Ratings based on 407 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

A bit disappointing

Posted Aug 31, 2016
The location was not as pictured. The pictures depicted a more secluded area with trees. it's actually located in a busy shopping mall. My experience with the front desk was friendly but lacking in detail descriptions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great Location

Posted Aug 29, 2016
The hotel is a 10 minute drive to the airport, has a mall right in front and it only took us 15 mins to get downtown. Great staff and lots of parking. Made our stay a smooth and hassle free trip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia, Mo

good hotel near the airport

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: staff
Cons: there could be more signs as to where things are.
The staff was wonderful. They went out of their way to help us with luggage.
4 out of 5
by Casey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Brian from california

Nothing fancy but clean and comfortable

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable hotel. Nice staff. Free coffee. Free parking
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Litchfield CT

Close to everything.

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Great hotel right smack in the middle of South Portland. Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and the pool was excellent. The only draw back for us was a lack of mini fridge in the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashua, NH

Nice for a get together

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: Driving by.
Cons: The complimentary coffee in the room was awful. We went to the lobby and they had coffee but at a charge.That wasn't that great either.
Location: The mall is right across the street, lots of restaurants in the area, grocery stores, gas stations etc.
We've always noticed this hotel from the highway on the way up to visit family around Bangor and have wondered what it was like inside. Decided to book a room there for a family get together (meeting halfway between Southern NH and Bangor) and we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were comfortable and had all the necessary amenities. When we checked in they asked how many people were staying in the room and I told them it was four, being an honest person, assuming they would charge us more because I had booked it as two people. I was pleasantly surprised when the woman opened up a drawer and handed us four, warm cookies. Fancy! The room was also quiet and we didn't hear anyone else all night. I wish they had more than one way to exit the hotel though. The only way in/out was through the main lobby and we were in and out a lot. I'm sure they didn't care but we felt annoying.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff!!

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: Its very convenient and just a comfortable environment when visiting my son who is attending SMCC
The front desk staff was great when I arrived as I had mistakenly booked for the following weekend. They took care of fixing it with no problems and with a smile on their faces.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2016
I was disappointed in the overall condition of the hotel. The room I had needed maintenance the shower handle fell off when I turned the shower on. the bathroom sink handle was loose and was very difficult to shut off. I could not see out the windows because they where always fogged up from the poor fix they made to the windows and the glass was very dirty. The honors lounge was a big disappointment . it was dark and they never restocked anything, there was two pieces of fruit that had been there a while. other than the fruit they offed some drinks and a small basket with a few granola bars. The breakfast was horrible! They had scrambled eggs, bacon sausage and some strawberry pancakes. it was all cold thee bacon was so hard u could not eat it. the fresh fruit was ok but the pasties they offered was hard and dried out. I went to breakfast at 7:30 am and expected the food to be at least a little fresh. overall the short visit I had was very not up to doubletree standards. It was a overpriced room with budget hotel standards...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Disappointed

Posted Mar 7, 2016
I booked a room at the Double Tree for my husband and I this past weekend. When we arrived at our room it was nothing like shown in the pictures all though the description clear matched the pictures. the room was extremely crowed. The bathroom was not cleanly at all. I am going to say that it was stains on our toilet seat as I did not try to clean them and find out. That bathroom door was out of line enough that it would not shut. There was also a young girls hockey team staying near our room. They decided to hang out directly in front of the elevator, which made leaving our room and accessing the amenitiesdifficult. This was never addressed despite our complaint. The pool, was freezing cold...teeth chattering cold. My husband, myself and another couple that was staying with us barely lasted 5 minutes in it before shivering. We decided to leave. I called around and was lucky to book another room. When we were checking out only 4 hours after check in, non of the staffed seemed concerned as to why we were unhappy and why we would be leaving so quickly. I have to say I have stayed in an econolodge with lodge with better service and cleaner rooms. I will not be returning to The Double Tree and will not recommend this place to anyone.