Ratings based on 1,028 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Airport hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Embassy suites was a good experience overall. The staff were great and the breakfast was also great. The rooms do need a make over though. They’re very dark and compartmentalized.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Brad, Hotel Management
Hi Elena, Thank you for your review! We're excited to hear you had a positive experience and that you found our team and our breakfast to be great. Your feedback has been shared with our team. Respectfully,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Loved the three room suite

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: The suite The breakfast The pool The view
Cons: The carpet in the suite. It was unraveling badly near the doorway.
Location: Maine Mall Cape Elizabeth Lighthouse Downtown Portland Jetport with hotel shuttle
Staff was excellent and common areas in the hotel were very modern and well kept. Our family was amazed with the space in our suite. Three rooms plus two bathrooms for a very reasonable price! The main room had a couch (could pull out into a bed if needed), TV, Desk & chair, table & four chairs, sink, micro, and fridge. The two bedrooms each had a bathroom, TV, much storage space, and a closet. One of the bedrooms had two queen beds. The other had one king sized bed. All three rooms had doors with locks for privacy. The one thing that needed updating was the carpet in the main room since it was very worn by the door and unraveling. The managers reception from 5:30-7:30 p.m. was great and included free drinks and snacks. But the free breakfast was the best! Huge selection of drinks and food. The highlight was the chef there to make you an omelet! It was great to have a lot of options for the omelet, and delicious! This was a family trip for us, and I would choose the same hotel and suite again in a heartbeat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Brad, Hotel Management
Hi Paul, thank you for providing such a thoughtful review. We're so glad you and your family were able to make so many wonderful memories with us. We're also pleased to hear you were all able to spread out in one of our spacious two-bedroom suites; it's a huge plus for families, especially those who like their privacy every once in a while. We look forward to welcoming you all back real soon so you may enjoy our famous made-to-order breakfast again : )
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room smell

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: It was pet friendly and that was appreciated.
Cons: Buy some new sheets and address the odor (Room 306). Find out why the restaurant staff is unhappy.
Our non-smoking room smelled very stale. Fortunately, we were able to open the windows. However, when I go in the bed the stale odor was on the sheets. It wasn't exactly a smoke smell, but it made me wonder if the sheets had been used in a smoking room before that last wash and the odor did not come out entirely. The Front Desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The staff in the breakfast room seem unhappy. We thanked them for clearing a table for us and they acted as if we did not exist. This happened with 2 out of 3 people we spoke with.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Brad, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for providing us with your detailed feedback. We're sorry to hear that your stay was less than perfect with us and that you did not receive the friendly service our team takes pride in delivering - this is certainly not characteristic of our team. We're delighted you were able to bring your four-legged family member along with you during your recent visit. As a pet friendly hotel we look forward to welcoming all of our furry friends ; ) The odor in question was reported and shared with our Housekeeping team. We are proud to say that all of our rooms are smoke-free. We look forward to your next stay with the opportunity of making it right.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Room good staff friendly. Paid approx 164.00 for overnight stay....prepaid. After checking out found 10.00 charge and a 50.00 charge fot nonpurchased things. Called the hotel they say it's done automatically and will be returned in 3 days. Still no return a week out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Brad, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We understand this matter was resolved. We look forward to your return! Respectfully,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland, me

Quiet

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Room was facing the old side of the airport and ther was barely any noise from landing planes
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Brad , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We're so glad you agree with the many that find our location to be quiet : ) All the best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milton Mills, NH

