Ratings based on 2,818 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, excellent staff

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Location: Good location; an easy walk to art museum and Powell's.
My daughter and I flew into Portland very late one night, arriving at the hotel after midnight. (I had called ahead to let them know we would be arriving late.) The front desk person on duty was very kind, and offered to arrange a late checkout so that my daughter and I could sleep in. The room was spotless and comfortable, with modern furnishings and luxurious bedding. Because of our late arrival, we really didn't do much there other than sleep, but the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was nice. What I appreciated most, however, was the uniformly excellent service. Every single staff person we met was helpful, accommodating, and just genuinely pleasant. (For example, when we checked out on Thursday afternoon, I mentioned that we planned to wait in the lobby for a friend to pick us up. The front desk person instead set us up in the Coliseum (a large lounge/game room with a pool table, Wii U, and other activities), because he thought that would be a more enjoyable place for a kid and parent to hang out.) We will definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Staff is very friendly, room design is very pleasing and comfortable. Rooms are perfectly clean. I really liked that they use comforter covers instead of top sheets. And you can't beet the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and excellent staff!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Madison at the front desk made us feel so taken care of during our girls trip to Portland for four days! Everyone was so lovely at the hotel - I would stay here again for sure! Thank you hotel modera!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with nice staff

Posted Apr 18, 2017
We checked in late and were informed of the fact that we could not get the twin room we booked. The staff were really very friendly and arranged us two king rooms that are connected. We appreciated it so much! The room was comfy and the lobby was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in great downtown location.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Great price, updated and modern. Only issue was the toilet lid didn't fit on the toilet and I didn't like sitting partially on the porcelain. TMI but it was strange everything was so modern and new except the toilet seat cover!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Ivan, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review about your stay at Hotel Modera. We deeply apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay and hope it will not prevent you from giving us a second chance next time you are in Portland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor, Ontario

Charming hotel with friendly and helpful staff

Posted Apr 12, 2017
The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to downtown and trendy Hawthorne avenue. There is a MAX stop right in front of the hotel if you don't want to walk. I loved the hotel's retro-modern decor and the beautiful outdoor patio. The hotel front desk was very helpful in suggesting restaurants and answering any of our questions. They also said I could get soy milk for the coffee in our room from the restaurant in the hotel called Nel Centro. We didn't eat there but it was always busy and looked nice inside. There was a mix up with the shuttle service to the hotel. We called the front desk the night before for a shuttle in the morning. But it never came and for some reason didn't have our names on their list. We don't know whether it was the frontdesk person's error or the shuttle, however the hotel was kind enough to pay for the town car that we took to the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We constantly strive to provide the best service to our guests, and it is our pleasure to do so. We've shared your detailed review with our staff, and it brought us great joy. If you are at all familiar with TripAdvisor.com we especially appreciate guest reviews! TripAdvisor is the foremost travel site in the world and if you have time, your voice would be invaluable. If there was anyone or anything that stood out, let us know! Please reach out to us next time you are in Portland. We are always here to serve you and are happy to get you the best possible room and rate. We look forward to seeing you sometime in the future. Take care. Warm Regards, Guest Services - Hotel Modera
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfort in the Rain

Posted Apr 10, 2017
This hotel is beautiful, inside and out. The room was interesting and fancy and clean, and the beauty products smelled great (not like most hotels that have bars of soap and shampoo akin to plastic). The staff was friendly -- checked us in in the middle of the night. The valet is quick. The fire pits outside kept us warm in the chill. All around, a great place to stay. Someone is really looking out for details at this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We constantly strive to provide the best service to our guests, and it is our pleasure to do so. We've shared your detailed review with our staff, and it brought us great joy. If you are at all familiar with TripAdvisor.com we especially appreciate guest reviews! TripAdvisor is the foremost travel site in the world and if you have time, your voice would be invaluable. If there was anyone or anything that stood out, let us know! Please reach out to us next time you are in Portland. We are always here to serve you and are happy to get you the best possible room and rate. We look forward to seeing you sometime in the future. Take care. Warm Regards, Guest Services - Hotel Modera
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great Boutique Hotel!

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Friendly & accommodating staff, spotlessly clean & quiet rooms, excellent location --- what more can a first time PDX visitor ask for? They may not have a fitness room but complimentary day passes to the gym next door are available upon request.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great Location!

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Great location and staff
Cons: The condition of the room, for 4-5 stars, could use some improvement.
Location: Downtown Portland! Powell's Books, Pioneer Place Mall, The Zoo, The Children's Museum, OMSI, Portland State (for the scholars in the audience!)!
Hotel Modera is one of the more convenient hotels for the downtown area in Portland. It's easy to find, and for the star rating, pretty reasonable. I'm not entirely sure that the star rating is justified, based on the condition of the room, however, which had some oddly inconsistent issues, such as a comforter on the bed that was torn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Nice boutique hotel deep in SW PDX

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Overall, a very nice boutique hotel. The good: Excellent, attentive staff all around. From the valet/bell hop/door persons to the front desk to the cleaning staff. Great happy hour at the lounge, although quite busy on Friday and Saturday nights. Food in the restaurant was very good. Very nice eggs benny for brunch in Sunday Clean, modern design. And a great play room for kids up to adults. The not great: Rooms are small but comfortable. Pillows could have had more to them but that's a minor point Wifi is not included - very odd for any hotel these days Could be closer to the hipper neighborhoods. The location is a bit of a dead zone. That said, transit, bike share, uber and walking is very easy in Portland. Overall - really nice 3 nights. We were treated very well and enjoyed our trip.