Ratings based on 728 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Really enjoyed the hotel, especially the pool and breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Stop over on way to bar harbour

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Pool and free coffee in reception.
Cons: Just needs room updating and maybe more space in breakfast room.
Location: Location on busy road, didn't do anything close by as only a stop over, but visited Freeport outlet when we left.
Easy to find hotel. Room bit dated, in need of make over, strange smell, possibly carpet been cleaned not dried out. Had refreshing swim in pool which was a good size with plenty of chairs to relax in. Breakfast was ok but very busy. Staff helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room is so clean, the pool is nice.

Posted Aug 18, 2016
We were so pleased by the bed, the breakfast and the pool. It's closed to Maine Mall and good choice for family trip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leesburg, FL

Surprising little gem.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Everything-see experience comments.
Cons: Minor thing-Squeaky bathroom door-nothing a little oil won't help.
Location: Downtown Portland sea/land excursions and visiting other coastal towns.
Do not let the exterior of this hotel fool you. Rooms are very nice and clean. Beds are more comfortable than some 5 star hotels I have stayed in. Sheets were soft and luxurious. Staff from front desk to house keeping amazing. Hotel is right off of 95 but very quiet. Suggest King room # 365. Restaurant on site though convenient is mediocre and a little pricey but still a great option to have onsite dining and bar.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NB

Posted Aug 13, 2016
The hotel is rough around the edges and needs updating. Having said that many rooms received new mattresses during our stay. Free breakfast is one of the best I have had. Plenty of food ,though breakfast room a bit disorganized. Great location close to mall, downtown and beaches. The price matches the quality. Minor issue: First room smelled awful but next morning staff quickly switched us to a new room without issue.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montréal (qc)

Bel Hotel comfortable

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Nous étions de passage pour 1 nuitée Bel hôtel, déjeuner et stationnement compris. Une valeur sûre qualité /prix
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice motel close to Potland and the coast

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Easy access to Rte 95 for day trips to coastal communities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good central location in south Portland

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: hotel was clean ,easy location to down town and to beaches in portland area . staff was friendly
Cons: pool was to hot go figure!
Location: good location to portland and OOB
so I wrote we had a nice stay and apparently Expedia did not think I wrote enough. So we had a nice stay and I am not using expedia again if the are going to fish for reviews is that enough words . hotel was fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Fine for a couple days

Posted Jul 22, 2016
My husband and I stayed at the Best Western Merry Manor for 2 nights while we were on vacation. We've had a lot of luck with Best Westerns in the past, so when we were booking a hotel, we decided to go with this one. The room was nice, you could tell it was clean by the smell of disinfectant when you first opened the door. We weren't expecting a kitchenette or a massage chair in the room, so those were plusses. There was a Keurig in the room, Bath and Body Works toiletries, and easily a 60 inch flat screen television. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of towels. This hotel offers a complementary breakfast for guests. This was, hands down, the worst breakfast we've ever had. The coffee was awful, the "cheese omelette" was a premade item you would find in the freezer section of a budget grocery store, neither the egg or cheese actually resembling either of those products. The cranberry juice was extremely watered down, coming out pink and tasting faintly like juice. There are muffins, which were okay, but I would recommend that you find a different place for breakfast. South Portland itself is fine. The location of the hotel is not the best looking part of town, mostly other hotels and gas stations. You will have to drive a little ways to get to decent restaurants or things to do. I recommend taking the 15 minute drive up I-295 N and going into Portland's Old Port area for food and shops.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2016
We stayed one night only but wished it was longer. Pool was great