Fantastic value and comfy hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Great staff; parking was free; complimentary drinks and nibbles for 2 hours early evening; great quality included breakfast; free shuttle to downtown
Cons: Return shuttle should run later; the toaster at breakfast was pretty useless and slow. The elevator seemed kind of slow and labored.
Location: Right next to the airport, but no noise problem whatsoever. A 10 minute drive to downtown where all the action is at. Portland has everything!
Stayed here with my husband for one night for a concert downtown. Everything was excellent. Staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. Room was clean, comfy and great amenities (fridge, microwave, coffee maker, sink, desk). Manager's complimentary reception from 5.30-7.30 was amazing value: wine, beer and mixed drinks and also yummy snacks like cheese, crackers, veggies and dip. Grabbed a quick dinner and the food choices and value were very good. Wait staff lovely. Food decent. Booked the complimentary shuttle bus which dropped us downtown in time for our concert. No problem getting a taxi back as the last shuttle was at 9.00pm. Hotel was clean, nicely decorated and had a friendly feel. Fire in lobby made it seem very cozy. Fire pit and chairs outside, but it was still too cold out to enjoy that, even with the fire pit! Breakfast was really good. Hot and cold buffet items, great choice and also a nice omelet station which made you one fresh to order. The quality of the food at breakfast was great. For value, this hotel can't be beat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Brad, Hotel Management
Hi Linda, Thanks for taking the time to provide such a detailed review - it is greatly appreciated! We're so glad you enjoyed your time spent with us and that you were able to enjoy downtown a bit; there's so much to do! We've taken note of your suggestion for later shuttle runs downtown and we've since replaced the toaster you speak of. We, along with a new toaster, will be awaiting your return : ) Respectfully, Brad
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the airport.

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: The proximity to the airport was great. I didn't have to worry about traffic to make my flight. In fact, it's a 5 minute walk to PWM.
Cons: It would be nice to be able to use the stairs to get to the lobby instead of waiting on the elevator every morning.
I enjoyed the breakfast each morning and the staff was very pleasant. The main problem I had while I was there was the HVAC units. No matter what setting I put them on it seemed to be the wrong one; either it was very cold in my room or it was blasting hot. The good news was that on the last day of my stay they were replacing the HVAC units in every room. The bad news is that they made quite a bit of noise doing so.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Brad, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing a detailed review on your recent stay with us! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed our convenient proximity to the airport. I understand there was some difficulty with the HVAC units. As you know we upgraded all new units in every one of our rooms. We would love to welcome you back to experience the upgrade. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if you wish to discuss your stay any further. Respectfully,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice!

Posted Nov 6, 2017
This hotel is super nice and clean! Great breakfast! I will definitely recommend this hotel and definitely stay again whenever we are in Portland!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Brad, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Portland. We're pleased to hear you had a great experience! Our team will be waiting for your return ; )
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Very nice hotel close to airport.

Posted Nov 4, 2017
I was welcomed by live music with an amazing female vocalist. Updated decor very pleasant. Dinner in the restaurant was good, reasonably priced & generous serving size. Very quick shuttle to airport. All in all - very nice hotel, decent price and overall a very pleasant stay. This will be my Portland hotel from now on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Brad, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your detailed feedback! It sounds like you chose the perfect night to arrive as we feature live music every Monday courtesy of Jimmy Macisso and friends. We're honored to be your preferred Portland hotel from now on and we look forward to welcoming you back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Great Hotel - Very Accommodating!

Posted Oct 30, 2017
This was one of the best hotel experiences I've had and I travel a lot for work. First, it's practically on the airport property which can be super convenient. It's a little out of the way from the tourist sights and so on which is why it's great that they offer free scheduled shuttles that takes guests to and from downtown. You can also request a free shuttle to take you to and from the transportation center if traveling by bus or rail. They serve a pretty good hot breakfast which is complimentary in the mornings AND they have a daily FREE happy hour for guests with wine, spirits, cheese, crackers and other snacks! Can't beat that. Plus, I really found the staff to be friendly and attentive. Overall, this is a solid choice with great value for money!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Brad, Hotel Management
Hi Jessica, Thank you for the glowing review! It sounds like you indulged in all the wonderful amenities we have to offer. We're so glad you had such a wonderful experience and that you enjoyed the convenience of our new shuttle service down to the Old Port. We look forward to welcoming you back real soon!