Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BEAUTIFUL PLACE, AMAZING VIEW BUT NO BREEZE AT AL

Posted Dec 10, 2017
HI, We just got back 3 nights ago from staying at Sunset Bungalow. The views were spectacular, but as it was in the rainy season, sadly we didn't see any sunsets due to cloud. The room was splendid, so nicely presented, it was THE BEST room and views I have ever stayed in. The water right there and it had a lovely balcony with table and chairs. They had air conditioning but you would then have to shut the doors and not see any view to put it on. Luckily there was a fan that was portable so you could move this where you wanted it. Very romantic. They did have a lovely pool. The water in the ocean did have a lot of jelly fish at night and they can sting and give you a rash, I only saw one in the morning during the day, but about 40 at night, so swimming in the ocean is probably OK, but be warned. REEF SHOES ARE A MUST not only here but anytime you are swimming in beautiful Vanuaut. It is a very poor country, withthe happiest people I have ever encountered. Genuinely happy and always smiling and waving at you. If you want to give give away gifts to them, as I did, they appreciate anything, but especially new or second had back packs, thongs, shoes for any age , male or female, shopping bags that are strong, beach bags, reef shoes, plastic table cloths that are large -rectangle tables , you can find these for $13 at the cheaper discount shops. MORE IMPORTANT than anything are tourches and glow in the dark clothing, as they walk everywhere in the dark, no streetlights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Dec 6, 2017
The bungalows themselves are very nice with gorgeous views of the water. Unfortunately the furniture inside is very dated, beds extremely uncomfortable, pillows and linen is worn and old. I would recommend updating the bedding and beds and it would be a more comfortable stay. The ‘buffet breakfast’ is not buffet, it’s a set menu you choose from such as eggs on toast, bacon is extra $$ which I find ridiculous. A tip to all, do not leave personal belongings on the balcony of the bungalow and make sure you close and secure your bungalow sliding doors at night as there are creepy people who kayak and watch inside the bungalows Overall, was an okay experience. The bungalow view definately made up for our lack of sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NSW

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Some staff were exceptionally hospitable and friendly.
Cons: Meals were very slow and of poor standard in comparison to a lot of other places we ate. A number of times what we ordered from the menu was not in.
We've stayed there before and it was brilliant. Just under new management and the tone of everything was down. Staff trying but seemed under stress and not their old happy selves we knew from previous experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

friendliest staff ever

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: staff & food provided
Cons: happy with whole experience
Location: location a bit far from town
The hotel is very clean. The staff at this hotel made our stay a very pleasant experience. They were always friendly with smiles on their faces.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with beautiful views over the lagoon.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Everything is really clean, the room was large and cool, the views absolutely beautiful.
Cons: The waiting time for our meals could be shorter...
Location: The hotel is close to the main road but there is not much traffic during the night. Nothing is far away on a small island and you can take the bus.
We stayed there for a week. The staff were always very friendly and welcoming. The food was very nice too, I enjoyed the tropical fruits for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hotel, very friendly staff

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: The view, great staff and comfortable hotel.
Cons: Better selection of toiletries a shower cap would be handy.
Location: Handy to public transport. Good location, 15 minutes to town.
A very nice hotel the host Audrey and Greg were very helpful with recommending the best tours and the easiest way to get around town. The meals were nice served in a restaurant with a great view. Rooms were large and bed was comfortable with a view of the lagoon. The only downside was it could be a bit windy mainly in the afternoon. Overall a great spot.
4 out of 5
by Pratya

Good value

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Quiet and comfortable. You can actually fish off your balcony.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poorly managed hotel and not convenient location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The restaurant staff were amazing and helpful.
Cons: Customer satisfaction should be on top of the priority.
Location: Most of the tours will offer a pick up. but you better research what you want to do and count with the hotel just to book.no travel advice onsite.
If its your first time to Vanuatu you may want to find something in the centre. If you have traveled far to have a swim at the swimming pool or be on your phone with the complimentary wifi, then this is the hotel for you. otherwise there is nothing to do around Sunset Bungalows and you are obliged to eat at the hotel or adventure to the nearest restaurant that its not on a walking distance specifically during the evenings. The hotel is poorly managed, i had a particular experience after i booked more then 3 months prior to my arrival, only the day before when i wrote to the hotel to organize a transfer, they replied that they had no booking under my name and there weren't expecting anyone at the hotel, and their justification was that they had an issue with the system the day before terrible excuse for a 3 months hold booking. I was lucky there was only 1 room occupied in the entire hotel and we were the second room, and even after the hassle i didn't see any effort from the hotel to apologize... They insisted we took part in an activity they "offered" and it required 15 min car transfer to another location, when we returned us and another couple were forced to pay the transfer on spot in the middle of the night when no one told us we were supposed to pay and its was offered to us as if it was a complimentary service by the hotel, it was upsetting not because of the costs but the way the whole matter was approached.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Third World compound - Worse resort in the world!

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
Not good. This is not a resort. It is a compound between a stagnant lagoon and a third world highway full of pot holes in a slum. I assume there are many, who due to the nice owners, friendly staff are not speaking their true mind. Read the poor ratings and average ratings for guidance on this place. What they said! There is no WIFI except in the so-called restaurant which is a small deck over the mosquito lagoon. There is no TV in the room except for 4 channels. If you arrive late like we did, around 7PM, you will find everything is closed by 9PM and you are sitting on this dock, in the dark, with a security guard (they lock the gates at 9PM and he is there to open them for you if you dare to go out after dark). You can then go to your room and watch either Australian news or Hogan's heroes (LOL). The buses are 30 year old Hyundai's that run you into so called town (dirty, filthy town and the body odor OMG). We moved out after we found a nicer hotel in town. We could not take the isolation, nothing to do in an old outdated complex. What kind of resort has no WIFI, TV and you cannot get a drink, eat do anything? It locks down, gates closed by 9PM with no way of even getting a bottle of water - which was not provided either. You are a prisoner. Food was below average too...just nothing good to say about the complex or Port Vila in general. Stay in Fiji, New Caledonia or just stay home. We have traveled all over Asia, south pacific this was the worse experience of our lives.
4 out of 5
by Christopher

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
Great place