Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Edward from Kent

Portland, mi

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
Decent place, decent price. Breakfast was so so. Place was almost empty so there was just one staff member present who had to do it all but she seemed to keep up.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Non-Smoking

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: It's a place to stay in Portland.
Cons: Cleanliness, cleanliness, cleanliness!!!
Location: As I said, it's the only hotel in Portland. Since I grew up there, I have family there, and my class reunions are there, it is the only place to stay.
I booked a non-smoking room and had to sign that they would charge me a $150 fee if I smoked in the room (I do not smoke). When I went into my room, it smelled like someone had been chain smoking in there for weeks. Housekeeping happened to be on my floor, so she went in to sprayed air freshener, and I opened the windows. I went to the desk to tell them that if the room smelled, it was that way when I checked in. There was no apology, no offer of compensation, and they didn't have another room they could move me to. The carpet was filthy and roughly patched in my room, and the bed was not comfortable at all. This is the only hotel in Portland, so there is no alternative.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Beverly from Engadine, Michigan

good place to stay, excellent service

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
A very nice stay, nice breakfast, will be back when in the area
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Lint

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
Clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joseph from Royal Oak, MI

Affordable and clean

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
The stay here was pretty uneventful, which is pretty much what we expected. This was a decent, clean hotel with friendly staff and it was not expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, Indiana

Nice hotel.

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: Always a pleasure dealing with the staff .. they are wonderful! It's always quiet so you can get your rest. The location is great! Small town feel!
Cons: As noted above, the pool was fine this trip but past trips water was too cold. Also make sure breakfast is stocked sufficiently.
Location: Works great as a hub to nearby Grand Rapids, Ionia, Lansing, Holt, Forest Hills. Nice golfing and excellent canoing and fishing. Bowling as well!
I have family in Portland so I frequent The American Heritage Inn couple times a year. The staff is always courteous and professional. The rooms are always clean. My past concerns were 1. the pool was always freezing. This past trip however the pool was comfortable. 2. The continental breakfast needs to be checked for stock ie; ran out of bread one day, ran out of milk another day. I know sounds trivial yet very simple items to rectify. Other than those 2 items .. always a pleasure to visit! Highly recommend!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Angela from Lansing, MI

Worse experience ever! Do not recommend!

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
Worse experience ever! We had reservation for 7/3 and called the hotel directly to confirm and let them know we'd be getting in late. They asked for my information and then said they'd make a note. When we got there they didn't have any rooms and were not customer friendly about it! We called several hotels but nobody had vacancies since it was a holiday. We finally found a hotel but it was an hour drive way!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Patrick J from Cincinnati, OH

Family Reunion

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
Felt comfortable and safe. Staff was nice, just took awhile to get waited on. Only 1 on staff and she was doing laundry. No water in vending machines, both were empty. Would stay again if I was ever in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good Value

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly and accommodating staff. Quiet location and comfortable bed. Reasonable rates. I would recommend.