Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre facility for the price.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: I was pleased with the staff, as mentioned above. Also, upon check in, each guest receives a delicious, warm, chocolate chip cookie.
Cons: The mattresses should be flipped or changed.
Location: Not a great location but it is not far from Portland, and the price is better. Also a beautiful beach and light house nearby (at the college).
This hotel is directly opposite the Maine Mall. The room looks decent but the beds were terrible, as they both had a major low point in the middle. I should have spoken up sooner. I complained at check out and the desk clerk said they could have turned over the mattresses or moved us to another room. They offered me a free breakfast as we were leaving but we declined. There was no refrigerator or ice to be found anywhere, nor were there any cups or glasses in the bathroom, which I thought was unusual. Lastly, there seemed to be lots of children at this facility (not the hotel's fault) but the neighbors were noisy in early morning and the pool was usually occupied by lots of kids, which curbed my desire for a dip. I would look elsewhere in the future. I should mention that the staff tried to guide us to a good local restaurant and also pointed us in the direction of Cape Elizabeth, which I had not heard of previously. It has an unusual rocky coastal formation and we were very glad to have seen it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Portland

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: Plenty of places to eat including the hotel. The discounted cab fare.
Cons: The building was aged and the bathroom was quite small.
Location: Everything is within a 15-20 minute drive including downtown Portland with the whale watches, trolley tours, deep sea fishing, etc.
This hotel is about 20 minutes from downtown Portland. The hotel had special arrangements with a cab company (fare $15.00 each way) which we took advantage of for an early tour. The hotel is also in the middle of a shopping mecca, with ample places to eat as well as shop. The rooms were clean and the hotel had a buffet breakfast for an additional cost. The breakfast was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Very Comfortable

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Stayed here for one night on the way back to Boston from the Maine lobster festival, and it was great - a friendly welcome, warm cookies on arrival, a very comfortable room (which was quiet despite being close to the elevators) and a good location - only a 10 minute drive to downtown Portland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Excellent Staff, and very close to Downtown

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Excellent staff and a full bar/restaurant that was great for a nightcap.
Cons: Mini Fridge in room. More electrical outlets for recharging.
Location: Within walking distance you have several chain restaurants and a run-of-the-mill shopping mall. Quick drive to downtown Portland though!
We stayed at the Double Tree since it looked like the hotels in downtown Portland were either extremely expensive or simply did not have any rooms left available. Going into the trip I was concerned that being outside of downtown and having to drive in/out of the city was going to be frustrating. Fortunately, the drive into downtown Portland could not have been easier. The hotel is very close to a highway that can quickly drop you right onto Commercial St. Our room was small and our view was of the second tower of the hotel (so not spectacular) but all we needed was a place to sleep and refresh so the room fit our needs fine. The room did not have a mini-fridge and the ice machine was not on our floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Clean hotel, good location

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Location and clean rooms
Cons: Not a deal breaker but pavement on parking lot and sidewalks need to be fixed.
Location: Macy's across the street. Lots of restaurants surrounding the area.
We stayed a couple of days here. Location is great. A lot of restaurants surrounding the area. Mall is across the street. Rooms are clean and friendly staff. We were given fresh warm cookies upon check in. I must say that's a first for me. Will definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looks are decieving

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: The staff, the restaurant, bed was comfortyable
Cons: Don't let people smoke in the rooms and when they do, find a way to sanitze completely ie. run an ozone machine for a week. Offer to put me in a diffe
Location: I wouldnt know
Staff was very nice. Room smelled of smoke, TV had numerous news and sports channel, with a total of two movie channels. The toilet tank was leaking causing it to re-fill constantly, the sink faucet leaked a little. Their fix for the smoke smell was to send someone up to spray Fabreeze all over the carpet which merely masked the smell. This room was worth 50 dollars max. I paid over 4 x that amount. I will reiterate, the staff was very pleasant and professional so I assume the problem is with the management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No need to stay downtown

Posted Jul 27, 2015
This is a recently renovated hotel on Maine Mall Road - easy highway access, 5 mins from the airport and 10 mins from down town. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are simple and clean. A real Starbucks across the parking lot. Our stay was exactly as anticipated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.H

Best hotel period

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Best hotel I ever stayed. Everything from staff to food and room comfort are spectacular. This is my second time staying and plan to look for more double tree by hiltons around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: I liked the location and cleanliness of this hotel
Cons: Hotel bar closes at 11:pm. That was a little to early.
Clean hotel, friendly staff. Close to everything.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Holiday

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Restaurant, staff pleasant enough
Cons: Noise level in west wing.
Location: Didn't stay long enough to make comment
Stayed for 2 nights in Portland South, we were in the West tower which backed onto the inter state which was quite noisy which was disappointing, restaurant and staff were good, felt prices were competitive and food good valve. Beds not the most comfortable but ok. Probably not stay again.