Ratings based on 452 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland maine

Winter blizzard stay

Posted Mar 17, 2017
I only choose the Double Tree for a hotel in Portland, resonable rates for pretty good rooms. The last stay the bathroom could have been cleaner but I can overlook it because the staff is always nice the beds are comfortable for hotel beds. Three restursnts to choose from in the building lot and one is located inside the building. Good food, pretty good price, good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Frequent visitor to this hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Location: It's a few miles outside of Portland, but the cabs do a flat rate into town.
We return over and over due to their pet-friendly policies, but even if we didn't have a pet, we would return. You couldn't ask for better customer service. I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Portland, ME

Very nice place to stay. Just a couple of caveats.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Clean, convenient, very comfortable bed.
Cons: Expedia do better at applying the search criteria to the actual booking.
Location: Perfect location if you travel by plane or car. Mall right across the hotel, restaurants and ample parking.
We stayed there for one night with our dog Sophie. The hotel was very clean, bed was comfortable. Even though there's construction going next door there was no noise in the room. Nice big windows and warm yummy chocolate chip cookie treat when you check in. What happened to us ( worth sharing for others to be aware and ask beforehand): even though I entered breakfast included in my search criteria at the time of booking, the hotel actually did not provide complimentary breakfast for us. The explanation was that because we booked through Expedia that was not included. Nowhere was this disclosed during my booking and it has never happened to me that a hotel advertising free breakfast did not provide it because I booked through Expedia. Next time I'll ask the hotel directly. Also we requested an early check in, and they had me calling back every hour to see if the room was ready. Finally I was able to check in 30 min after 3:00 PM because even at the check-in time the room was not ready. Otherwise its a great place to stay, convenient to the mall, airport, and restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Framingham, MA

welcomed with warm cookies :)

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Warm cookies and location
Cons: Pool could be warmer. Shower filled up with water when showering.
Location: Always go downtown Portland! Great clubs for younger people. Awesome variety of shops and local food.
great staff, warm cookies, great breakfast buffet ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Very nice bed and pillows. The hotel staff are incredibly nice and hand out cookies. There is a pool that Is in a very very warm and humid room but the pool itself feels a tad chilly, it might be better if that was reversed (chillier air and warmer pool). Plenty of parking. Close to many different shops. Had everything that I was looking for!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fk

Everything was good

Posted Jan 7, 2017
It was ok, I would of needed something more comfortable like a recliner, cause I had surgery that morning, but that was my fault for not asking if they had a room with a recliner
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff was great! Very accommodating as we were travelling with 2 groups, our Labrador and baby. No charge for the hound, plus the set up a pack and play in the roomorning which saved us time in the morning. Caught a morning flight, 7 min drive to airport in icy conditions. Our other party accidental took the pack and play with them, hotel laughed it off and we are returning the pack and play in a few days. Again no charge!! Would stay here again, oh restaurant also on point good food and local beer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, ME

So glad I picked this hotel!

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Orbitz
Super comfy bed, large room, very quiet!! Right across the street from the mall and just as inexpensive as much lesser hotels.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel with great service.

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is very near the shopping in Portland, Maine and centrally located to most everything. The service is great because the people that work there are great. From Xavier who worked the club lounge breakfast to all the front door staff, they make the stay enjoyable. One suggestion is let the club lounge members get breakfast from the main area or have at least a similar setup for them.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
The first night in the room next door a kid was bouncing a ball on our side wall till about 10 pm very annoying. And they also had a dog that was winning in the morning. The second day was great !they left!!