Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok budget place to stay

Posted Jul 28, 2016
No elevator, stuffy smell, courteous staff, has water slide for kids
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Regular Business Trip

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Location & Parking.
Cons: Refer to my comments.
I travel extensively for business across Canada. This is my first time staying over in Portage. My room was the farthest from the front desk (three cheers for Expedia) I believe if you use Expedia the automatically give out a lesser room. I find that in many cities. Also no elevator. Entering the room it was very hot. AC units would not turn on. After checking - the cords we taped up under the AC unit. Freed them up, plugged them in and an hour later had a cooler room. The two TV's didn't work. Young lady at the desk came up and got this figured out for me. There needs to be instruction at the TV for these units. Very strange process. All in all not a very comfortable room or stay. Bad furniture layout and a really small bathroom. I won't be back. I'll drive to Winnipeg from now on.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kipling, SL

Clean rooms and a waterslide

Posted May 10, 2016
This is a clean, basic motel. My only complaint is that our air conditioner stopped working in the night and I couldn't see the security bar to remove it to open the window. The kids loved the pool and waterslide and the complimentary breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from winnipeg

Posted May 5, 2016
Staff was friendly and hotel was nice. Great breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

comfortable stay

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable stay! Newly renovated with new carpet Friendly staff!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was alright.

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
It was ok. The walls were quite thin. For $140 a night, you would think they would get newer furniture. The bed was comfortable enough, but the bedspread was not very clean.
4 out of 5
by Crystal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

A quick Hotel in a storm.

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: The rooms were sufficient for our requirements. The Pool was a nice to have, and the complimentary breakfast the next morning was very welcome.
Recently while travelling back to Winnipeg from a trip, a Winter Storm caused the highways between Portage-la-Prairie and Winnipeg to be closed. As a result, we need to find a Hotel to stay in for the night. After stopping at a different Hotel, and finding a massive line up at the Check-In counter, we decided to try the Super 8. Upon arrival at the Super 8, we found the same line up at the Check-In counter. While in line, I decided to get onto Expedia.Ca and book my room at the Super 8 online to get a Reservation in place. The on-line booking process was very easy, and my room was reserved for me when I finally did reach the Check-In counter. The Hotel became fully booked prior to me getting to the Check-In counter.
3 out of 5
by Stephen from Kenora

Posted Dec 19, 2015 on Hotels
Room was clean & quiet but included breakfast was disappointing - very limited selection and no re-supply when small quantities were gone. Thankfully Tim Horton's close by.
3 out of 5
by stephen from Peterborough, ontario

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
We were there for one night, the hotel is old. It doesn't have an elevator, we were given room on the second floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2015 by Sam, Hotel Management
Dear Stephen, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. In regards to the age of our motel, we are currently starting renovations. So, the next time you come, you should see a drastic change to our motel. Also, it is unfortunate that we do not have an elevator at our motel, however, if given enough notice, we are always able to provide a guest with mobility problems a room on the ground floor. We aim to please our guests and so we will be able to accommodate most requests, given that they are reasonable. Regardless, please stop by the next time you are in town and we will try our very best to make your next stay a perfect one! Kind regards, Sam (General Manager)