situations. We sympathise with your disappointment however encourage you to contact Expedia on this matter, and we'd be happy to provide you proof of our own communications. Thank you for your understanding. Kind regards,
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from NZ
Close to town friendly staffPosted Jun 24, 2017
Stayed 2 nights and enjoyed our stay we knew that the hotel was undergoing renovations and our rate reflected it. It will have a lovely view over the harbour when complete. Rooms around pool definitely nicer as you can open your door onto pool area others are a bit dark but clean, quiet and all facilities work well. Great complimetary breakfasts and staff are really helpful. Easy stroll into town.
by A verified traveler
Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from Gold Coast
Hotel close to Airport and Port Vila town.Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: The facilities were exactly as advertised online. No nasty surprises.
Cons: More cupboard room. The fridge was set inside a cupboard which made opening the door of the fridge difficult.
Location: A short stroll from the hotel is a bakery selling wonderful croissants and pastries. The shopping centre of Port Vila is a 30 minute easy walk.
We spent three days at this hotel and were charmed by the friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful views of the harbour from the restaurant. The food was excellent and the service prompt and professional. Room was serviced and clean linen renewed daily. No shortage of hot water in the shower.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler
Nice friendly hotel.Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff ,good food .
Cons: Rooms are a bit small ,,no room for a chair if you have double bed .
This was my second stay at The Moorings for the annual seniors golf tournament .Renovations were in progress , but this did not affect the excelent level of staff service .Rooms are a bit small , I went to play golf , so that didnt worry me greatly . When the renovations are finished ,this will be a reat holday venue .
Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
for Couplesby A verified traveler
Location is good and staff are excellentPosted May 12, 2017
Even when the weather was not good the hotel is a comfortable place to be
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from Canberra
we booked here as we wanted a poolPosted May 1, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: rooms are nice. we had a family room and there was a queen bed and bunk singles. rooms all have tv and air-con and are very clean.
Cons: more responsive and reasonable customer service.
Location: central location within walking distance to vila and markets/shops. local buses stop out the front.
pool was under renovation when we arrived and so was the entire waterfront side of the hotel. staff said this was advised on the website but it was NOT. we booked through wotif. however Anita at reception was amazing at helping us resolve. very switched on and things run smoothly when she is there. other service issues need improving. staff not helpful with baggage. breakfast offer gins were scarce. when we asked for fruit nothing happened then we asked again and it took 20 mins for a few slices of grapefruit to Come out. when we ordered dinner at the bar as there arena phones in the rooms. they didn't know how long it would take when asked for it to be brought to the room, the staff were all standing around doing nothing as there was nobody else there. however instead they let our meals sit on the bar when we were 1o metres away in the closest room. when I asked why they didn't bring it or let us know they said that is an extra 500 vatu. communication poor about bedding configurations required both times we stayed there. seems like a manager is needed on-site to keep it all together.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Moorings Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Nat, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Moorings Hotel. I'm sorry to hear of some of your inconveniences during your stay. I take this opportunity to correct you in that the renovations were in fact advised at time of booking. We cannot help it if our clients fail to read conditions at time of booking. It is human nature to speed through such processes, but we cannot be held responsible for this after having made all efforts possible. Still we are pleased that Anita came to your assistance at the time. We also remind you and our readers that in a 2 star hotel baggage assistance is not available. If it were, it would have been advised in our hotel features and services, again at time of booking. Please rate us fairly based on our rating and profile. We are sorry to hear the breakfast was too simple for you. We are surprised about this given most find it quite acceptable given it is also inclusive. Indeed we do not have phones in our rooms, as per the hotel/room features. Again this should have come to no surprise. As well as the absence of room service, we do not offer this service at Moorings Hotel and we thank you for respecting this when choosing a budget establishment. Most clients will wait for their meals and are pleased to take them to their rooms themselves. Bedding config is either King or Twin. Yet we very often find guests forgetting to ask for this prior to arrival. And consequently apply ample pressure on our staff to perform this 'a la minute'. The manager does reside on site. He is replying to you himself. And he confirms all of the above and apologises if our humble establishment did not meet your expectations, but believes a 2 star property is in fairness not what you are accustomed to when travelling. Kind regards
Worth a stop overPosted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
Food and service excellent . Staff friendly and helpful. Older accommodation however very clean and comfortable. A few reservations happening at present but not to inconvenient. Recommend staying. Great location.