Ratings based on 975 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Run down hotel-over priced for hotel amenities and overall accomodations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Best summer budget option in Portland

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Bed, internet, location
Cons: Coffee
Location: It's sort of on the edge of downtown, with easy car access to the city center, airport and shopping. Close to all highways with access North and South
The hallways and layout of the hotel are dated, but overall quite comfortable rooms, good shower, everything was clean, staff were friendly and efficient. It's not quite walking distance to the city center it would just be a long walk) but very close to everything by car. Plenty of parking which is nice for coming and going from the city. Bed was very comfortable. In room coffee was pretty bad. But value for money is unbeatable in Portland in the summer
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockland, ME

NO FREE PARKING!

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Cons: need to update when the FREE PARKING is really available
So disappointed that we could not park our car there while we were on vacation, out of the country. Chose this hotel because I was told that we could leave our vehicle there. They do not offer free parking in the months of July and August, So we had to spend an additional $96 on parking! Very disappointed!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and good accommodation

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Clean surroundings, efficient staff, quick check in and best of all free parking. We could come and go anytime
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Qc

Good room

Posted Jul 19, 2017
It had an old smell as you entered the lobby, but the room was ok. The staff was nice. It is not downtown, but a good (not expensive) option. It has the slowest elevator ever lol
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible elevator

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Elevator was ridiculously SLOW!! Hair in shower, uncomfortable mattress, hallways smelled.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Something was afoul on floor four. Entire hallway smelled like a rotting dead animal. Complained to staff and they said they would have housekeeping take a look at it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Nice hotel, friendly staff, short drive downtown

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Good value, friendly, not far from the downtown, clean.
Location: A short drive from downtown. There isn't anything to do within a short walking distance.
We were greeted by friendly staff, got an early check-in, and were pleased to get free buffet breakfast (which was good) when we signed up for a loyalty card. Room was clean and spacious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to extend our appreciation to you for choosing the Clarion I hope that you will consider staying with us again when your travel plans bring you to the Portland area. Sincerely, Michael Payne General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient spot with basic room

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Common areas nice, slow elevator. Lots of parking. Room was very basic, with holes in shades that didn't close all the way. Bathroom was dark and hard to see, even when light finally adjusted to full strength. Supposed queen beds were no bigger than full size. Drawer kept opening by itself.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced and my car was broken in to

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Between the car break-in, our room condition and the additional fee for breakfast, let's just say we were not relaxed on our stay here. Sorry for the negative review!