Ratings based on 400 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean hotel, pleasantly surprised!

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Overall, a great hotel for the price. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Very nice staff! Just a few suggestions: 1. Breakfast was mediocre, could have been hotter and better selections. 2. Pool/hot tub had too much chlorine, was unable to enjoy this amenity during my 3 day stay. 3. Housekeeping should have a list of guests on an extended stay and should not just knock twice then barge in. I was awakened twice :(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Taking my daughter to college

Posted Aug 24, 2017
The entire stay at this hotel was great. I will be booking with them each time I drive to Savannah to visit my daughter at school
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by steve, Hotel Management
Thanks for ttaking time to fill out our survey. We are glad you enjoyed your stay we ant to thank you for your business and look farward to see you and your friends soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ga

Roach infested hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Facilities seemed nice when arrived at 6pm. After returning from dinner noticed roach in room. Requested to be moved to another room and noticed roaches in that room as well. Went to front desk to request full refund and to check out. Front desk staff was very understanding and called management but then informed me that management was not willing to give my full refund. I demanded to speak with the manager myself so desk staff called to inform management of my request. At this point the manager agreed to give my full refund. Seems management did not want to refuse my request face to face. Interesting. I will never book at this hotel again. Ended up staying at Laquinta southside. An older facility but very clean with friendly, accomodating staff, and NOT ONE BUG.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by steve, Hotel Management
As we appologize and have expalained before we do have exterminating service once a month and the bugs do get traveled in in the guest suite cases from hotel to hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Room did not have a working A/C

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Cons: Cleanliness and facilities very deficient.
Location: Savannah lovely town.
Room did not have a working A/C. Was hesitantly moved to another room which was not what I paid for - hotel staff did not want to recognize I was not delivered what I paid for. Felt cheated out. Never staying here again. Room was extremely dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by aman, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey. on behalf of our hotel i would like to apologize regarding your stay. We would like to let you know we have fixed the issue and have disciplined the housekeeper who had cleaned your room. We hope you give us another chance to stay with us and we can go above and beyond with our service.
4 out of 5
by Laura

Nice hotel.

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel. Convenient to Savannah. My only complaint is the shower does not drain very well. You are standing in water your entire shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey. we would like to inform you we have fixed the issue with our bath tubs and they are draining perfectly fine now. We hope you give us another chance to go above and beyond,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Almost there

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
Nice renovations, but fell short on cleanliness. Found ants in two rooms. The staff was helpful and tried to please. Breakfast was decent, and beds hurt the back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey. We are pleased to hear your enjoyed your recent stay with us.
5 out of 5
by demetria

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and check in was easy. The bed was comfortable and it was quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017
thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey. we are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future.
4 out of 5
by William

This place is on our map now...

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great service (even from the grumpy manager and/or owner(?)) and fairly new property. The room we had was huge (2 queens with sofa bed) and the rate was very reasonable. The indoor pool was a little crowded, humid and noisy since there were kids there without adult supervision when we arrived. The manager appeared to be a numbers cruncher and didn't want to come off towels for the pool but the front desk clerk gave me some anyways. Also don't count on great WiFi and it was horrible, took forever to connect and then kept going in and out and slower than molasses in January. Despite all of this it was a great stay and just a short walk from Sweet Tea Grille, which is the best place to eat in Savannah, imo.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey. we are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with. We would like to assure you that we have fixed the issue with our wifi and it is working perfectly fine now. we hope to see you soon again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix, az

Good location for savannah

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Wonderful room and evertthing I requested we received! Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2017 by Aman, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to see you and your family again in the near future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017
thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey. we hope to see you soon.