Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by beverley

Fab location, great accommodation

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
I've been to this are as a family for about 10 years and fortunately, not much has changed. I went for 4 days on my own this time- felt totally safe. Stayed in both the Dom Joao hotel before and these apartments over the time and it's worth knowing that the description is a bit mis leading; There is no bar, restaurant or pool on site . There is a soul less pool just in front of another building but the main pool area should be considered as that connected to the hotel which is fabulous. Location is to die for. That said, the staff at the apartment block are fabulous!! Not 25 hour reception but as they explained, easy enough to gain access through an intercom. Room was amazing - studio with panoramic views. I have noticed that prices at the hotel have not increased for 3 years and a simple note to those who criticise the pool bar staff- be courteous and they're putty!! Awkward if you're flying back late as the facilities not so geared up- can shower at the indoor pool but not the best. Transfers; booked a transfer through Hoppa but beware!! Their driver refused to stop at the apartments as they are adamant the check in is at the Dom Joao hotel. That applies to late night and if this happens it could be confusing if you don't know where to go. The hotel staff were fabulous, and the reception staff called maintenance who then took me over in the hotel minibus. A big thank you to the staff and as always , I had a great time.
5 out of 5
by Patricia

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay. Lovely views of the sea and beach. Hotel staff really helpful and pleasant, we will definitely go back to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from l

Great break location

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Only problem at all was that expedia advice to check in at adjacent Dom Jiao hotel was a bit wrong ( only do that after midnight I think). As we did arrive late and in dark-but before midnight and in only rain of the week- this caused a few minutes confusion. But that was only difficulty of a great week.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Knaresborough

Nice self-catering unit.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, Staff friendliness.
Cons: Some items need replacing.
Location: We are birdwatchers, and there is plenty to do in Alvor. Within walking distance is the beach and coastal cliffs, and a wonderful boardwalk.
We wanted a short mid-winter break, and chose this as the hotel we stayed in last time was closed for the winter. We found the hotel to be clean, and the kitchen well stocked with tools, pans, etc. The staff were friendly and helpful. On the minus side, the toilet seat was loose and cracked, and we felt it was unhygienic. We also found the room lighting in clouded daytime very poor. That said, we would not hesitate to recommend it to others, and would consider re-visiting at a later date.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Nice hotel near the beach

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: We liked the location of the hotel & the cleanness of it. We also liked the staff who worked there.
Location: The hotel was 10/15 walk into Alovr Village which was easily assessable by walking down the broad walk or by cutting though the roads.
My husband & I stayed at the Pestana Alvor Atlantico in September and was pleasantly surprised as some of the reviews wasn't very good. Yes it did look like a block of flats but once inside it was welcoming, The room was adequate for our needs and very clean, we stayed in room 505 which had a fantastic view of the beach,which was easily assessable. The beds were rock hard & I got a back ache for the first few days but I adjusted to it. The staff were lovely,very polite, friendly & helpful. It was good that we were able to use the facilities of the Pestana Dom Joao ll which was a few minutes away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Lovely apartments, seconds from the beach

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Second time staying here, the apartments are clean and modern, with housekeeping providing excellent cleanliness. The apartments are moments from the beach and pool! Alvor town is about a 20 min walk, or a taxi is only a few euros! There are plenty of restaurants to choose from, great bars and karaoke for those singers out there!! All in all great place for friends, couples and families!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel just in front of Beach @bestprize

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel was very good. Its just in front of the Beach Alvor. The Rooms are very clean and nice. Only thing is that during Check In, hotel attendant asked to provide the CVV also along with the Credit card number which I find very weird. However during check out, I explicitly asked to remove the CVV from the form which they have done then. Otherwise everything is pretty good about this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RGH

This block of apartments is very well situated fo

Posted May 4, 2016
Although instruction was to check on st hotel next door Dom Jaoa the reception is operating at Atlantico. Staff very pleasant and helpful needed to request hairdryer and kettle not available upon arrival,
4 out of 5
by Even

Great location

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel very close the beach and just a short walk to town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay, will stay again

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
It was great and just beside the beach. Indoor pool was lovely and although the lobby wasn't overly impressive the rooms were a decent size and well maintained. It's a 15 minute walk to Alvor centre.