Ratings based on 1,770 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
Great customer service. Everyone was super friendly and helpful. Received a free room upgrade. Room was clean, nostalgic decor, and a very comfy bed. Great location, easy to find, easy to park or pull right up front for valet, and walking distance to practically everything.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noxious Fumes in Room

Posted May 21, 2017
Although the staff was very nice about it and comped both our room service and our one day of parking, Expedia and the hotel NEVER should have allowed me to book the last room in this hotel, which had just had sealant applied to the window. The smell in the room was SO strong and potentially toxic that we had to sleep with a fan and bury our faces in the sheets. The hotel could not comp any of our room because we booked on Expedia. And we would have had to deal with Expedia to get a refund. Opening these rooms for rent before they were aired out was just a shameless money grab that worked. I still feel I'll from that room and all of my belongings smell like sealant. Even the dude who delivered our room service said WOW. That smell is STRONG!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Fantastic hotel.

Posted May 17, 2017
Friendly staff. Clean room. Elegant and luxurious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Loved the hotel and the staff!

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Staff, Theme and bath products.
Cons: Our curtains had stains and the ceiling had a large water stain as well.
Location: Good location, we walked safely late at night. Close walk to Powell's Book Store, Restaurants and shopping.
We stayed at the hotel for a week and it was a great experience. The staff especially Claire, Chris and Yeshi were super friendly and accommodating. We tried both the restaurants, Gracie's and The Driftwood and they were both good. Our room was small and the bathroom was super small, that being said we didn't visit Portland to stay indoors and it did have all the amenities needed for a hotel stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017
One night stay, depending on the room you might get quite a bit of traffic and pedestrian noise in the morning. Overall a thumbs up.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay here

Posted Apr 28, 2017
We had to switch rooms 3 times. The hotel has worn out beds, tiny rooms, and very noisy. The bed had a sink hole, very difficult to sleep. We eventually got a better room, but the room was very noisy. We parked in the self park garage and there was human feces in the elevator. Bad experience overall. We had to cancel the hotel in the middle of the reservation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Wonderful elegant hotel in great location.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Excellent staff. Would certainly return again. Luxury hotel in great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Nice hotel. Close to Portland AMTRAK Union Station

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: I liked location, especially not too far from AMTRAK Union Station in Portland (I like train travel). The hotel had a nice restaurant, with good food.
Cons: I suggest moving away the Honor Bag. It took too much space, especially given the room size. The box could be placed adjacent to the Honor Bag.
Location: It is located next to the street metro train that goes downtown, so this is good. It is also not far from other downtown hotels. very quiet location.
What makes me like a hotel is often not the physical facilities or the building, but friendliness and courtesy of staff to all persons regardless of national origin, race/ethnicity, skin color, age, and gender. I initially had misgivings about this hotel because I was not sure how I would be received. As a colored person, I have suffered negative treatment in my life in many hotels and across the U.S. Upon arrival at the DeLuxe, I found very friendly and helpful personnel. I would like to express specially thanks to the lady that checked me in. She was very friendly, really nice, and we spent time joking with each other. I have a great sense of humor, so she quickly picked on that. My one night stay was wonderful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice and clean hotel, staff very friendly

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Very clean and bar had a great selection of drinks but was a tad too dark. Menu difficult to read, saw people holding cell phone to read menu
Cons: If the front desk could improve on their directions to local attractions.
Location: The soccer stadium is a couple of blocks away, The Pearl distract is also a quick walk away. The Max light is also a couple of blocks away.
I had been warned that the rooms were small and they were but very clean. They have a beautiful lobby and wonderful bar that could use a little more light. The hotel is very close to public transportation and the Pearl District which was a very easy walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eugene, or

Love it after multiple stays

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Great location, friendly staff. We have stayed here several times and love it. Breakfast at Gracies is delicious, and walking distance to great shopping and restaurants.