Ratings based on 858 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Great food, great price! Would stay again!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: I would definitely recommend J's Oyster Bar. Get the oysters with lobster meat.
Friendly staff, recommended lots of places to eat on the pier. Comfortable beds.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Plan on staying there next year!

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: The friendliness of the staff.
Cons: Restaurant staff was limited. Not sure if that was usual or if someone called in.
Location: With the shuttle service, many things are located nearby including the Old Port where the various ferries were located etc.
Chose this hotel for a number of reasons including location, availability of a shuttle, having an in-house restaurant, price and reviews. Only required to use a taxi service once in that I didn't realize pick ups were location specific ie, transportation related or something like the hospital but fortunately had added the taxi number to my cell earlier. Dinners were very good especially the lobster stew! Breakfast was $10 but did feature both waffle and pancake makers as well as the availability of custom made eggs in addition to the usual free hotel breakfast items. Room was comfortable and peaceful with no adverse traffic noise etc. Front desk staff were very helpful and pleasant as well as the restaurant wait staff and shuttle drivers. Am planning on staying there again next year.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guilderland NY

Not bad for a Plan B

Posted Oct 11, 2016
We had wanted to stay in downtown Portland but we didn't commit to the trip til late and all downtown rooms were absolutely booked solid (as was this Clarion by the time we got there). Clarion was the closest we could get to downtown. Room was about average but hotel was, overall, in pretty good shape (but in a less than "desirable" location). Hotel Shuttle ran us downtown for dinner, etc (no charge but we tipped the driver handsomely) and cab fare back, with tip, was $15. Overall, we were fine with the hotel under the circumstances and probably had a great dinner for "free" given the difference in the price of our room vs. downtown. Portland is a pretty cool town to visit......
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reston, VA

Okay Hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Hotel is okay, could use some upgrades. Check in was quick, they offered cookies. Staff was very welcoming and kind. Hotel bar was also okay. Rooms were not great. Several hairs were found all over the bathroom, the carpet is worn, we found gross spiders in both rooms. Rooms need some major upgrades. Hotel is about a 5 minute drive to all shops and restaurants which was nice. I will probably check out another hotel if we return to the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor location

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Poor location. Not close to downtown or airport.
Toilet was broken and the door locks were difficult to open, not to mention you had to go back to the front desk to reactivate them. Elevator was small and very slow.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Overall is good. Easy parking and friendly staff. The location is a little be far from the main street.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice touch

Posted Oct 4, 2016
We arrived to a bag of treats. This is a nice touch especially if you are arriving late at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portland

Near bus station

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Drab colors make it unwelcoming. Desk not obvious on entering thus no cheery smile to greet a guest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waterville, ME

Clean hotel close to transportation

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: The rooms were clean and it was close to the transportation center.
Cons: The bathrooms / showers need upgrading. The showers are useless to anyone over 4.5 feet tall. I had to get on my knees to wash my head / hair.
Location: Portland is a great city and there are lots of things to do, from art museums to great places to eat. The Clarion is close to all of it.
The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly and accommodating. The room is a reasonable size but the showers are unusable for anyone over 4.5 feet tall.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barrington, NH

Birthday celebration in the old port for my hubby!

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Perfect location and nice clean hotel. Staff was very friendly! And the cookies at check-in were the best!! Definitely go back again!