Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dominican rep

Beautiful place, very calm and near sightseeing

Posted Jun 24, 2017
This hotel is very interesting and nice, near the beautiful historic cities The are a nice collection with historic pieces This staff have wonderful people But have to improve the breakfast We recomend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cmd

Night at the museum. ! Wonderful stay ,,! Want so

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Travelling on my harley from santander to vale do lobo I decided to stay here "" I missed my. Turn in even with my expensive sat nav. But a nice local lady drove. Me to entrance "" its more of a track than road so I forgive my new navigation system "" love the character of the hotel ,,lovely friendly. Staff "very helpful ! Its rustic charm in a country setting !H. O G.
5 out of 5
by Anthony from Hatfield

Small and unique experiece

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
A little way from the sightseeing places we wanted to visit but not too far and a truly excellent experience. An excellent lounge - like living in an antique shop. A very helpfull and friendly girl running the place. No restaurant for dinner but an excellent recommendation close by in the village.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Quaint and Quiet

Posted Oct 17, 2015
This place is amazing. It's only 10 minutes from Portalegre but is a beautiful oasis from the hustle and bustle of a city. The staff go out of their way to ensure that you have a relaxing stay. The rooms are clean, spacious, and comfortable. The common rooms are filled with period pieces from the early Era of the convent.
5 out of 5
by Brian William from Manchester.

Not your typical hotel accommodation but 1st class

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
I was delighted with the reception we received from the two staff who were in attendance. The room was splendid and the breakfast was first class. The even directed us to a local restaurant which looked after us very well. A lovely experience and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others. Well done.
5 out of 5
by Nancy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by J&JB from Leics UK

An Absolute Gem - Our find of the decade!

Posted May 17, 2013 on Hotels
Situated in acres of wild flower meadows and woods,on the edge of the National Park, this very well rebuilt former Bishop's house is the ultimate chill-out place for us. Very comfortable rooms with great views and lots of game room and pool facilities.Very helpful staff - nothing too much trouble. If you don't want to drive to Portalegre for dinner, they will produce an excellent meal and wine at a very fair price. Bit of a country house weekend feel about it. We will certainly return if visiting Portugal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2017
l'accueil a été bienveillant. Un accueil à l'écoute, les chambres très agréables , le décor impressionnant et chargé d'histoire. le petit déjeuner bien garni, dommage que nous n'étions que de passage , la piscine était bien tentante. restauration à Portalegre adresse à retenir.
4 out of 5
by Avilar

Local tranquilo com pessoal disponível, educado.

Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
Ótima! Faltaram frutas descascadas e picadas no pequeno almoço. Fruta inteira é desagradável.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beaucoup de charme

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Dans un ancien couvent, un olivier extraordinaire, une déco intérieure remarquable, une grande piscine, bref un hôtel à découvrir pour explorer le parc de Sao Mamede. A 5 mn de Portalegre, et environ 20mn de Marvao ou Castelo de Vide. Le personnel est adorable et vous fera découvrir les trésors de l'établissement. Trés bons conseils pour le tourisme aux alentours.