Ratings based on 1,057 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south Carolina

Clario has much to commend but aging

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Cons: P
Portland Clarion is convenient to airport , Mall and highway. The staff are fine. The restaurant serves standard fare,, with good service. Only breakfast and dinner, no lunch.. Pool is clean well kept and cooler than we like,82 with a hot tub higher. The room is aging, sheets clean but worn. The heat needed in December was forced hot air and difficult to control, less comfortable to sleep. We stay there for the convenience and will return, hoping they work harder on the details.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice for the price

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Nice for the price. The room was clean, had a fridge, a microwave, codfeemaker- was clean. Bed was comfy; staff were friendly. There was coffee and tea i. The libby all day; cookies in the afternoon. Water as well. Pretty amazing for the price. And 5 minute drive to downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winona, MN

close to train, clean pool and hot tub and rooms

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Pros: pool, staff, coffee, cookies and shuttle.
Cons: Unlimited use of shuttle for guests, well to a point.
Location: Great Italian Roast Beef sandwtch across the street. Service station next door.
I will stay again next time there.Coffe and cookies in lobby. pool is clean. Bartender was fun, Thanks RJ.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: the convenience to airport and I-295, the pool and Jacuzzi, the quiet, the friendliness of staff
Cons: well, the room heater kept coming on to blow cool air into the room during the night on one of the colder nights I was there.
I stayed at the Clarion for 5 nights on a family visit to Portland. Everything worked fine. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Portland who wants convenience and proximity to freeways, airport, and downtown. It's not pretentious, and I liked that too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Very dated

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Very dated and not as clean as expected, also quite noisy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Upgrading needed

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Coffee and tea maker in room.
Cons: Bathrooms, total upgrade, new carpets and improved breakfast.
This hotel needs serious upgrading. I do not know how the hotel cleaning staff does their job. The cleaning staff is amazing and does their best with cracks around the bathroom sink, the caulking in the old bathroom is probably done every time a visitor leaves, every week.The carpets smell musty and old. Unless they upgrade every room we will never stay there again. The breakfast buffet that cost money, not included in the cost of the stay, was pretty bad as well. The scrambled eggs were runny and tasted gross. After our first morning hoping to eat breakfast at the hotel every morning to start our day, we wasted time to find a place to eat breakfast to start our day. I hope they will upgrade this place very soon! It is not very nice enough at all!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Clean, friendly and well maintained hotel. Breakfast was a bargain at the cost of ten dollars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Good Access to Airport and Not Far From Downtown

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Good location, good rate, nice facilities.
Cons: The staff didn't seem to always communicate well among themselves.
Location: About 10-15 minutes from downtown and the airport. A good location since the only rental car place is at the airport.
The room was nice, the bed was comfortable, the facilities overall were very good. The staff was generally helpful, and the location was very good. Just off what I assume was a main artery, we caught the shuttle downtown or to the airport a few times, and Uber was within 5 minutes other times. Overall a good stay. One small complaint was that the shuttle to downtown left without us one night and despite talking to the staff, we waited for 30 minutes on it. However, to make good they did comp us a taxi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Close to downtown

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Elevators are small and dated.The room is small and dated but for the price we paid it is worth it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Disappointing hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2017
So disappointing. Check in staff were very unprofessional. Found dirty q-tips on the bathroom floor. That night we went to the bar for a drink no bar man to serve us when my husband finally found one he was so rude said he was busy and said he couldn't do everything himself. We did not have a drink and cancelled our second night at the hotel.