Ratings based on 615 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2016
We thought the hotel was good, but a little dated. The staff was first rate though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Facility was nice. Great breakfast. Staff very friendly. Room had a strange odor. Overall a great stay. Pool area very nice and clean. Spa area was relaxing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Paul,, Hotel Management
Thank you for nice response. Are staff take great pride in there jobs. I will pass on your reply to them. Hope you have a great Holiday. We look forward to see you in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016
My stay at The Fireside worked well. I called from the airport and arrived at the hotel in less than 10 minutes. The free breakfast was good. I can't eat wheat but still found good choices. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Best of all was the hotel's staff... always friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by Paul, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

No other rooms

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Roof didn't leak
Cons: To long of a list
A dive at 5 star rates ! Never again . Should have slept in car !
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by paul, Hotel Management
I really wish we could have been more proactive to be able to accomidate you. If we had been given the chance we could have done many things to make your stay more enjoyable. I hope that we can have better communication in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangor ME

Needs desperate updates!

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: I do think the housekeepers did ok. But it was hard to tell because of the grime and dinginess.
Cons: They need to update everything. Because they stack a dirty old Keurig on top of a crappy microwave, on top of the little fridge, doesn't rate 3 stars.
Location: Portland Maine.
Expedia was wrong to rate this dump a 3.5 star hotel! It should be rated a 1/2 star. We drove right past the entrance because there were no external lights on. It was all dark. We were checked in by a fella who was unshaven, had greasy long gray hair, with blue workshirt. There was no explanation about amenities, breakfast, or anything. He jerked his thumb and said if you park by door 10 you will be closest to your room. We drove back and forth in the dark parking lot but couldn’t find #10. WE entered at #9, and I noticed the stair banister was ready to fall off. The hallway was gloomy and dirty with stained carpet. There was a rank odor. Our room was so run down. The TV was the old style with low def. The top of the walls had a wallpaper border, which stopped on each side of the room 2 feet from the end. I didn't dare take off my shoes. I couldn't get the top of the Keurig to open. The sink in the bathroom clogged! The hair dryer cord was covered with brown grime. Vents under sink were rusty. We would have left, but there were no other rooms in town. The management needs to be fired and this hotel needs serious updates. Oh and when we exited the nearest door, we thought that this must be door 10, but there was no number on the door! We exited near the dumpsters and kitchen entrance and was greeted by a puff of smoke from the cigarette in the kitchen worker’s mouth. Thank you and have a good day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Paul, Hotel Management
I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail. I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel policies. Regards, Paul Schauber Guest Service Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There are better options close by

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Upon entering the hotel, front desk clerks, the 2 women were not very friendly in greeting us. Rooms were assigned, had to ask for directions as the inn is so large, it is horseshoe shaped. The only elevator that I saw was located at the front of the hotel, so if you are traveling with someone that has limited mobility, ask for a first floor room close to an entrance. The room was ok, the beds looked like a child had made them, stain on the bedskirt, very mildewed shower curtain,just not a well put together room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Federal Way, WA

Good value in Portland, Me

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Convenience to Portland and around.
Cons: New carpets.
This hotel is clean, convenient and well run. I appreciated continental breakfast and laundry facilities. There is also a shuttle to the airport and an indoor and outdoor swimming pool. The hotel is getting a little old but the room was pleasant and a good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by Paul, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. "Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. It is always heartwarming to hear that our accommodations were appreciated.
4 out of 5
by elaine from manchester nh

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay at the fireside inn was very nice..
5 out of 5
by Blair

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place to relax

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Nice place, only two complaints, hotel rooms have tile floors, slippery when wet! Outdoor pool needs better maintenance, TONS of leaves!