Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

friendly hotel with good food

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
good room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Superb food, freindly staff.
Location: Welsh highland and Ffestiniog Railways are a five minute walk away.
We stayed here for four nights and would have no reservations about returning. The quality of the food we had was excellent, we didn't use the 2 star menu so i can't comment on that but everything else we had was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

n overnight

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Convienience to both main line and heritage railway stations.
I've stayed in the Sportsman several times when in Porthmadog and never been disappointed. The restaurant is excellent with some interesting twists on traditional dishes. The breakfast selection is excellent and the homemade marmalade needs to die for!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central hotel in Porthmadog

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Centrally located and great breakfasts
This hotel is really well sited in the centre of town and makes a good base with its own car park. There are good facilities and the breakfasts were excellent. However, we had room 5 which is in the courtyard and whilst the bed was comfortable the room is a little dark and cave-like. We are staying in the main hotel later in the year so hope to post a better review then!
5 out of 5
by Margaret from Worcestershire

Really friendly staff

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Really friendly staff, excellent service in the restaurant. When we arrived we were cold and rang reception a heater was bought to the room immediately. Shower could do with being more powerful. Parking a bit tight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Gorgeous hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: We liked where the hotel is situated, close to shops and festiniog railway.
Cons: Can,t fault the hotel or improve anything , our stay was perfect.
Location: Shops, the festiniog railway , close to local restaurants.
Lovely hotel with helpful friendly staff. We were greeted on arrival , given all the information we needed for our stay. Our room was wonderful, clean , spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed tasty breakfasts and a gorgeous evening meal in the hotel restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Repeat visit

Posted Jul 6, 2016
We stayed there last year when visiting the Welsh Highland and Ffestiniog railways. The restaurant food and breakfasts were both excellent again and the staff friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel, very friendly staff

Posted May 14, 2016
We picked this hotel because it was close to the regular train station and close to the steam trains we came to ride. Room and bathroom small but recently refurbished and very nice and clean. Room was also quiet. We had fun in the hotel bar and were picked up by the locals. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
by Kevan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by andrew from Loughborough

Ideal for visiting the Festiniog Railway

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was picked as it was near to the Festiniog Railway. It is only 6 mins walk away, so hotel was ideally situated. The room was small, but adequate for a single room. The hotel is a bit dated in some areas and would benefit from getting rid of 1940's style maroon paint outside. The bathroom fittings were fine and was very clean, bed was comfortable.