Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Very good hotel , fun medieval decor, walking distance to everything in Obidos ,located just outside the castle wall. Great breakfast , and lovely pool, however the one odd policy that was a little off putting was that they charged 3.50 euros to get a towel to use for the pool, and that was a charge ,not a deposit! I don't think that I have ever encountered a charge for pool towels at a hotel pool. Other than that , everything was fine.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carcassonne

Hôtel très bien placé, près des remparts;

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Les vues magnifiques, le calme et la solitude environnantes.
Location: A faire: le tour des remparts, visiter la petite église, les jardins, flâner dans les petites ruelles.
Marvao étant un tout petit village fortifié, aux ruelles très étroites, il est appréciable de pouvoir se garer devant l'hôtel. Celui-ci est très confortable, l'accueil est sympathique.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: 環境、雰囲気
Cons: 朝食は全くよくなかった。夜の食事はそんなに悪い印象はなかったが、特に朝のコーヒーのまずさは全18日中最悪。パンもダメ、ジュースもフレッシュなし。宿の経営者のがめつさが出た朝食だった。
Location: 城壁に面して道路に接しているので車の音が気になる人には勧められないが、窓からすぐ眼下の大地が望めて最高。
城塞都市の城門を通り、インフォメーションを脇を通り抜けると最初に目に入るホテル。部屋は地方色漂うこじんまりしたかわいい部屋だった。場所柄広い部屋は望めない環境ながら都市そのものの環境がすべてを補うほど堪能できた。 部屋でのWIFI環境は悪く、部屋から出ないと繋がらなかった。現地で2日間の延泊をしたのだが、エキスペディアでの予約料金の方が安く、そこのところが十分通じ合えなかったのが少し残念だった。
3 out of 5
by Larry from Oregon,USA


Posted May 7, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was located at the entrance to a mountain-top fortress and was an intimidating uphill drive but well worth the effort. Although it does not seem as if vehicles can navigate the arched entry, there is little difficulty if taken slowly -- the hotel is not well advertised until you are straight through the portels. Walking is all steep hills and stoned passages but the views and historical atmosphere is outstanding. There is no activity to hinder a quiet nights rest and, although small, the hotel is very clean and meets basic needs, including a reasonably varied breakfast. Wifi can be sporadic and bottled water is recommended.
4 out of 5
by Vanessa from Brasília

Ótimo em tudo!

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
Foi uma ótima hospedagem, agradável e confortável. O restaurante do hotel muito bom.
5 out of 5
by Julia from CT

Excellent Location and Welcome

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
This was one of our favorite hotels in a ten day drive through Portugal. It's situated in an historic mountain village with castle ruins and a great rampart walk. The owners were very welcoming and helpful, the room had character, and the hotel restaurant was excellent. We had to run the shower for several minutes before the hot water came through, and the wifi was slower than at other hotels, but this was still a favorite.
5 out of 5
by Anthony from Portugal

Highly recommended.

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
We were made very welcome by the management and looked after exceptionally well throughout our stay there. The restaurant served high quality food with a very varied menu. Parking in such a place as Marvao is not easy and it was very welcome to have reserved parking spots right in front of the hotel. We would recommend this place highly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely friendly place in a great setting.

Posted Apr 27, 2016
A smallish hotel in a lovely setting. The rooms are probably on the smallish side, but are fine, and were spotlessly clean. Get one with a 'mountain view' as you get a stunning view from 900 metres above sea level over the surrounding area. Wifi was free and worked fine. The staff were extrremely friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was excellent - an all-you-can-eat buffet. We also used the restaurant both nights we were there. It was unfussy, had good service, and the food was fine, and fairly cheap, with main meals being about 12 Euros, and a bottle of wine about the same. We enjoyed our stay, and can highly recommend it.