Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to where I needed to meet family.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Close to where my family was.
Cons: Bleach the pool deck and clean the bathroom next to the pool.
I expected a bit more. Pool area needs a good bleaching on the floors. Breakfast buffet was slim pickings and no brewed coffee. I guess because that is in the rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean, inexpensive

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
There is still some work to do on the site, but the new owner(since April 2016) is doing a great job on getting the place to be an excellent place to stay! The weekend rates were excellent, and the pool was clean and refreshing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for being our guest here at American Heritage Inn Portland. We hope your stay was amazing , we truly thank you for choosing our hotel for you need & look forward to your return, We wish you a happy and a safe Holiday. It was our pleasure to be of service. Sam General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Between Gladwin & West Branch

Decent Hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: The beds were very, very comfortable. The WiFi worked great. Has a pool.
Cons: Would like to see the breakfast hours extended an hour, to 10:00.
Location: Good Location, right off the freeway. We were there for a family Thanksgiving at my sons, so couldn't tell you what was available for entertainment.
First the Weird. Getting to and from the Hotel from the road is a little interesting. Only saw one cart available for transporting luggage, though there could have been more. Not very busy over the Thanksgiving weekend. Everything went smoothly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by sam, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, since the management is under the new ownership we are working hard to get things back smoothly and we will make sure that your next visit will be more comfortable and convinent, one again i thank you
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smoking Burns

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Not children friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only choice for the area

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Average hotel. Perhaps a bit overpriced for the amenities, but convenient. Pool was loud and crowded, no adult only time. Room was fair. Towels were small.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Girl at desk was extremely polite and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed Bugs / ice cold pool

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
It was terrible. We have stayed here many times before but this stay was awful. It is now under new management and has lost it's appeal. The pool was ice cold but the manager insisted it was 80 degrees. The hot tub had only 1 working jet. The first room we were in, we found bed bugs. The manager refused to refund our money, just offered another room. We had to accept the other room because I didn't want to lose my money. The second room was fine, no bugs plus it had a mini frig. and microwave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Cons: Better pillows and bedding.
Great no fuss cheap hotel. Clean with nice staff. Breakfast was fresh and convenient. Only suggestion is for the hotel to upgrade to better pillows and blankets. Or bring your own along.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and Convenient

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel to sleep in quickly while traveling. Clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The staff is very friendly and the room was very comfortable. The bathroom was spotless!
Location: Even though the hotel is near the expressway, our room was very quiet.
We feel like we got a really good deal. This hotel is just what we were looking for.