Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Portales NM

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: room spacious, clean amenities adequate. close to my place of work
Cons: again, the Direct TV cable programming was awful. Don't know if they have any other choices there
Location: I was there for business - the University and the hospital are right next to the hotel practically, 'downtown' is not far, the stadium is right across
Generally the Super 8 at Portales is more expensive than it is worth for the class of hotel but becasue the only other decent motel in town is a Holiday Inn which is very expensive, you are obliged to stay there. This class of hotel would be cheaper elsewhere. However it was clean and fine - no problem. It is in a rather isolated place and they use Direct TV - perhaps they have no other chose for cable but the choice of programs was atrocious
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent hotel and staff!

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: College and business district located less than 1 MI away. Plenty of restaurants close by.
Our room was neat and very clean! Spent 2 nights. Great direct TV and staff/room service was great. Also got room at great rate! Would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Anai Jimenez GM, Hotel Management
Dear Jim, We appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. Thank you for staying at our Super 8 in Portales NM.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Smell

Posted Sep 12, 2016
The room reeked of cigarette smoke although it was supposed to be a non-smoking Hotel! However the staff were very friendly and helpful when the light in our bathroom blew out
4 out of 5
by Kimberly

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Francina

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed while we set our daughter up at college. Somewhere to sleep, but not well. Beds and pillows destroyed my neck and back and room temperature was never comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only two hotels in town, not much choice.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Room was a bit outdated, green walls with agave pictures in the headboard. Kinda odd. Bathroom had stuff on the walls other than paint.
5 out of 5
by Rosella from Albuquerque

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
We were there for a wedding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Jon GM, Hotel Management
Well I am glad your loved ones got married! I understand the wedding was quite beautiful and warm. Come see us again next time you are in the area, and have a super great day!
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by julie from Antioch IL

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
It was a place to stay close to ENMU and cheap
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2016 by Jon GM, Hotel Management
I am glad you appreciated our convenient location close to ENMU, and that our price suited you as well. We just got an A on our property inspection, so please come see us soon, and enjoy our high quality Super 8 experience again!
4 out of 5
by Beverly from Colorado Springs

Super 8 Portales, NM

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
The first room they gave us smelled very heavily of smoke and so we were happy to change rooms. The room was clean and they had a good breakfast including waffles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Jon GM, Hotel Management
Greetings Beverly, Thank you kindly for staying with us, and for taking the time to leave this nice review! It is unfortunate that some smokers do not respect our non-smoking policy, even after signing the smoking fee agreement. We also put smoke smell rooms out of order to give them smoke removal treatment, but it is true that some noses smell better than others. So I feel disappointed your initial room did not smell fresh and comfortable, but I am also glad we quickly got you set up with a fresh clean room that we hope to have ready for all of our guests. I'm also glad you enjoyed the fresh waffles, which is somewhat new to this property. So please come see us again, and have a very nice day!