Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel but could improve!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Nice clean hotel, modern looking interior and rooms. Staff on desk were friendly and helpful. When we arrived, we happened to ask if there would be a fan in the room, we were then told that the room had air conditioning HOWEVER it currently wasn't working on our floor. We were then told that an electrician was there trying to fix it, so we assumed it would be fixed soon. After a few hours, we asked about it again and we're told it hadn't been fixed yet and they were unsure of when it would be fixed. We then requested to change our room to a floor where the AC was working;we were told this would only be possible the next day, which was fine. The staff were understanding and polite. Would have been better if they had provided a solution without us having to request it but it's ok... Room was clean, bathroom was well stocked with towels and basic toiletries. Would have been nice to have basic amenities such as cups, kettle, tea/coffee etc available in room, or alternatively a small fridge.. As we had no AC, we had to sleep with the windows open, unfortunately the street outside was very loud at night.. At the end of the road of the hotel is the pier and nice restaurants.. Overall nice experience..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Good location

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: The location is very good and the buffet breakfast is amazing .
Cons: The air condition was broken when we arrived. But in the nights was cooler, we did not need it.
The Hotel is locate in a very nice historic city centre. To go to the beach you need to get a bus, but it is easy. There is a Portuguese restaurant close to the hotel that is very good, I recommend its call Ti Alzira. We had a lovely time in Portimao.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AVOID THIS HOTEL !

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Location: The Beach is nice but the places around the Hotel gives you the feeling that you are in a deserted city.
When we arrived at the hotel reception the staff gave us a room with many problems without telling us about them: -the air-conditioning which we paid for didn't worked (imagine what this means in a hot Portugal summer day ) -the bed sheets were with stains,hair,and very bad smelling -the bathroom was dirty as well -some of the lights didn't worked We went back to the reception and talked with the staff and they said they can't do nothing about it and cannot change the room untill next day and we had to deal with all described above for 24 hours.The next day they gave us a new room with same bed sheets with blood stains ,hair and bad smell,the air-conditioning was working but was stuck on 22 degrees.We tried to sort this problem out with the staff but no result and we had to deal with this situation for 6 days and 5 nights. The breakfast buffet is very poor,everyday the same,the coffe cups were dirty and smelly. This hotel doesn't worth 3 stars and is a TOTAL DISASTER and a WASTE OF MONEY!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PuertomRico

Nice location, great giew

Posted May 7, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Better breakfast
Location: It is right in the heart of the river bay, close to boat cruise and restaurants
Close the river and bay, Do Globo is a great hotel. Friendly staff looks for way to help you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Only negative. No kettle or drink facilities

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Being upgraded and staff very kind on hearing my husband had verb admitted to hospital.
Cons: Lack of tea coffee facilities. Must offer something to allow drink in room. Not even water available.
Location: Right by harbour restaurants bars etc lots of shops nearby.
Lovely location staff very helpful. Nice hotel. Breakfast bit limited. Negative no tea/coffee facilities in room and no room service which means you have to go to get a drink. Bar only had alcohol no yea coffee etc. also no wine in bar??
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central, beautiful hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: Central, boardwalk, cafes and plaza nearby.
Only a 5 minute walk from the bus stop, and with a plaza right outside of this hotel, it is a great centrally located hotel in Portimão. The staff were very helpful and kind, and let me store my backpack with them after I checked out of the hotel so that I could explore for the day without having to carry my belongings. At first, I was surprised to see that their double bed was actually two twin beds pushed together. However this was ignorance on my part; I didn't know that this was normal to see in hotels in this area. The hotel was clean, and breakfast was wonderful, as it featured a great view of the city. Some downsides were that the rooms weren't soundproof and I could easily hear conversations from outside my room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle Upon Tyne

Ticks all the boxes

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: The hotel was close to transport facilities bus, taxi and water taxi. It was about 30 minute flat walk to Pria de Rocha beach.
Cons: Possibly tea or coffee making facilities in the room. However I booked this hotel knowing there were none.
Location: Close to restaurants on the river and in the town and 300m away from very enjoyable square with gelaterias and bars.
The Globo Hotel (booked on a bed and breakfast option) was exactly what I was looking for. The reception staff Carlos and Elsa where very helpful and courteous. Elsa particularly, went the extra mile booking tours for us by telephone. The Room was pleasant, spotlessly clean and had separate bathroom and toilet, an opening/tilting door cum window, a TV (with British Channels, SKY news etc), Air conditioning and free Internet and Safe. The cleaner was very accommodating, offering to clean the room around our requirements on a couple of occasions. I believe the towels were changed daily and bedding every two days. The breakfast room/restaurant was very clean with fantastic views, the staff friendly and approachable. The breakfast buffet consisted of fresh bread (sliced white and brown and crusty rolls), croissants, breakfast pastries and cakes. Ham, Cheese, Salami, Fresh Tomatoes, two fruits (either peaches, pears, pineapple, oranges or melon) sometimes fresh sometimes tinned, a selection of yoghurts. Scrambled and hard boiled eggs, Frankfurter style sausage and beans or mushrooms, two cereals and fresh milk.There was also fruit juice, a selection of teas and coffees from a machine. The food was pleasant and plentiful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Nice hotel and close to the water front promenade.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Cleanses and not too bad breakfast.
Cons: Shower curtain
Location: Old town and the water front area for walking around.
The hotel is located in the old city maze of very narrow one way streets. Extremaly difficult to drive the car to the front of the hotel and if you wish to walk to the hotel, then it is about 45 degrees up hill from the nearby water front area. Also the signage of the hotel is rather small-ish, poorly visible and poorly lighted at night. The curtain in the bathroom hangs on outside the shower pedestal , so the water is flooding the entire bathroom floor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, terrible smell

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Loved everything about the hotel's location but there was a terrible musty odor. Didn't spend much time on the room but it was unpleasant.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Lantzville

Nice location. Great staff

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
Extremely nice staff. Felt like jpme