Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eagle, ID

Convenient unique location

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Price, location.
Cons: continue on exterior upgrades, parking lot.
Location: Hollywood Movie Theater
Overall I had a great time visiting Portland conference. Motel is just 1 exit away from convention center without the rush and noise. Many small restaurants and a theater near.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Fred Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Banfield Value Inn. We were glad to hear that you found our hotel conveniently located and our prices affordable. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Portland and hope your travels bring you back this way again soon! Warm Regards, -Guest Relations
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

sticky carpet

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: the price
Cons: the room
Location: near train line, nice neighborhood, hollywood theater, good food
The room was shabby, but tolerably clean on the surface. Just don't look under the bed!! The carpet is sticky- the kind of sticky that you feel on your shoes and feet, but at least it stays in the carpet where it belongs. The "free wifi" signal couldn't pick up on any of my devices- perhaps because my room was in the corner furthest from the office. On my last night I was woken up at 5 a.m. by a scratching sound that appeared to be a mouse or some other small creature trying to gain entry through the floorboard or air conditioner. The price is right, but I would stay somewhere else if I had $$.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear VA, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Banfield Value Inn. We were disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your stay and found issue with your accommodations. We were glad to hear that you found our prices affordable, our rooms "clean" and our location convenient. We hope that you will try us again in the future. Best Regards, -Guest Relations
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

This is a motel for homeless people

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Save up a little money and stay somewhere else. This is a motel for homeless people. It's right next to the railroad tracks. It's in a bad part of town. The cleaning staff is terrible. The one girl at the front desk was ok but that's it. Don't stay here
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Banfield Value Inn. We were disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your stay and found issue with our property. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and want you to know that we've retrained our staff and as well as updating our facilities. We hope that you will try us again in the future and see the improvements. Best regards, -Guest Relations
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2017
The bath tub was unacceptably dirty. It looked like the stains from renovation (paint and such at least I hope it was paint) were just left in there. Great location but the condition left something to be desired. great for a quick stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share about your experience at Banfield Value Inn. We're disappointed to hear that you are unhappy and thank you for altering us to the issue you experienced. We on it. We hope that you will try us again to see our improvements. Best regards, -Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oahu

Good value, convenient to the Hollywood district.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
In the midst of a remodel, the Banfield room I stayed in is modern and clean compared to last year's stay. The staff is a little disorganised due to the updating. This no Hilton, but for a fraction of the cost, it's a bargain. There are some really good restaurants a short walk away. The bus stop is 3 blocks away next to the Starbucks and the Trimet train station is a 10 minute walk from the motel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share about your experience at Banfield Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay finding our hotel newly "remodeled", "clean" and conveniently located in Portland. We hope to have you back again soon. Warm regards, -Guest Relations
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Really bad customer service management really rude!!! rude
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
They game me to wrong room, other that what I paid for. It's a Value Inn....so.... I was close to the morning appoint though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok for the price

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: It's ok
It was simple and clean. Everything was pretty old but fair for the price
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretend you're camping, and you'll get through it.

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: It was walking distance to my weekend-long event. (When attempting to submit this review, I was prompted for this section with "Oops! Please add a bit more to your review." Okayyy... here are some more words so that my review can be submitted.)
Cons: Hmm... there was NO latch on one of the windows. I asked them to cut a board and lay it in the window groove so it couldn't be opened from the outside. (They did get on this right away, but I still kept my computer in the car.) There were ants in the tub. And mold. The toilet paper holder was broken off, and there were no tissues. The room fan/heater had a loud whine and clicking sound (not the best white noise). The room had a strong odor from cleaners, but that was probably a good thing since it was only when I opened the window to air the room out that I noticed the lack of said window latch. People were smoking while sitting on the stairs outside my room so I had to close the windows. And brace 'em. I really wanted to be walking distance to my business venue and not hassle with 2-hour local parking. Got that!
Location: Great location. Noisy from highway traffic, but again, walking distance to where I needed to be, plus Trader Joe's, Whole Foods, restaurants...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel room was clean. I enjoyed use of the free wifi, mini-fridge, and microwave during my stay. Hotel staff were respectful and welcoming. I would stay again.