Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
The staff were very helpful and the rooms we had were very comfortable and clean. The nearby beach was beautiful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Decent hotel shame about the problems!

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: The room we were moved to was nice and cool, lots of space and reasonably comfortable beds. Nice pool size and family feel. Good location
Cons: We felt that they knew about the air con issue but put us in the room anyway, no apology, no compensation. Water scolding. No bathroom cleaning.
Location: Walk to the beach in 15 mins, some restaurants there though not the best. Alvor was fun (5 euro taxi) lively in the evening and quaint during the day
We arrived at the hotel at 2am to a friendly reception and were both impressed by the size and quality of the room on first sight, however, soon realised that it was abnormally hot!! By that I mean that we were both covered in sweat immediately and felt almost sick from the heat. It was so late that we fiddled with the air con, hoped it would come on properly during the night and fell asleep. A sweaty and fitful night later it was still unbearably hot and we knew something must be wrong. When I reported this issue to the reception staff at 9am the next day, I was told they would 'get a maid to look at it'. Having not heard any more by 3pm, I approached the lady on reception again who said 'by the way your air con is broken, we have given you a fan'. Interestingly, having just come from the room, we were fairly confident that no one had been in there at all (beds not made, no cleaning done, double locked as we'd left it) so we were slightly confused as to how 'the maids' had decided it wasn't working anyway! We didn't have a fan and we weren't happy. Not in the least by the flippant attitudes of the staff supposed to be fixing our issue. Finally, after much pestering, we were moved rooms by the second day although for us this was too little too late, we'd already had two sleepless nights in a room that made us feel ill from heat. We were also upset that we were made to feel as if they were doing us a favour rather than fixing a problem at a hotel we'd paid good money for.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hornchurch

Did not enjoy staying here..

Posted Aug 18, 2017
This place is remote and there is no free shuttle bus to the nearest 2 towns, which means you are forced to take taxis or the bus (no difference in price for a family of 4). A trip into town or Praia du rocha beach at least once a day and usually twice to return for dinner in the evening.. ended up costing between €25-32 per day... and over 10 days amounts to several hundred euros.. this just not on.. HIRE A CAR IF YOU WAMT TO STAY HERE, it's essential. Other moans... the bar, food, the onsite shop and cafe prices were extortionate.. a total rip-off... not just in hotel but in Alvor too.. they wouldn't give you plastic knives and forks for any takeaway food.. the music played around the pool every day was TERRIBLE.. continuous repetition of the same few tracks felt like torture. The reception staff were courteous but unhelpful on several occasions, for example.. being locked out of room and refused a copy of the key?? Why?? plus they tried to sell trips that worked out cheaper if you just went in a taxi yourself. We ended up mistrusting everyone who worked here. The rooms are large however cleaning and towel replacement was sporadic and there are no in-room cleaning facilities to do the job yourself, forcing you to buy more stuff that you shouldn't need to. Very disappointed in our stay, felt ripped off and bored. Kids loved the pool so at least there's that. Would never return here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lisboa

Spacious family apartments. Good location.

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Spacious Rooms, pool facilities, kids entertainment.
Cons: Cleanliness in the rooms and in the corridors that give access to the apartments. Better coverage of free Wi-fi as it is advertised.
Location: Location is nice, walking distance to Vau/Rocha beach. But one needs a car to get to downtown Portimão or be dependent on a paid shuttle service.
Spacious apartments at walking distance to praia do Vau. Hotel facilities are good. Good entertainment for kids. Points to improve : better cleanliness in the rooms and in the room corridors. Negative aspect: Free Wi-fi available (poor quality) only in the hotel lobby. In the apartments access to the internet is charged. :(
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ednburgh

Adequate hotel in decent location, but not special

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: A couple of the receptionists were very friendly and helpful, but not the male one!
Cons: Too much to mention in this section.
Location: Location in on the edge of Alvor, five or six euros in a taxi into town, where there are plenty restaurants. Ten minute walk to the beach.
This hotel is in a good location, on the edge of Alvor and close to the beach, also a short walk to Praia do Vau beach and a few restaurants. However, the hotel itself was a let down, based on people that we knew who had been there previously, We turned up to the room, to find that it had no toilet roll, no coat hangers and no working air conditioning. While these things were rectified quickly, the fact that they weren't fixed before the room was deemed fit for us to check in too wasn't impressive. On our first morning in the hotel we went to the snack bar at the pool for breakfast, having seen that they serve this. We were there at twenty past nine in the morning and they hadn't even opened!! The cleaning of the hotel also left a lot to be desired. Our balcony was only swept once in the twelve days we were there, and a couple of days our towels weren't changed and we had to ask housekeeping to do this on our return to the room. Would recommend this if you want a basic, low cost hotel and are happy to put up with the poor things such as the above. But if you want a more enjoyable holiday there are other hotels in the area that would be more satisfactory.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"Great hotel, shocking food for 4 stars".

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Mixed feelings about this place. Hotel was clean and well maintained. 2 bed apartment was a great size and very comfortable and very clean. Hotel staff were very professional and friendly and interacted well with the kids and laid on as much entertainment as the kids were interested in. Hotel grounds however, were a little bit on the shabby side, (as was the general neighbourhood to be fair) no Mini golf course as advertised and two tennis courts were unusable due to lack of netting and dirt. Still expected to pay €10 per person to use them though. Pool area was clean and well maintained but merely functional. Biggest problem though was the food. For a four star hotel the food was disgusting. Buffet breakfasts were cold and unappetizing as well as the buffet meals in the supposed restaurant. Only way to describe the food there was "thrown together" I have to stress the point that I was not the only guest to feel the same was. most of the guests we chatted with felt the same way. "Great hotel, shocking food for 4 stars". Guests staying in the hotel on a full or half board were disgusted by the food on offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Great hotel. Would recommend. Pools are greatly maintained. Beach not too far away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely place and good value for money

Posted May 15, 2016
Zero complaints!! I got what I paid for and thoroughly enjoyed it!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ALAN R.

pleasant

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Ebookers
difficult to assess, since just a 2 day stay is not long enough to comment on, however from what we saw it seemed that it had the potential to be a very pleasant venue.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from somerset uk

Nice complex

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Close to the beach but away from local amenities. Which makes the location a little isolated