Ratings based on 1,725 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Best jewel in Portland

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Everything but the bar was a Portland top notch bar which I would use as a reason to stay here.
Cons: Maybe the breakfast potatoes. Overall the food was good but we ate out other than breakfast here.
Location: Perfect location for us. Safe, above downtown by two blocks, easy trolley transportation. Always coming back here.
VERY quiet hotel. We had a corner room second floor over the trolley stop but never heard any street noise. Excellent comfortable accommodations with character. Parking was super valet easy or a structure next door. Choose the valet as its safe and at the door. Looking forward to staying again as you can geographically reach all areas of interest from this awesome place. Clean, fresh and the bar was the best in Portland. The bartender is an expert. Heremembers you from the first visit by name, knows your drink of choice and even compliments the patrons with exciting new drinks to help you experience new tastes. Between this hotel, great Portland eating and this bar at "home" we had a blast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location was in a good location.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Loved the old character; clean and neat. Friendly staff.
Cons: Not a thing
Location: We were able to get a discount and enjoyed our stay. We were within walking distance to Powell's Book Store, a local theatre, restaurants.
We had a wonderful stay; enjoyed the local theatre, Powell's book store; restaurants and shopping all within walking distance. The weather was perfect and we got plenty of exercise; didn't use the car for two full days. Enjoyed walking along the river.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Rooms are very small, charged more than quoted when booked
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Great hotel, not too far from downtown. The staff was particularly delightful. The room was very clean with a view but a bit small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Blast from the past.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: See previous comments.
Cons: Free parking.
Location: I came for my brother's funeral. I did not pend a lot of time near the hotel.
Staying in this hotel was like going back in time. If you like Hollywood in the 50' you will love this place. Don't forget the bar. It has the same feel of the 50's. The bartenders are the greatest and you never know who you will met there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Nice hotel but quite small and noisy

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Close to Downtown
Cons: quiet elevators and a little more friendly staff
Location: Right in the heart of downtown. Location was great.
Booked a special rate through Expedia and they gave me a king room right by the elevator so we heard the elevators going up and down all night. The staff didn't seem caring but in their defense they were busy. I truly believe that whenever you get a special rate all hotels go out of the way to give you one of the worst rooms available. The room for a king room was really small. Just enough room for the bed but we had a hard time trying to put our luggage some place where we wouldn't be tripping over them all night. On the good side they are right downtown and within walking distance to a lot of nice restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in central location!

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: It was walking distance to everything and not in a loud section of town.
great location, walking distance to Nob Hill, Pearl District, Pioneer District and park. Easy accessible via Max Red Line from PDX airport, two blocks away from Providence Park stop off of Red Line. Hotel is charming and in quiet neighborhood, great for relaxing. Wonderful bar with great drinks and happy hour prices. Lots of nearby restaurants and coffeeshops/cafes. Friendly staff and an overall great hotel to stay at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel with a thousand nearby food options.

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Very polite staff. Immaculate hotel. They even gave our dog toys and a bed. 5 stars all the way around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel, clean and great for dogs.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Great hotel, clean and in a great location. Staff was very friendly and our dog was treated like a king. We stopped only for a night on our way to California but we will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017
I do a fair amount of business travel throughout the US and this is one of my favorites. Gracie's restaurant is fantastic and the Driftwood Bar never disappoints. It's also an easy walk to all downtown Portland districts and very easy to navigate to and avoids downtown congestion.