Ratings based on 1,112 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Islip, NY

Walking distance to downtown Portland.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Convenience, cleanliness, staff.
Cons: Can't think of anything at the moment.
Location: Walking distance to downtown Portland for shopping, dining and boat rides.
This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. It is convenient to all of the places that we wanted to visit. There is a free shuttle bus if you get tired of walking. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SOCA

Older hotel needing/getting upgrades.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Good airport shuttle.
Cons: Staff at both Front Desk, and coffee shop.
I gave my review, however, it was apparently deleted somewhere...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Last minute save

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Close to shops and restaurants in the old port. The hotel has a good view of the port. Very short distance (10mins) to sights like the Portland Head.
Cons: Parking, the main parking garage attached to the hotel was full each time I arrived, but I was easily able to park in the garage next door.
Location: Short walk to the majority of shops, restaurants and bars, but the area is very nice and the area is quite beautiful to admire while walking.
I drove to Portland on Business and after 19 hours of driving I was ready to relax in my hotel room. I had book a room at a near by competitor and was surprised to see the condition of the hotel was not at all as they represented online. I canceled my room there and was able to get a room at the Holiday Inn Portland- by the bay. The hotel is a very nice along with its staff. When I arrived the staff member at the front desk heard about my trip in and bad experience at the other hotel. She then said I have a perfect room to let you relax and see Portland properly. She got me a room on an upper floor with a great view of the Port. I stayed for 2 nights, and had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is just a couple minutes walk from the main stretch of shops and restaurants in the old port and was very easy for me to make my way around in the evenings to shop. I had a couple particular gifts that I was looking for and the staff easily told me what shops would have them. They offered to drive me and drop me off but I preferred to walk and see have a look around town so they got me a map of the area and circled the shops I was looking for. Overall my stay was very nice and I will be staying here again upon my next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, Maine

Nice hotel close to the Cross Insurance Arena

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Restaurant with the hotel could have major improvements.
Location: Concerts, shopping etc.
Checked in and was always greeted by friendly counter staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Excellent!

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Love this hotel. Close to shopping and food. Every staff member I encountered was so very friendly and helpful. I cannot say enough about them. Nice view if you get a bay view room. Free shuttle service will take you and pick you up from the area. Fantastic place!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chesapeake, VA

Perfect place in Portland !!

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: The staff was friendly and accommodating. We requested early check in and they were happy to help. I will definitely go back there.
Cons: Nothing, you guys are great !!
Location: Location was perfect because it was so close to things to do. We could walk right from the hotel.
This was my first time in Portland. The hotel was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. I will be back soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Duluth, GA

Excellent Value for the Area

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: The hotel's kitchen is not only competitively priced, but equal or better than those that surround it. Very nice job.
Cons: My a/c unit had some significant vibration and I had to sleep with a pillow over my head. This is the only reason I did not rate 5 across the board.
Location: A short 2-block walk can lead you to a wonderful, homey Eritrean restaurant if local beer is not your thing.
Sometimes downtown hotels can seem old or worn out, but definitely not in this case. Very clean and well maintained throughout, this place is a keeper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Close to downtown

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Well located, decent parking, and friendly.
Cons: No real gripes. It's seems a bit older, but for the most part it seems their keeping up with the upkeep.
Location: Downtown sights and shopping
We needed a place to stay for a couple days in downtown Portland. This was a bit on the spendy side, but was clean and an easy walk to everything we needed. Parking was easy to deal with, and the room was decent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Nice location to be able to walk to bars, restaurants, shops and events!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Convenient location. Walking distance to all! Nice large hotel with clean rooms. This hotel despite being in the city was nice and quiet.