Ratings based on 1,150 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland Maine

Our room flooded

Posted Apr 18, 2018
So this was supposed to be like our honeymoon week end My spouse is a Fishermen and is only in land every couple weeks for about 36 hours. The first evening of our stay was a rain storm and our window leaked everywhere n carpets were soaked. I informed staff. And it took all morning of run around and packing all of our belongings to move rooms. We then had to wait for hours for new room to be ready. mean while. Listening to massive industrial blow drier. People coming in and out of room. I was extremely uncomfortable. I was so disappointed by this it completely ruined my stay. All the hotel did was give us a free breakfast coupon. Which neither of us eat breakfast. So it was like a slap in the face. I left multiple comment cards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Bristol, Maine

A real EYE opener

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Pros: Friendly staff, clean room
Cons: elevator service was VERY slow
Location: NA
The Clarion at Portland was a true Godsend when my wife underwent major eye surgery and we needed a clean, comfortable place to spend the night before she returned to her surgeon for treatment. She was able to rest while I dined in the restaurant. Thanks for being there when we needed you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Needs some upgrading but very clean

Posted Apr 5, 2018
Very clean with minimal amenities which is what I would expect for the price range.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Thank you

Posted Apr 1, 2018
From check in to check out the staff was super helpful, we asked about parking during the length of our trip and they accommodated. The shuttle to the train station didn’t officially run until 430 but they were gracious enough to take us over at 415. Making our comfort level in making our bus much better. Thank you all!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2018
Pros: Staff very pleasant and I really liked option of eat-in restaurant.
Hotel under renovations. Probably much better after work is done.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2018
Everyone there was wonderful! They were remodeling, so I am sure it will be even better when completed! Thanks and God bless!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff were good but room was awful

Posted Mar 19, 2018
Our room was small and shabby. We had one small window along the roof line, so we felt enclosed. Our room was right behind the elevator so all night we could hear it going up and down.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Fine for the price

Posted Mar 19, 2018
This hotel is under renovation. It needs it. However our room was clean and comfortable. For the price, it was all we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2018
When we arrived, everything looked okay until we got to the part of the hotel where all the rooms are. They were doing construction? Which was never mentioned to us so it looked like a serious mess and wasn't very welcoming. The room itself was clean and comfortable but a lot of hallway noise was very audible (maybe because.of construction?) The stay was nice, just not at all what we expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2018
Hotel undergoing renovations which made the exterior and public areas incredibly unsightly. I wish they also offered more frequent shuttles to downtown Portland.