Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only two hotels in town, not much choice.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Room was a bit outdated, green walls with agave pictures in the headboard. Kinda odd. Bathroom had stuff on the walls other than paint.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for the Price

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here from out of state for a graduation. Hotel staff was very nice and helpful. Room was clean and in good repair. Good hotel for the price but is a budget hotel so is no frills. Breakfast was sparse; waffles, yogurt, cereal, but free.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Jon GM, Hotel Management
Greetings, I'm very happy you stayed with us, and that you took the time to leave this nice review! Congratulations on your loved one graduating, as that is a very exciting time, as well as a well earned event for the graduate. We surely hope to see you again, and also hope this day finds you well! Jon GM
3 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bristol nh

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: The rooms were very clean, comfortable and quite attractive.
Cons: Policy concerning disruptive guests. A motel is no place for parties. They should b asked to leave immediately .Other PAYING guests need to sleep.
Location: Nothing in the area of interest, did find a nice restaurant recommended by the motel. We were just traveling thru.
Occupants in adjacent room ( we were in rm 111) were partying ,moving furniture, yelling etc until 5AM. Called frnt desk 2AM,was told it would b taken care of. It wasn't. Call again 4:30AM. Was told they were asked to b quite. They weren't. We r senior citizens traveling across country. Had just driven 10hrs.Left a complaint with front desk, manager was not there on weekends. Was told I should have called the police. Is that my responsibility? We slept 2 hrs then had to cont. driving. Were unable to drive , had to stop early and spend one extra night on the road at our expense. Manager finally called after several calls frm me. Offered 1/2 rm credit, $42. I accepted but felt we should not have been chrg at all. Motels only have one thing to offer, that is a room fit for sleeping so us travelers can continue on r way refreshed. The policy needs to b changed fr those people who are so disrespectful of those of us who need to sleep. Others complained that same night. Each yr we travel to r daughters in AZ, we often have stayed at Hampton Inns but found Supper 8 to be quite nice and have stayed at others but we never encountered this type of situation. I hope this was a 1 time deal as we will b traveling again and would like to have the option of a restful night at a Super 8.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2016 by Jon GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving this candid review. We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted May 2, 2016
Cons: Not going up on price during special occasions, like graduation.we have to stay in Clovis this time cause price on room went up for graduation
we have stayed here every time we traveled to Portales to watch my son play football at ENMU....only thing I hate is that they raise rate during special events that are going on in this town.....
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016 by Jon GM, Hotel Management
Greetings Terry, Thank you kindly for staying with us, and for scoring us a four out of five. Unfortunately, big events create a supply and demand effect on our rate, and usually also have us sold out about a month or more in advance. On the bright side, we only have about four big events per year that fill us up. We look forward to seeing you again, and please have an enjoyable day. Jon GM
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Nice facility
Facilities were ok but one of the channels on the TV were muted even though the pic was perfect. This was the case with Fox News and we felt it was due to the staff trying to impose their values on us. When asked, the desk attendant said that Direct tv muted it, which I'm sure is not the case as we have directtv and it is not muted. The evening attendant was not friendly, however the attendant the next morning was very nice and pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2016 by Jon GM, Hotel Management
Please forgive my late response, as I am a fairly new GM and am still learning to properly navigate the review response channels. However, I did read this review the day it was posted, and took efforts to ensure the evening attendant would be more appreciative of our guests choosing our hotel. I can assure you that we have no intention of pushing our political views by muting specific channels, as we all share different political views within our team. The truth is that we did have a bit of trouble with our TV system for a time, though I do not believe DTV muted a channel on their own accord, and are expecting to have a brand new system with a larger channel selection installed very soon. I am confident that the two downfalls you experienced during your last stay will not be part of any future stays you may have with us. I wish you the best.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything satisfactory except refrigerator in roo

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Orbitz
Visiting in Portales spent very little time in room. Room was cleaned everyday but one. I didn't leave till early afternoon and they didn't clean after I left. Breakfast ended a little early for me Breakfast very simple but ok
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2016 by Jon GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving this nice review! House keeping shifts are usually finished by early afternoon, and I feel bad they didn't get to your room after you left. We appreciate your business, and look forward to seeing you again!
5 out of 5
by Steven from Albuquerque, New Mexico

Great Place to Stay

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
We were happy about the location, since our primary purpose was to be close to the University. The hotel lobby was clean. The room smelled and looked clean. The workers do a great job in making the place look so nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by Jon GM, Hotel Management
Thank you kindly Steven for leaving this nice review! Yes it is often true that folks need a place to stay that is conveniently near Eastern New Mexico University, and we are happy we can help. Thank you for choosing Super 8 in Portales, NM, and please come stay with us again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, convenient to the college and town.

Posted Mar 17, 2016
The staff was very helpful and kind. We will be staying there anytime we are in town. We have also referred them to our friends & family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2016 by Jon GM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us at Super 8 in Portales, NM! We appreciate your business and feel honored that you took the time to submit this nice review. We look forward to seeing you again!
4 out of 5
by Elwood from Las Cruces, NM

Sports stop at Portales

Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Hotels
New or renovated facility. Adequate breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2016 by Jon GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave this nice review, and for staying with us at Super 8 in Portales, NM!