Ratings based on 668 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

No heat all night.

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: The location, staff and cleanliness of the hotel.
Cons: Check out the heating system for Room 238.
Location: Excellent location within walking distance to restaurants and shops.
Staff very pleasant and professional. Valet service great. Complimentary breakfast very nice. Close to many of Portland's fine restaurants and shops. Room very nice. However, with all that being said, room temp. was in the lower 60's all night. No matter what we did, could not get heat on. I finally called the main desk at 1am. Was so cold, couldn't get to sleep. Girl came up, did a few things (that I had already done) but still no heat. I reported this to the front desk in the am and they were apologetic but I was very tired with a busy day ahead and not getting a night's sleep. When I went back up to my room after the breakfast about 10am, you guessed it - plenty of heat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2016
The hotel was close to shops and restaurants. Front desk was very helpful with recommendations about where to eat. My kids loved the free cookies and hot chocolate! The staff was very friendly and helpful. I was going to use the workout room and jokingly asked if they had any bananas instead of apples at the front desk. The associate actually went into the kitchen and produced a banana that was meant for the morning breakfast buffet. Such a small thing but it is the kind of detail you expect at a more expensive hotel so I was pleasantly surprised and appreciative.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to the shopping district/waterfront

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: The location is great-- close to the shopping district, commercial street. Duck Fat restaurant and Meduccis Pizza are very close to hotel.
Location: Portland Museum of Art, Shopping on Exchange Street, Restaurants on Fore Street and Commercial street.
very pleasant experience. The room was clean and our particular room overlooked the water. We were upgraded at no additional charge to a waterfront room. The front desk was most helpful orienting us with the area and local interests and restaurants. The breakfast provided included- scrambled eggs, omelets, oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, fruit, toast or bagels. It was a really nice little seating area and the food was good. This service was much appreciated as we were able to sit down to breakfast and plan out day. The hotel also offers 24/7 coffee, tea and hot chocolate. This service was definitely used by multiple patrons during our stay. Portland is a beautiful city even in the winter. The local businesses and restaurants are more than friendly and they provide excellent customer service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Dec 19, 2015
Location: Commercial St. is great and there are a lot of restaurants to choose from :)
Girls weekend. Was fun. Staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing I would have wanted to know was that parking at the hotel was 15 dollars and parking at the parking garage was 32 dollars....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to good restaurants and shopping

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Good breakfast and close to all attractions. Excellent value in Portland to be close to all the action.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by TimTravels

Quick evening in Portland

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Orbitz
Stayed for a quick night in town. Had dinner reservations nearby and an early meeting the next day. Location is great. Staff friendly. Basic amenities. Rooms are comfortable. Thermostat was a pain. I would set it to cool and would wake up with the room at 75. Even with selector to cool it would not stop going back to heat. Couple random hairs in the side of the tub, but cleaner then most. Hot breakfast in the morning is ok. Powdered eggs and heated from frozen bagel, cheese, and something? They have great home fries so it's too bad they don't offer a good egg option even if it was for an extra charge. I'll probably stay again although there are numerous locations nearby that offer similar rates so the few downsides at this location are starting to be offset by the competition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farmington

great choice!

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: The hotel is conveniently located in the Portland Old Port area, within easy walking distnce to shops, restaurants, the waterfront, and walking trails
Despite not generally allowing pets, the hotel staff were very accommodating and allowed us to bring our dog at no extra charge. We were able to enjoy our stay more, knowing our dog was safe in our room. The rooms were lovely, spacious, and provided all the amenities we needed. Great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2015 by Tasha, Hotel Management
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be perfect for your Portland visit! We hope you'll come back and visit us again soon. Tasha Sheff Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location and good value for the money

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Pros: Good facility and location for the money. Good included breakfast. Friendly staff.
Cons: Quieter heating vent in bedroom.
Location: Lots of great pubs and restaurants, port, and museums within 1/2 mile walking.
The hotel is located in downtown Portland so its convenient to the shops and restaurants. For the money ($150), I thought hotel was quite nice. Bed was very comfortable. Room well appointed. Everything clean. Valet parking reasonable ($15). Great breakfast included in the $150 room charge. Sebago Brew pub as part of the hotel. Only two negative comments. 1) Bathroom while very clean with good water pressure was a bit small and basic and 2) the heating vent was over the bed and while running was quite loud (fortunately it was not on often).
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2015 by Tasha Sheff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our friendly team. We hope we'll have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future!