Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Shawna from Waianae

Luxury in the Wilderness

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Wow!!! Great staff, phenomenal food and a cozy room with a breathtaking view.... what more could you ask for?
5 out of 5
by Einar Povl from Copenhagen

Amazing views over Kenepuru Sound

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
I was a bit surprised when I turned up just before 7 pm and the reception was closed. But it was quickly re-opened for me, and I was checked in, getting an immaculate room with a king-size bed and an amazing view over Kenepuru Sound (quite a bit nicer than the room I had booked!). Dinner in the restaurant was OK; not amazing, but not bad - and the dessert was quite good. What really stood out was the sunset over the Sound, which was absolutely spectacular. There were buffet and cooked breakfast options in the morning, which were perfectly decent, with tasty home-made jams. Overall, a nice stay in a fantastic location. If you are driving, be aware that it takes longer than expected from Picton: the road is narrow and windy. Good access to Queen Charlotte Track, and other walks like the Mount Stokes track.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Outstanding View

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The view.
Cons: A much needed revamp & modernization, some staff could do with a little refresher course on how to greet people.
All I heard when we told people where we were staying they would say, Oh wow. When we get to reception we were greeted by a chap who didn't even introduce himself & I got the feeling he was there under sufferance, he was just doing his job.. We get to the room & enter to find the room clean & tidy. The Bedhead looked very second hand, well used. A bit Tattered. I went to put some drinks in the fridge to find it had been turned off & as I discovered it was hard wired into the room I then had to find the switch to turn it on. This was completely hidden by the flat screen TV. We booked for Dinner in the restaurant & when we arrived we were seated & given a Menu, way over priced & a poor selection of meals, the waitress how ever was a delightful girl, friendly & helpful Nothing about the hotel really struck me as being marvelous, it's reputation was living in the past when it might of been outstanding in it's prime. I feel it was over priced & over rated & as I spoke to some locals about the Portage they fully understood what I was saying. .
4 out of 5
by Loris from Switzerland

Pure Relax

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
Relaxing pure at the end of the world with style
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
Upgraded our room to get a view which was worth the extra money it cost. A luxurious treat in a beautiful place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous view, comfortable room

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Staff were friendly and very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay. The meal at the restaurant was beautifully presented, excellent service and couldn't be faulted. The hot tub is fabulous. We walked off the Queen Charlotte Track and the bus ride back to the track in the morning was greatly appreciated.
3 out of 5
by Wayne from Timaru

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Two nights stay. Menu was disappointing as no fresh fish available. The staff in particular David were very good. We lost a ring through the decking and he took the time to retreive it for us. The hotel was tidy and clean bit not very warm as it was quite cold and raining. No hot water in our friends unit.
4 out of 5
by Penny from Nelson

A great place to stay with wonderful views.

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
We had a great overnight stay. The room was well appointed and reasonably priced. There was only free view TV not sky but that doesn't matter to us.WiFi if wanted is to be paid for. The food was delicious, a bit dear but worth it(winter menus). The staff were were very helpful and welcoming.loved waking up to the view of the sounds.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Staff very helpful. Location stunning. Food good.

Posted Apr 18, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Location location location
Cons: Will need some money spent on it soon to tidy up , more choices in restaurant perhaps....but overall loved it
Loved it . Hotel location is amazing but beginning to look a little tired.