Ratings based on 751 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Franklin, ME

Stop over before taking bus to NYC

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Proximity to the Portland transportation hub, Concord Trailways and Downeast'r
Perfect location for overnight before embarking on the express bus to NYC. Shuttle transportation available, great location, and great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Maine

Comfortable, clean, kind staff.

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: The staff, the beds were comfortable (but I was asleep before my head hit the pillow..) the room had everything I needed to relax.
Cons: The heater was not anything I'd seen before, so it took me a while to figure it out... the room was a little chilly when I first got there.
Location: I didn't do much nearby, except visit Denny's for lunch before heading home. I do know that Portland has several lovely beaches, shopping and more!
I checked in at 1am after a very long day flying from Houston to Portland with two young children. When I arrived, I didn't have a credit card, having reserved the room on Expedia with my grandfather's card last month. The card was in TX. It was midnight, there, and I was pretty sure even if I called he wouldn't answer.... the receptionist was kind and checked us in anyway, saying we'd get it all straightened out by morning, which he did, of course. It was such a relief to me, to be able to tuck my boys in before they got really cranky, and not have to worry about it when my brain was on auto-pilot after such a long day! The room was comfortable, and clean, and we really enjoyed a dip in the pool in the morning- my sons used a Jacuzzi for the first time, and loved it :D
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to train and bus.

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Convenience, nice staff
Cons: Although a nice hotel. It is generic like so many chains.
Easy walk to downtown Portland or all forms of transportation. Quiet despite being near a highway. Nice pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Nice hotel, good price, but far from downtown area

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: In house restaurant.
Cons: Make sure hotel shuttle take guests to downtown area as well.
Location: Not much to do around the hotel, mainly three gas stations.
Overall a good stay. The room rate was very good and service was also very satisfactory. The hotel has a restaurant on the premises, which operates for breakfast and dinner. The breakfast buffet was excellent and very affordable, the service was very good too. The hotel is about 10 minutes driving to the downtown area, however it does have a shuttle. Depending on the staff at the front desk, you may be able to use the hotel shuttle to get downtown. On my first day there, the front desk person let me use the shuttle to get downtown, but on the second day, the new desk person told me it is not their policy for the hotel shuttle to take guests downtown....so I am guessing there are two different opinions on this hotel shuttle and where it can take guests. The room was large and with new furniture. There is a AC heating system, which is not the best in Maine where it gets really cold in the winter: you need to keep the AC on while you are sleeping otherwise it gets cold very quickly. It is a trade off between the cold and the noise from the heating system. The hallways on the different floors do not have any heating, be prepared to wear a coat while you are walking out of your room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We will be back!

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Very nice and wondeful location amazing pool and great spa tub! Can't wait to stay again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel to visit Portland

Posted Jan 7, 2016
This hotel is excellent and at a great price. Staff were very friendly. Location is good just minutes away from the Old Port and close to the higheay so you can go elsewhere to see the sights. If were to go back to Maine I'd stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2016
I had an excellent stay during New Years Eve. Great facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brunswick, ME

Very nice hotel, good service

Posted Jan 2, 2016
This was a nice hotel, the room was comfortable and they gave us some discount coupons to a taxi service. Which was great cause that was just what we needed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A couple small things would have made this 100%

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: I loved the bed. Super comfy.
Cons: Bigger bathroom, clean the headboard, bigger hot tub, full sized pool.you have the space and ability for all of these things.
Location: We love to hike and explore. We went to Mackworth Island. We also went to Fort Williams/Portland Headlight. Both free and great for exploring :)
Check in was fantastic, whoever you had working behind the desk on Christmas night was pleasant and helpful and I was honestly impressed. She deserves a raise. The pool/hot tub temps were awesome. Hot tub would have been better if it was bigger. We had to leave and come back to use to hot tub because it was full of moms ignoring their screaming brats in the pool. The shape of the pool is useless for anyone who wants to do laps. Strange, because there is plenty of deck space, they could have easily made it a normal rectangular pool. The room was very comfortable, but the bathroom was less than stellar. The room was definitely big enough that they could have made the bathroom bigger/more user friendly (we had a king room.) The only complaint I had about the room itself was the hand prints all over the headboard. Obviously we all know what happens in hotel rooms, but there really should be evidence left behind for the next person who stays to discover. (((I uploaded a picture of one of the handprints. Point of interest: I'm 5'2, and i can fit my whole and in this guys palm, alone!))) Housekeeping should definitely start wiping down the headboards as part of their cleaning routine. It was pretty gross. Checking out was a less than stellar experience. We walked toward the desk where 2 people were standing, neither of whom acknowledged us until after I greeted them, and then they both turned to walk away instead of asking if we needed anything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Staff was very accommodating when our flight was delayed and caused us to change our reservation date well after check in time. Convenient restaurant and great shuttle service.