Ratings based on 568 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great for overnight while traveling.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Close to all transportation
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Lots to do and nearby.
To visit doctor..short trip was ok maybe Somme upsates
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great price and location

Posted Mar 15, 2017
I had a great time sightseeing around Portland from the DVI. The hallways of the hotel are rather shabby and decaying, but the room itself was in good shape and attractive. My room overlooked a streetcar intersection, but I didn't find it to be too noisy, the windows were huge and could open to the fresh air. The heating (and cooling) unit seemed to work. The internet is a bit spotty, it's not great wifi if you have a lot of work to do. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. I would definitely recommend it to others who want a great location and a good deal on accommodation. I loved the nearby foodtrucks (particularly the taco truck just up 5th).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Very satisfied!

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Great location. Wonderful staff. Great room. Will definitely come back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Randy, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay finding us conveniently located, with "great" rooms and "wonderful" staff. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Portland. Hope your travels bring you this way again soon. Warm regards, -Guest Relations
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puyallup

Great Location

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Location and bar downstairs.
Cons: Rooms need updating.
Location: Great location, good food trucks, lots of public transportation.
Hotel was in a good location. Food and drinks in the bar were excellent. loved the atmosphere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We're disappointed to hear that you were unsatisfied with your room but glad that you thought we're in a "great location" with good food, atmosphere and more. We hope that you will try us again to see our improvements. Cheers, -Guest Relations
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Enough to sleep and get going to explore the city. Good for a small stay. Near public transportation. Good central location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We're disappointed to hear that you weren't a100% satisfied with your stay but glad that you thought we were conveniently located and a "good" stay. We hope to have you back again soon. Best regards, -Guest Relations
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's not 5 star...

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: The location - it was close to Keller Auditorium and Portland State University
Cons: The public areas need to be updated.
Location: Across the street from Portland State. A couple blocks from Keller Auditorium. Next to 2 streetcar lines. Easy walk to the shopping district.
I didn't expect 5 star and wasn't disappointed. The rooms could stand some updating but for what I was looking for it was just fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We're disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with some the amenities but glad to hear that you found us conveniently located for your trip. We are continuing to update our hotel and appreciate you letting us know where you feel we could use some improvements. Hope your time in Portland was enjoyable. We hope you will try us again in the future to see our improvements. Best regards, -Guest Relations
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Condom box under bed. 15$ for guest after 9

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Under my bed was a condom box, dust and dirty. Hotel is out dated. Staff was so so. 15$ additional fee if you want a friend or guest over past 9 pm. That is ridiculous. 15$ per person for me to have somebody come in my room? Free parking full. Smelled funny as well. - stars if I could
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We're disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. Thank you for alerting us to the issues you've mentioned; our management has been notified and apologize for any inconvenience. We hope that you will try us again to see our improvements. Best regards, -Guest Relations
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Don't stay here if you have car

Posted Jan 24, 2017
One of the worst budget overnight hotels. It's basic, barebones. Reception staff was cold, unfriendly. They took both our driver's licences and scanned them instead of just writing the licence numbers down, I think that is very unsafe for the customers . (They might have scanned my credit card as well, I didn't see it with my eyes but my husband saw that and told me afterwards. That really makes me worry). Wifi is nonexistent inside room (we had to step out of our room in order for the network's name to appear on our ipads, as soon as we stepped inside our room the connection was lost). Parking stalls are tiny, very difficult to get into.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Lana, Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay at Downtown Value Inn. We're disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your stay and apologize for any inconveniences. As for your information that you expressed concern about; our hotel requires that we a copy of each guest ID and CC which is stored securely. If you have any questions or concerns regarding your interaction with our staff and your information please feel free to contact us through our hotel website and our management will be more than happy to assist. We hope that you try us again in the future. Best regards, -Guest Relations
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Keep searching, better deal is available

Posted Jan 23, 2017
I am not recommend to stay here Very hard parking, poor internet, ...
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay at Downtown Value Inn. We're disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your stay and we apologize for any inconvenience. We hope you try us again to see our improvements. Best regards, -Guest Relations
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stockton ca

This place is a joke.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
They wouldn't know customer service if it slapped them in the face, also it isn't located "downtown" at all. Stay far far away unless bedbugs are your thing.