Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Nice views, breezy elevated location, convenient and staffed with helpful and friendly people. Lovely gardens and outdoor dining. Delicious home made bread for breakfast as well as local tropical fruit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Perfect place !

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff .
Cons: Nothing we could see .
Location: Very handy to town and convenient to departures for tours . Yet very peaceful .
We had a wonderful time in Vanuatu , and were made warmly welcome by all. Poppys made it all so much easier for us . Thank you .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Terrific, except for.....

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Cons: Either take away the spa bath or improve the capacity to fill it with hot water.
This resort exceeded our expectations in every way except for the bath in the spa bungalow suite. We booked this hotel over all the others especially for the spa bath. Unfortunately it just didn't live up to the hype. It is hooked up to a water tank that isn't actually able to fill it with hot water any more than about 3 inches from the bottom. So you sort of sit in a puddle for a bit and then go and have a shower! It's all good, we coped, had a laugh about it, and kept boiling the jug and adding more hot water, but after all that effort we didn't use it again. Massive shame because we paid extra for the spa suite and then couldn't use the spa!! Otherwise, the room was great - spacious, awesomely comfy bed, clean facilities and a great gas cooker in the kitchen meant that we didn't need to eat out every night and could cook for ourselves. Very thrilled with that. The resort is in an excellent location 10 min walk from town. The staff are friendly and helpful. Free wifi in public places worked ok and breakfast was fine. We are pleased we stayed here, we would recommend it to others, we would return here ourselves. Just probably wouldn't bother paying extra for the spa bath that's all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Quiet location a good base to explore from

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: Quiet location, a good base
Cons: Could do with a nice upgrade and decent food , no one seems to want to eat there but I don't think management cares anyway,
Location: Probably best part is the location close to everything but the lagoon doesn't look inviting for a swim
We stayed 6 nights from the 12th of June , if you are seeking a quiet location away from the bigger resorts this place may suit you, our first night we stayed in the cheaper lagoon view studio high up in the resort and we hated it , just too far away from the main part lower level and the rooms were so small I felt like I was suffering from claustrophobia , we were seriously considering finding alternative accommodation until my partner spoke to reception and worked out a $300 upgrade to a larger room right on the lagoon, once we moved down there we were reasonably happy , it's a good 10 minute walk into town but we enjoyed doing it or you can get into a bus for $1.50 , Don't expect much for breakfast except for some cold pancakes and bread to toast and a bit of jam and coffee but it's ok enough to get you started I suppose, The staff were all pleasant enough and helpful if you asked for advice, the hotel manager is a carbon copy of a Basil Fawlty running around annoying the staff but tended to shy away from making any contact with guests...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dungog, NSW, Australia

Pretty Resort close to everything

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: The staff. Child friendly.
Cons: Water pressure. Food quality Main meals were not cheap but the quality was. Breakfast included in package but very cheap in quality.
Location: Close to town and all services. On the water. great for water activities
Great staff, Nice facilities, Accommodation well priced. Package Breakfast of low quality, Other food very average for price, low water pressure (like showering in a mist)..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South East Queensland, Australia

Comfortable, quiet resort with beautiful gardens.

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Quiet location, private access to the lagoon. Not far from the centre of town.
Location: Tours around the island and others nearby, swimming, snorkelling.
Very happy with our clean beach house, feet in the lagoon. Friendly staff (not quite so impressed by the management, not so friendly). Crystal-clear pools set in lush, tropical and well kept gardens. More than reasonable food, appreciated that most of it was local food and flavour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Carla, Hotel Management
Dear Lucy, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. We are glad to hear you had such a lovely time in Vanuatu. We look forward to being able to welcome you back again in the future. Kindest Regards, Carla
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Overall experience

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: As stated above
Cons: As stated above
Location: As stated above
Room was good, walls are thin so expect to hear neighbours talking muffled. Also tiles on the floor make it loud when people above are walking around or drop something. Be sure to check your room bill at the end of the stay. We where charged more for things we had paid for by cash, and some things wherent taken off the bill for things we didnt end up doing ie a massage. Keep a record of everything you put on your room bill. Some of the service was slow, orders getting forgotten or full charge for cocktails even during cocktails even tho I ordered within the Happy hour prices. The staff where every friendly and helpful when organising tours, drivers and information. The massages are amazing and highly recommend getting one. Location was good = quick 10min walk into the main centre. As 2 females (mother and daughter) we where adviced from hotel staff not to walk back from town any later then 9 on a friday, saturday, or sunday due to the locals having a drink at the local bar around the corner from the hotel. Overall I will be staying in this hotel again it was a very satisfactory hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Aus

Great place to stay.

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location was good and friendly staff.
Cons: The food in general is just ok at best. Fresh fruit is the only good thing about breakfast. This could be improved by mixing the menu up.
Location: A 10 min walk from town, supermarkets car and bike hire etc. Getting around is easy with the local transport bus service for about $2 au per trip.
Service was great, Breakfast needs a fair bit of an improvement, Happy hour cocktails are fantastic and reception are very helpful with everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Nice hotel, beautifully located at the lagoon.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Very clean and surrounded by a beautiful gardens and nice views.
Cons: Better price for transfer Airport/Hotel/Airport. As we booked it in advance, we've paid double the price then we would have paid if dealt directly.
Location: Easy access and well organized.
We went there to enjoy a week of family holidays with our teenager daughter and we had an amazing time! The hotel is well located, just a walking distance from town. Everybody there is very friendly and everything worked as planned!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Carla, Hotel Management
Dear VSM, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our gardens and great location. We love that our guests can safely walk into town and most central attractions such as the market! Kind Regards, Carla
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
Guest pool used as community pool by locals is not right when you're paying $100/night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2016 by Carla, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. We are shocked to hear that you thought that the pool was being used by the community of an evening. Our managers live on site and we have security that are in and around the resort and we have never experienced anyone other than our guests swimming in the pool of an evening. We are sorry to hear that you experienced this. I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards, Carla