Ratings based on 714 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auburn, MA

Great hotel; great location.

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, customer services, free breakfast.
Cons: Everything is fine the way it is.
Location: Close to all that Portland has to offer: restaurants, shops, etc. Must go to DiMillo's Restaurant on the water and the Duck Tour. We love Portland!
The hotel is in downtown Portland, close to all restaurants and shops; yet very quiet and not busy. Very clean and spacious rooms and wonderful customer service. The breakfast (included) was excellent with a variety of offerings. Will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Spacious, clean room and excellent amenities. I highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

friendly and clean

Posted Jul 16, 2016
enjoyed stay at the Hampton inn hotel. Within walking distance of everything downtown and freeway access just short drive away for drive upstate and down. Hotel staff were all friendly and helpful. room kept clean everyday and parking attendants always had car waiting for us when we left each morning. Enjoyed morning breakfast and newspaper before we started for the day. Just wish we had more time and money to enjoy Portland and surrounding area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central NJ

3rd Time was the Charm - Perfect Location

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: Breakfast room and selection of food, location, easy use of valet parking - you can get the keys to grab something if you need it.
Cons: Nit picking - clean the windows. The room had a view of the water but the outside of the windows were filthy.
Location: Go to a Portland Sea Dogs game, try to stay on the 1st Friday of the Month and walk up Congress St, go for a walk or run on the Eastern Prom
Family of 5 - spent three nights at the hotel this past weekend. This was our 3rd time in less than 2 years staying at the hotel and it has never disappointed us. Great location to everything - easy in and out, as opposed to the other hotels in the area, great breakfast room and overall service. Gail and Josh are there every morning to say hello and ask about your stay. The pool is just right for the kids and some of the rooms are large enough for a roll-away bed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hollywood, FL

Conveniently locate hotel with very friendly staff

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Staff, front desk personnel. Danny Cox, the maintenance man, was a very interesting fellow and went out of his way to be helpful. He was great!
Cons: The breakfast could be improved. The maid service was passable but could be better. There was some paper items and business cards left on the floor.
Location: Great location. There were good restaurants and a great ice cream shop within 5 to 10 minutes walking distance. The ferry boat was 5 minutes away.
It was a good experience from start to finish. The room was comfortable and quiet with good bedding. The breakfast that was included was average hotel fare, nothing great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Tasha, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review and the detail you provided. We are so glad you had a great stay. I couldn't agree with you more -- Danny Cox is a great representative of our hotel and a very hard worker. I am so glad (but not surprised) to hear he went of his way to help you. I will share your comments regarding housekeeping and breakfast to our managers as we continually look to improve and your input is invaluable. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon, Keith.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Walking distance to Commercial Street. Delicious breakfast.
Cons: They charge for parking, c'mon!
Location: Walking distance to the water and all the restaurants and bars.
Stayed here last minute...was pretty pricey but only stayed there because the rest of my group was staying there as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Tasha, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We're so glad you had a great stay and enjoyed our location and our breakfast. Like all of the hotels in the downtown Portland area, we do charge for parking and offer a very competitive nightly charge. We have a very limited parking lot and thus double and often trip stack vehicles to accommodate all of our guests. We hope that you'll come back and stay and again soon so that we have the opportunity to serve you again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Longueuil, Québec

Hôtel près du Circus Maine

Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: Nous avons aimé la propreté de l'hôtel, la déco est très belle, très bon déjeuné qui est inclus dans le forfait.
Cons: Un léger B-mol fut un accueil plutôt froid à la réception.
Location: Le musée de train avec une véritable locomotive à vapeur qui offre des promenades, le bord de l'eau est bien aménagé avec une superbe piste cyclable
Nous avions besoin d'un hôtel près du centre-ville pour assister à un spectacle d'une école de cirque. Cet hôtel fit l'affaire parfaitement, c'est très bien situé.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2016 by Tasha, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review! We're thrilled you had a great stay and found our location to be perfectly situated for the performance you attended. Please allow us to serve you on your future Portland visits!
3 out of 5
by barbara from Quincy

Economy with good location

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient location for Downtown Portland. Not much at hotel for kids though. Pool is very small, but breakfast is pretty good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Tasha, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and found our hotel to be a good value for your visit.. We hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Deal

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortably Great
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Tasha, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
by Zorelly from North Adams, MA

Great place for a relaxing weekend!

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
The Hampton Inn in Downtown Portland was perfect for a calm, relaxing weekend getaway. The staff was very attentive and great at giving suggestions, the room and bed were very comfortable, and the location was walking distance of all the best restaurants, bars, and areas. I highly recommend staying here if you don't want to worry about anything except eating great food, drinking good beer, and coming back to nice, large bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Tasha, Hotel Management
Wow, what a nice review! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and your kind comments about our team mean the world to us. We love taking care of our guests! Thank you for your high recommendation of our hotel. We are humbled by your kindness and hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to stay again soon! Warm Regards,