Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland

...

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: .....................................................
Location: .......................................
.................................................................
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eugene, OR

Worst hotel experience ever! Room reeked of Smoke!

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything - cleaner rooms, rooms that don't reek of smoke.
We weren't expecting much for a budget hotel -- just a clean, comfortable place to stay for one night. Upon entering the room we discovered it REEKED of smoke. My husband has asthma, and there was no way we could stay in the room. We immediately asked for a different room, and we were told that all the rooms smelled the same. The manager informed us that the room we were given was previously a smoking room and they were in the process of renovating the rooms with new carpets, but until then there was nothing they could do. They refused to give us a refund even though we had to leave. As we gathered our belongings to leave, we noticed the stains on the bedding, the mattress was a joke, with a giant dip in the middle, and the paint in the bathroom was peeling. We would have dealt with all of this if only the room wouldn't have smelled of stale cigarette smoke. As we got back in our car and drove away, we could smell the stench of the smoke on our clothes - even though we were only in the room for 5-8 minutes! This is the worst customer service I've ever had a hotel - stay away!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Downtown convenience and affordability

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: location, cleanliness, affordability, staff
Cons: small, cosmetic stuff, which I (honestly) find unimportant
Location: The Portland Museum of Art is easily within walking distance and the nearby rail and bus stops can easily take you anywhere else you need to go.
I needed a location convenient to downtown, public transportation, in a decent area (as a woman traveling alone) that would not break the bank for my impulse trip to Portland and the Econo Lodge Portland City Center matched exactly! It had a better rating than other area value choices (even a few of the pricier venues) because of the staff and I can certainly attest to that! Reeta at the front desk was wonderful, my room was clean and comfortable, and there's even a food truck lot right across the street to satisfy any culinary whim. I ended up walking most places I needed to be, but if I needed public transportation there were bus and light rail stops minutes away. I would definitely stay here again. The facilities are on the older side, but there was a microwave and big minifridge (!!) in the room, as well as coffee service. A perfect place to stay for my needs!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great price conscious option

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Clean, convenient, and super affordable hotel. The location is a little south of the big attractions, but it's a quick walk and definitely worth it for the price point. Staff were friendly and always available. Don't expect fancy amenities, but it's got everything we needed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exciting. But AWFUL.

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
Booked a room for me and my boyfriend. We live further south and had friends staying downtown for the weekend. After checking in, they came by to rest and wait for my boyfriend to meet us (it's not uncommon to have a meeting place when you're all going out, right?) They fell asleep because they had been out all day (This is all relevant, I swear). There was a plug that caught on fire in our room. Luckily, I was there and awake and was able to notify the staff. The manager seemed unworried about the fire but more worried about the 2 extra people who i told them weren't staying. She told us we can change rooms. After discussing it with my boyfriend, we decided to not stay there. Understandable, right? She told us that she could not give me a refund because it was booked through a third party site. Ok. I called customer service who contacted the hotel and still they refused a refund. Not even a partial. Anyway, i called the hotel back and asked why a refund was refused and here are some of the actual reasons she gave me "it wasn't a fire" "you weren't worried about your safety when i first saw you, now you're all worried" "other guests weren't bothered" "we have smoke detectors" "your friend was asleep" "i offered you a room, but you didn't want it because your friend was asleep so you probably weren't going out anymore" "it wasn't our fault/equipment" The phone call was nonsensical and frustrating, like fighting with my mother. I wish things went better.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to university area

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: The continental breakfast
We were here overnight for an event and wanted to be in walking distance for the event and for having dinner. It was easy to find and easy to leave to get on I 5 when we left.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value in downtown Portland

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
Considering the area and the price, this was a great hotel. Staff were very friendly, and the room had been recently updated. It's not the Ritz Carlton by any stretch, but this is a great value motel (emphasis on *m*otel) in downtown Portland. My room was right over the office, but the wifi was ridiculously fast -- faster than what you would get at a much nicer hotel (and free!). Only concern might be that the network is unsecured.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels