Ratings based on 531 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is under construction and a mess

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Staff were very nice
Cons: Hotel is run down and needs to be updated
Did not realize the hotel is under construction. Hotel is run down, so upgrades are needed but it was noisy and uncomfortable. If I would have know I would have stayed at the hotel across the lot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Renovations to the Hotel during stay

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The staff was very friendly
Location: The hotel was connected to Denny's and local shops
The rooms are clean, but it was a little inconvenient since they were remodeling the hotel. To get the towels you need to go to the front lobby. You needed to go around the building to get them. Had no direct access.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, Ca

Nice hotel close to food and shopping

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Nice hotel that is close to food and shopping. The room itself was nice and had all the comforts of home. Our only complaint was there was ants in our room but we didn't notice them till we were checking out. Other than that we would stay in this hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Clean room, close to where we wanted to go and good breakfadt
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should offer deep discounts- a construction zone.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
The construction may be a simple remodel but it has taken over the hotel. Noise bagan at 6:30am on a Sunday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the disruptive effect of our construction on your stay. We have taken steps to control the time the construction workers are starting the high level noise each day. This will reduce the noise level before 9 am daily.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Uncomfortable stay in Best Western in CA

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Hotel is partly under reconstruction and this does not make me feel comfortable. Expedia should not offer for booking hotels in such conditions. Why customers should pay money for disturbances? So, Expedia us loosing their good reputation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that the renovation construction has caused some major inconvenience on your stay. We continue to look for ways to reduce the impact of the construction on guest stays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2017
my fiancée and i stayed here as an option before visiting Sequoia National Park (it's about an hour away). It's extremely hot in porterville so the ac units in the hallways were thoughtful for guests, some of the hotel was under construction for remodeling but we didn't mind. the only thing was there were kids running up and down the hall screaming both nights. would stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Clarita, CA

The hotel had a great breakfast.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
The hotel had a great breakfast. Its location was within walking distance of a Denny's restaurant. A 10% discount is given at Denny's if staying at Best Western. There are also other restaurants nearby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gardner KS

Breakfast shortage, Towel shortage, Vending out of

Posted Jun 18, 2017
Pros: Onsite guest laundromat, coin-operated machines paid by guests.
Cons: When requesting towels, bath or swim, they provide them immediately, or get them provided asap. No questions asked when requesting room amenities.
Location: Sequoia National Park
checked in, myself(husband), my wife, our daughter and our niece, only 3 towels in room, asked front desk clerk for 1 more room towel and 2 swim towels, clerk said they were out of towels. Vending machine in hallway was out of Diet Coke. Check in clerk said breakfast was full menu( biscuits and gravy, sausage, bacon, hash browns, etc. Went to breakfast first morning, no bacon, no biscuits and gravy, ran out of hash browns as we got there, unable to replenish. 2nd night room was not restocked with bar soap and shampoo and coffee and cups and only 3 towels again, went to front desk and clerk asked my wife, You have 4 people in your family? as if something was unusual. We had a 2 full size beds room. I CHOSE Best Western expecting it to be an upgrade from Quality Inn. Instead, it turned out to be a downgrade. My wife made 3 trips to the front desk trying to get these ordinary supplies, and came back empty-handed twice. My daughter and niece went to the front desk asking for swim towels and were told they were out, so that dampened their spirits after a long day of looking forward to the swimming pool. I must add that the dining area was full of other guests that were disappointed as well. We only had one other disappointing breakfast at a Quality Inn in Eureka CA. All the other Quality Inns exceeded our expectations. I am hereby requesting a one night refund for this Best Western in Porterville CA.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are important to educating our staff about good and bad service. We will ensure your feedback will be use to make changes for better service.
5 out of 5
by Dieter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels