Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown Value Inn

Posted Jan 15, 2017
If you are in a vacation and needs a place to stay in portland that's near to almost every good places there, then this is the one for you. This Inn is accessible to all Max light trains, whether you're going to the airport or wherever in downtown to beaverton. Nice place to stay, quiet facility located at the heart of downtown portland. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland oregon

Cozy hotel.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Had a awesome experience with staff and very comfortable room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OR

Great place to stay!

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Affordable downtown Portland location. Everythings within a walkable dist. close to transportation. Bar pub right downstairs. Staff went ABOVE AND BEYOND, to help us with any questions or concerns we had. Definitely coming here again ^_^
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Air conditioner in the room was noisy, but the room was spacious and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice budget hotel in downtown Portland

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Rate, location, WiFi, hairdryer.
Cons: Provide chair in the laundry room. Provide free coffee/tea/water in the lobby, because breakfast is not provided.
Location: Location was easy to reach by lightrail. Or if you like to walk, go stroll to the heart of the downtown. It's across the university.
Hotel was easy to reach by lightrail from the airport. The hotel location is indeed right across the lightrail station. Very convenient. My room was on the first floor (one up from the ground/lobby level), with window overlooking the busy city street (don't leave the window open if you're worried someone might climb in). Yes, I could hear the lightrail sound, but I wasn't annoyed by it. I was annoyed more of the sound of a neighboring room slamming the door. No elevator, luckily I didn't bring heavy luggage. The room was comfy although not spacious. Bathroom was fine, including the hairdryer. Cable TV was fine. WiFi also worked well. I used the laundry room on my last day. Concierge provided the coins in exchange of paper bill and gave me the keys. As others said, indeed it's adjacent to the hotel, but you have to walk there through the ground level parking. There's a door on the street side, and then there's another door to the underground where the washer & dryer are. Quiet spooky, but I kept the laundry room door opened. Laundry using these machines would take more than an hour, but the concierge was impatient and wondering why I haven't returned the keys. They came to check when the machine was just finished drying. Hello, I do need time to tidy up the clothes. Nevertheless, overall it was fine for a budget stay. I was interested to book the hostel bed they have, but I made the right decision to choose the private room instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

The location is superb

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Location, staff and price.
Cons: It can use an overhaul.
Location: Everything I wanted to do was either walkable or a quick streetcar ride away. The Portland Museum of Art was just blocks away. Food carts galore.
Located in downtown Portland, and everything I wanted to do was either walkable or a quick streetcar ride away. The Portland Museum of Art was just blocks away. Food carts galore North and South of the hotel. You can say the hotel has character and is charming. In Europe I've encountered a lot of Mom and Pop run hotels, run down, with a bit but full of personality. I would compare Downtown Value hotel in this equivalence. It's no cookie cutter establishment. You are staying Downtown in a major city, the price is very good, I was just fine with it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location & staff

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Hotel conveniently situated near public transpo stops; also within walking distance to downtown. Staff was friendly & helpful. Owner takes great pride in hospitality. Will stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 17, 2016
It was a nice stay. The staff were very accomodating and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice little hotel. Not near downtown at all.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: It's not near anything that I saw. The Charming Tortoise is the only bar near there.
Nice place with a friendly staff. Only room for 7 cars in their parking lot; after that, you have to use the pay lots near the hotel. Housekeeping was knocking on our doors at 10:30am even though we had asked for and been given a late checkout time, which there was supposed to be 11:30. Also, only 1 bar was within walking distance of the hotel. Something to keep in mind if that's important to you :) Not a bad place to stay, but wouldn't choose to do so again if other properties nearer to downtown were available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central to all things Downtown Portland!!

Posted Nov 9, 2016
It was exactly what I needed. I would definitely return and recommend this motel. The parking is a tight fit, but it's in a garage. Such a cute little place with up to date equipment. Great paint job, looks very modern. They took care of me for sure.