Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely not superior as claimed

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Wotif
Photos on internet look so much better than in person. Old run down rooms, bad lighting, and not worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Old history, modern touch. Large rooms.
Location: Close to the main strip including bars, cafes and supermarkets.
Quick overnight strip. Would love to stay longer. Large rooms with comfortable beds. All the necessities available.
5 out of 5
by Keith

Best in town

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable,great location.lovely old home ,beautifully restored.best
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Long weekend of basketball

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Roominess, Laundry Facilities, Kitchen was great, old world charm
Location: Everything is pretty close, for what we were doing we pretty much took the car everywhere
We wanted somewhere to stay that was big enough for a family of five to come and go over a long weekend of basketball. It had easy access, enough rooms for everyone to have space and a lovely old world feel to it. Laundry facilities were great and we thoroughly enjoyed staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Character Hotel just off main road

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Nice touch was the decanter of port in the room - thanks - only had one small glass.
Cons: Thick duvet required in rooms, for the colder nights. Remember, this is an old building, and standards of insulation (and drafts through windows) are
Location: Plenty of supermarkets, cafes, a pub, etc around. We only used this as a stop over - the Great Ocean Road was about 100km away.
We stopped in this hotel on a road trip from Adelaide heading towards the Great Ocean Drive. Chose it because of the character it showed on Expedia - we were not disappointed, More of a bed and breakfast type establishment (albeit, we did not have breakfast) than a traditional hotel. Check in was painless - a note on whiteboard telling us which room to occupy, with key in door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Meticulous restoration!

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Wotif
Fabulous self contained accommodation. Meticulously restored property along with period furnishIngs makes this a stay to remember.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Koo Wee Rup Victoria

Loved it!

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Lastminute
Only stayed for one night but absolutely loved the place. Perfect position right in town too. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Very Beautiful B&B

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: Location was excellent and just a great location.
Cons: nothing
Location: Harbor just 2 blocks away and two wonderful restaurants to eat at. Don't miss the blow hole and the lighthouse.
We checked in late but our room was available and ready for us. Love the suite and just a shame we couldn't stay longer. Very high ceilings and just beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Emu Creek

Great experience.

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Ambience, location, plenty of room and value for money.
Will be the automatic "go to" for accomodation when next visiting Portland. Wonderful facility and excellent value
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melb

Nice period style hotel olde world charm.

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Wotif
Ok except for onsite managers tv extremely loud went on till midnight. This interfered with my sleep and will not be staying or recommending again.