Ratings based on 1,687 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marysville,wa

Great service

Posted Sep 26, 2016
I booked last minute and was showing up late. Communication with the hotel was awesome, they messaged me to ensure I would be arriving and had everything ready for me when I walked in. The suite was much nicer than I was expecting, and cleanliness was top notch. I had one quick issue with my room keys upon arrival but it was immediately rectified by the courteous staff. I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, and we have already started planning another trip to Portland, and we will be staying here again. It also has an AWESOME central location in Portland, close to plenty of great bars, restaurants, clubs, and of course voodoo donuts. Thank you again for an amazing stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location to everything good.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Everything. The history of the hotel is not forgotten which made it even more special to stay.
Location: Really? Voodoo donuts right around the corner! Awesome Irish bar,"Kels." Not far from other cool places in the "Peal District."
A weekend getaway was great even though there was a little rain. Portland is an awesome place to visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Walkable, family friendly, great perks

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Close to major restaurants (hotel is on 4th street and never went past 12th street walking). No car needed unless that's your thing. We had a car to do day trips and to eat at places east of 'the river'. Uber is popular here. Public transit is readily available but we did not use it. Parking is expensive but not outrageous compared to other valets or other cities. Ask doorman for self park options... it's doable if you are comfortable with feeding meters and moving car for the purpose of saving cash on a parking deck/valet. Room had microwave and 'empty' fridge, perfect since we were traveling with a 1 year old child. Hotel included wifi, breakfast daily, and happy hour, and we took advantage of all these. Would definitely stay here again! Also hotel is 1 block from voodoo donuts... this makes it really worthwhile since you can scope out the line before you commit to waiting...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fall City, WA

Portland escape

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Clean and spacious, very nice and safe. Very quiet also.
Location: close to light rail and bus stops. Located close to the shopping areas.
Hotel was very nice, well located and felt safe. Breakfast was a good choice of different options. very comfortable room and very roomy, very large room. We had a good time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2016
The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and happy hours were fun. Indoor pool was very nice too. Staff was very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brookline, NH

Great Downtown Hotel with Excellent Amenties

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Location and better than average evening welcoming reception and breakfast.
Cons: Nothing for me.
Location: Powell's Books in Pearl District is a must. I also enjoy shopping around Pioneer Square in the heart of downtown.
In enjoyed my one-night stay at Embassy Suites. I checked in easily 90 minutes early. The room was clean and quiet. It's location, right downtown and equidistant to Powell's Books and Pioneer Square is perfect. I was able to drop my car off at Enterprise across the street and walk right over.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Landmark hotel that has been renovated. Comfortable bed, clean bathroom and nice bath towels!! Enjoyed the breakfast and cocktail hour. We will return..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reedsport, Or

Nice older hotel in need of update

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The location and overall feel of the hotel is good. Rooms are clean and comfortable overall if you are not expecting top notch accommodations.
Cons: Rooms need to be updated with higher quality doors and moldings. Common areas need to be cleaned of room service items more frequently.
Location: The location is perfect. We walked to shopping and dining in about a five block radius. Our only regret is not have time to check out china town.
While this hotel is in a good location and is nice overall, it is not a four star hotel. Poor repairs made to fist mark in door and flood damage to baseboards in room 207 indicate a lack of investment overall. However, rooms were clean and staff were very friendly and accommodating. The location is ideal for walking around the downtown Portland area with lots of nearby food and beverage options.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautifully decorated. Easy check-in & valet.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
This was our second stay at the hotel. We received a complimentary upgrade and truly enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Great location, friendly staff. Will stay here again