Ratings based on 474 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Good location, walking distance to shops, restaurants, parks, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Shaunice , Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you for your kind words and time you have taken to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express NW Portland! We look forward to your next visit to Portland and seeing you again! Warm Regards Shaunice W. Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location.

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: location and staff
Location: Walking distance to 23rd street for great food, drink, & shopping. Providence Park also in walking distance for soccer games!
Hotel is easy walking distance to several places to eat, drink, and shop. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Shaunice W., Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to share such a nice review of the Holiday Inn Express NW Portland. The staff thanks you for your compliments and we were happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. I am pleased that you had an opportunity to enjoy the trendy Nob Hill/23rd area with all of the restaurants and shopping around the corner from the hotel. Thank you again for your review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just OK

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: That it was right on the edge of Knob Hill. Very close to restaurants, shops, etc. Bus stop close by. Complimentary breakfast generous.
Cons: See above
Location: Though the hotel itself is right off the I-405 and looks somewhat shady, the neighborhood which begins essentially across the street is great.
So for the price of this Holiday Inn Express, $850 for three nights, I expected a little more. When I arrived, I dealt with a staff that seemed friendly, but rather young and not very communicative. After I checked in, I got on the elevator and there was a roll of toilet paper laying on the floor along with some other garbage. The room was clean for the most part but not what I expected for the price; decor was a little dated but fine. Bed was very comfortable. One thing that grossed me out is that there was what can only be described as nasal discharge stuck to my shower wall for the whole time I was there and it wasn't mine! I don't know how the cleaning staff missed this every day, but it was really gross. The refrigerator in the room was turned off, so the ice tray inside it melted and leaked on the floor, so when I arrived at my room the floor was wet around the fridge. Finally, the counter in front of microwave was sticky. Again, not sure how the cleaning staff missed this. I give everything a second chance and would certainly do so for this hotel. However, I will look for alternative lodging the next time I'm in Portland.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Shaunice W., Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express NW Portland. I'm sorry to hear the rooms weren't up to the standard you've come to expect from us. I have personally addressed this with our housekeeping staff to ensure this won't happen again. I was disappointed to read that you did not have a pleasant check-in experience and can assure you I will be personally investigating the matter.Thank you again for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Close to all the attractions, friendly staff and great breakfast. No complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Shaunice W., Hotel Management
What a wonderful review! It was a pleasure to host you during your trip to Portland. The area is amazing and we were pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the location. Our staff enjoyed hosting you and hope that you return again soon. Thank you again and upon your return, we hope that you are able to explore and enjoy more of the area! Best Regards Shaunice W. Front Desk Supervisor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olympia, WA

All the comforts of home!

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Free, free, free for three important things: Delicious breakfast, parking, and Wi-Fi. Very important to us, and not easily found in downtown Portlan
Cons: Room smelled of bleach and/or vinegar when we arrived, opened a window and burned a candle we brought along which helped.
Location: It's billed as Downtown Portland, but it's sort of the industrial area of town.Still, almost anything is accessible from there within 5-10 min.
Comfy beds with both one soft and one firm pillow per sleeper. Delicious free breakfast with MANY choices, much more than just Continental stuff: scrambled eggs, turkey sausage, bacon, biscuits, sausage gravy, cinnamon rolls, other pastries and muffins, two four-compartment toasters, three juices on tap, four yogurt flavors, multiple cereals and milk, fresh fruit, and the items were constantly kept filled even on a busy Sunday morning. Besides free breakfast, free parking (street level or underground parking garage) AND free Wi-Fi. Large hotel room, large bathroom with roomy shower with the shower curtain bar curving outward for more upper body room. Nice smell to the soap and other products. Air-Conditioner worked great for me and I like it cccccc-cold. :0) The only minus was our room smelled of maybe bleach and vinegar when we first arrived. We opened a window and burned a candle we brought along which helped, and we may have gotten used to it throughout the evening and next morning. Definitely would stay here again, great value and wonderful staff, including housekeeping staff when we met in hallways. They always smiled and replied. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice hotel close to downtown,

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Downtown, great food and drinks exciting crowd.
We really enjoyed ourselves, very relaxing great breakfast, pool and more.
4 out of 5
by Julie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Theresa

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017
Thank you for your review and giving us a great score. We hope to have you back as a guest. Best Regards Shaunice Washington Front Desk Supervior
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for the price

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: I liked the cleanliness, staff, and quietness of the rooms.
Cons: nothing I can think of.
From the moment we got there the staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave us information about events and restaurants near by. Hotel was clean, towels available at the pool, and the gym room was nice as well. Only one thing was the waiting time on new bath towels in the morning. Yet I understand as it was breakfast time and they were probably busy with that. When we went down for breakfast they had several items to chose from. They even open up the conference room for more seating as we went on a busy time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Shaunice Washington, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for choosing the Holiday Inn Express NW Portland and sharing the experience you had at our property. I very pleased to hear you had a wonderful time. I will be sure to let my staff know about the positive comments you have given them.We look forward to your next visit to Portland and seeing you again! Warm Regards Shaunice Washington Front Desk Supervisor
4 out of 5
by Sanford J

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels