Ratings based on 456 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Airport and easy access to dow

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Convenience, price,
Cons: More of an out door area for smoking
Location: Retail stores,gas stations,and a short drive from Mt tabor park. A must visit in Portland.
We arrived very late to the point check in was closed. They opened up and were very accommodating from that point forward. I recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Portland and needing access to airport with ease.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We're delighted to receive your high rating of Days Inn Portland Central! We understand that travelers can be unexpectedly delayed, and it was our pleasure to help you check-in and get settled efficiently. It's understandable that you'd prefer a larger smoking area. We regret any inconvenience caused by this. Our easy access to the airport, as well as our close proximity to Mt. Tabor Park and local stores, is an asset to our guests. We hope you had fun exploring the area, and we agree that Mt. Tabor Park is a must-see.! We're honored by your recommendation. Many thanks for your positive input, and we look forward to your return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Days Inn Portland

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Nice and clean room
Cons: Welcome to clients at night, service at night
Unfortunately for us, it was hard to get in after midnight
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Nickie, It's great to hear back from you. We always appreciate feedback from our guests, and we do our best to take constructive comments into account. Although there were issues with the late night check in, we're glad that overall your experience at the Days Inn was positive. We work hard to maintain comfortable accommodations so our guests can rest up while you're visiting Portland. Next time you're in town, please come back and stay with us again. We would love an opportunity to make your next stay with us even better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Or

Horrible first impression of Portland

Posted May 8, 2017
The front desk staff was the rudest person we have ever encountered. Not friendly at all. Felt like he was judging us and gave us problems from the get go. Hidden $200 dollar deposits and the guy didn't want to fix our key when it stopped working. Also wouldn't give us fresh towels since we had our do not disturb sign up while we were out exploring Portland. Just a horrible place
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Coty, We are so sorry to hear that you had a negative first impression of Portland, but we thank you for your feedback. We work hard to maintain a positive guest environment, and we will be certain to address our staff with our expectations of friendly and accommodating customer service. Along those same lines, we expect our staff to be helpful, and fresh towels should never be an issue! We are also sorry that there was a problem with your key and a deposit, and we certainly are not trying to hide any fees from you! Thank you again for your response, and we hope you give us a chance in the future to give you a better experience!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

breakfast

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: location to tournament
Cons: managers attitude after a bad bad night of repeated drunk phone calls
Manager did not have breakfast or lobby open at 7:30AM. Had to pound on door to get him to come and then waited for him to set up breakfast. We had to leave (8 of us) at 7:45 for a volleyball tournament and needed girls to eat a better breakfast. Girls grabbed banana and sweet rolls - not what we wanted for their breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay! We are so sorry that you had a bad experience with breakfast and the manager, and we assure you that we will take the necessary steps to remedy this situation. We strive to provide our guests with a timely and healthy breakfast so that they can start their day right! We are glad to hear that you found our location to be convenient for your travel needs during your stay, however! We appreciate your feedback again and if you are back in town again, we would love to deliver the experience you were hoping for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Improve staff attitude and food quality

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Need to improve the staff's attitude of how to welcome the guest. The room condition is great, clean and comfort. I stayed for 3 nights. On my last day, I found that the bananas served for breakfast was over-ripe (guess that they use left over from previous day).
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent three-night stay at Days Inn Portland Central. It is great to hear that you were so pleased with the accommodations. We are sorry that you did not find the welcome to the hotel what you would expect and that the bananas at breakfast were not up to your standards. This feedback will be shared with our staff, and we are confident that on your next visit to Portland you will find the entire experience to be as pleasing as our accommodations. Thanks again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland Oregon

Manager

Posted Apr 7, 2017
My wife and i where not happy with the management here because when we tried to stay another day in the room because my wife was very ill, the manager said we had to leave right away , and if we wanted to stay we were told that the price was going to be another 40.00 dollars more on top of the 85.00 that we spent already. Not a very good place to stay at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear James, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that your wife became ill during your stay. We do our best to honor the requests of our guests unfortunately sometimes we are unable to do so. It sounds like this was the case in your situation. To spend another night would have cost the rate of the room for the night. We apologize that this was not communicated better and for any inconvenience and we hope she is feeling much better. Please come back and see us again in the future and we'll show you an even better stay.
3 out of 5
by Bharti

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by DC, Hotel Management
nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for transit

Posted Mar 25, 2017
a little sketchy neighborhood as expected suburbs near transit, no hassles at all for us it's just off freeway.Just went downtown and to blazers game the train is cheaper than parking and no hassle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that the location of our property met your needs while visiting Portland. We hope you and your family had a great time at the Blazers game! We would love to welcome you back the next time you are in town!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff was terrible

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Staff was very rude and terribly unhelpful. Will not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
On behalf of all of our team here at Days Inn Portland Central, we sincerely apologize for any perceived rudeness you experienced. Our team strives to provide nothing less than accommodating, friendly service at all times. We will discuss your review with our staff to investigate the issue further and find if there are any training opportunities. Thank you for notifying us of your experience. Next time you are in Portland, we would be honored if you consider staying with us again. We know we can deliver the accommodations and level of service you deserve.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Billings,MT

Worst Hotel in Portland

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Our trip started off with the rudest host of all time and he pretty much told us that he's not going to have breakfast usually like it said they did when I booked the hotel he also told me that it was not likely I would get housecleaning service, when we got into the room there was no smoke alarm, the lock on the door was ripped off like it had been kicked in, the finish on the bathtub was peeling like latex paint would into the water. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and the pillows felt like something out of a jailhouse (and I promise I'm not a picky sleeper) overall worst hotel I've ever had the displeasure of staying and that was before they tried to charge me $150 smoking fee for nothing because we smoked outside. I've had good experiences with Days Inn before but it is most definitely not a pleasant stay at the Days Inn Portland central I'm surprised that they haven't been shut down already DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY HERE!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Aaron, On behalf of the team at Days Inn Portland Central, please let us apologize for your unfortunate stay. We're sorry to hear you had a bad customer service experience with our front desk team member. There is no reason for rude behavior and we can't apologize enough. It sounds like your room was in need of some touch ups if the lock was gone and the paint in the bathroom was peeling. It is unfortunate to hear that you encountered these issues as all our bathrooms were redone just last year. We wish we could have offered you a good night's sleep and that didn't happen due to uncomfortable beds. We do apologize if there was a discrepancy between your smoking fee and the fact that you didn't smoke in your room and we hope this issue was resolved promptly. For everything you experienced again, we apologize. We wish you happy and safe travels in the future.