Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Unfortunately we had stayed here when it was a resort hotel. Now it felt tired, and unfriendly. The focus seemed to be more of a stopover motel for walkers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, NZ

Million dollar view

Posted Feb 25, 2017
The location is amazing, quiet and sheltered. The resort itself could use a bit of a tidy up as far as appearance goes. We stayed in the kowhai lodge, its comfortable and clean. Air con would have been ideal for sleeping at night. They would benefit from having a little shop set up like the other resorts in the area for things such as sunscreen but otherwise was a nice experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Gorgeous views from the rooms.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
The location was hard to reach but definitely worth it. The views from the rooms were magnificent. He breakfast was great. Staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Jane

Beautiful resort

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
We were just stopping over in between the ferry and driving to Nelson but the service was excellent and the room and area beautiful.
5 out of 5
by Ian

Friendly, happy & outgoing staff.

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent customer service. They helped us arrange a water taxi due to our late arrival and limited options on the holiday. When we arrived late at night they picked us up from the dock & had already checked us in so we could go directly to our room and have a great sleep. We woke up to stunning views and a great breakfast. All the staff members were friendly, happy and very helpful. We tried to tip and they insisted against it since they "they were just doing their job". Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from We walked in of QCT - but accessible by road.

Great Service and lovely food.

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
After walking 27km to get here, this was a welcome stop. Relaxing lounge bar furniture with fire place on a wet day A++. Excellent service from Lam the waitress from Hong Kong. Room had a modern bathroom and King bed, dated comfirtable seating and lamps in #21. Food was great and plentiful for dinner. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by Shawna from Waianae

Luxury in the Wilderness

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Wow!!! Great staff, phenomenal food and a cozy room with a breathtaking view.... what more could you ask for?
5 out of 5
by Einar Povl from Copenhagen

Amazing views over Kenepuru Sound

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
I was a bit surprised when I turned up just before 7 pm and the reception was closed. But it was quickly re-opened for me, and I was checked in, getting an immaculate room with a king-size bed and an amazing view over Kenepuru Sound (quite a bit nicer than the room I had booked!). Dinner in the restaurant was OK; not amazing, but not bad - and the dessert was quite good. What really stood out was the sunset over the Sound, which was absolutely spectacular. There were buffet and cooked breakfast options in the morning, which were perfectly decent, with tasty home-made jams. Overall, a nice stay in a fantastic location. If you are driving, be aware that it takes longer than expected from Picton: the road is narrow and windy. Good access to Queen Charlotte Track, and other walks like the Mount Stokes track.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Outstanding View

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The view.
Cons: A much needed revamp & modernization, some staff could do with a little refresher course on how to greet people.
All I heard when we told people where we were staying they would say, Oh wow. When we get to reception we were greeted by a chap who didn't even introduce himself & I got the feeling he was there under sufferance, he was just doing his job.. We get to the room & enter to find the room clean & tidy. The Bedhead looked very second hand, well used. A bit Tattered. I went to put some drinks in the fridge to find it had been turned off & as I discovered it was hard wired into the room I then had to find the switch to turn it on. This was completely hidden by the flat screen TV. We booked for Dinner in the restaurant & when we arrived we were seated & given a Menu, way over priced & a poor selection of meals, the waitress how ever was a delightful girl, friendly & helpful Nothing about the hotel really struck me as being marvelous, it's reputation was living in the past when it might of been outstanding in it's prime. I feel it was over priced & over rated & as I spoke to some locals about the Portage they fully understood what I was saying. .
4 out of 5
by Loris from Switzerland

Pure Relax

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
Relaxing pure at the end of the world with style