Ratings based on 663 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lake Tahoe

Spacious, well-appointed room

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Location; quality breakfast
Location: Restaurants, shops and galleries
Friendly, professional staff, nice view of city and mountain.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portland downtown

Used to be a great hotel . Something has happened.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
The whole stay was a disaster, Frint desk staff not friendly , dirty , lobby facelift loooks like a room from Elvis mansion. Fights outside hotel , homeless camp at front door at night and leave their garbage in planters. Felt like a motel 6 stay .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Clean but not as updated as I'd wished. Pretty basic room for cost.......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great central location

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Nice feel for a big hotel. Great breakfast buffet and happy hour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Free cocktail hour and breakfast??? :P

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Check-in and check-out was super fast. Lobby was beautiful with Christmas decorations!
Cons: The only one negative (and very small considering our great experience) was that you have to cross the street for the hotel parking.
Location: Voodoo Donuts and Stumptown Coffee are within walking distance.
The room was pretty spacious considering we had 6 people (2 adults and 4 children). When we checked in, they told us about their free happy hour from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. We wish we could have gone but not with children. But the breakfast the next morning was amazing! They provided freshly made omelettes and hot buffet. What great free amenities! There was even a wet bar area in our room, plus a microwave below the wet bar sink! The one time on a trip I didn't use a microwave, it was there but appreciated nevertheless. :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Lovely Historic Hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2016
The evening reception and breakfast were both great. This historic hotel is beautifully kept up and also has all the modern necessities (though you have to pay extra for wifi). The staff were all helpful and pleasant and seemed genuinely interested in making your stay better. Walking distance to many eateries and places to drink. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will probably stay here again if we return to a Portland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Great location - walking distance to Powell's, good restaurants and entertainment. Great breakfast buffet. Even had wrapping paper out for wrapping Christmas presents.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Christmas Party

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Great room/suite, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast and cocktail Happy Hour a nice surprise.
We only stayed one night but found the hotel very nice and convenient to downtown Portland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice historic downtown hotel.

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Spacious...great staff and food!
The rooms in this hotel are quite spacious and comfortable. This location has a lot of homeless people around it...like most downtown hotels. The parking is extremely difficult for large vehicles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pacific Northwest

Historic hotel, great location

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Large, comfortable nicely appointed suites. Great staff! Good value.
Cons: The steak house was overpriced and the food was mediocre.
Location: Downtown location near shopping, restaurants, pubs, live music -- a real taste of Portland.
I got a great price on a nicely sized suite. The staff is excellent! The only disappointment was the steak house in the lobby area.