Ratings based on 2,733 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, but Quaint

Posted Feb 22, 2017
The overall experience was great.. Room clean and all the hotel staff was awesome.. I was expecting a bigger room for the price..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Close to down town. Easy parking
Very nice hotel and close to Keller center. Excellent restraunt on site.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Mixed Feelings

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: We picked this place because it had rooms with two queen beds. Other places had only doubles.
There is only valet parking at $38 a night. Feb 11, 2017 the hotel is under construction in some areas so there is daytime noise and plastic on the hallway carpets. The beds are really comfy. The lighting in the bathroom is great, especially for doing makeup. The lighting in the room is a bit dim, but there are great big windows. The hotel has a nice courtyard which looks like a lovely place to hang out in the Summer. Our shower didn't work so we were offered a small discount or free breakfast in the restaurant. Staff is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice modern hotel close to downtown

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Nice modern hotel close to downtown The hotel has a nice restaurant and bar is pet friendly as a very pleasant staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: The hotel room itself
Very friendly staff. Not as cool/chic as I thought it would be. Valet is a little expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value in Downtown

Posted Feb 7, 2017
The room was rather small for a "premium king". I would suggest asking for a room away from the road because it gets noisy. Ask about construction before you reserve a room. Other than that a very nice place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay!

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: The game room was so much fun and the outdoor fire pits were fun (and warm) to sit around at night.
Cons: nothing
Location: Great location!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff was so nice and helpful! The beds were so comfortable I slept better than at home!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of Hotel Modera. The Colosseum, also known as our game room, is a great space for guests to relax and hang out and it is great that you got that opportunity during your stay with us. I will make sure to pass along your compliments to my staff and we cannot wait to welcome you back to Hotel Modera soon. Regards Andrew Maffei General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bend Or

Nice hotel in a good location

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: The staff was very friendly and the connected restaurant had a good patio (lovely 'firepits') and a nice Happy Hour.
Location: A bit far from the center but walkable and the neighborhood is pretty quiet. Not a lot of eating options really close by.
We stayed only one night and since we had our dog were relegated to the 2nd floor--fine but that's the floor being renovated so workers between 7-6 and then the hallway was dirty with demo debris. The heat in our room was very efficient and even at its lowest setting was so hot we had to open the window. The bed wasn't very comfortable -- not like some hotels that really take pride in the comfort of their bed. The room was also small. All that said it was a nice place for a reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Michelle, Thank you for your review of Hotel Modera. We take great pride in our staff and the level of customer service they provide to each of our guests. I couldn’t be happier to hear about your interactions with our staff as well as that you got the chance to enjoy Nel Centro, our on-site restaurant. Nel Centro has delicious food and their patio is definitely a draw for guests in every season. We cannot wait for the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Modera soon. Regards Andrew Maffei General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Great location for PSU

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and price.
Location: Portland Art Museum is close by. So are Portland government buildings. And it is a block from Portland State University.
I judge a hotel room by the shower and this one was great. The hotel is nice. The room was clean but not spacious. The bed was comfortable. It was a decent value. If you need to be right downtown, this hotel isn't for you. But we walked down to Mother's on 3rd Ave. for breakfast in about 10 minutes. Didn't have a car so I can't comment on parking. We would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dave, Being located so closely to the Portland Arts District as well as Portland State University is definitely a plus for us. We get a wide variety of guests from parents visiting PSU, to business travelers, to families on vacation. This variety truly gives our staff that chance to interact and connect with so many different guests. Thank you for your review of Hotel Modera and we cannot wait to welcome you back soon. Regards Andrew Maffei General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, Idaho

Nice hotel, excellent restaurant attached

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: Central to downtown. Easy access to hwy 26 to the Coast. King-size bed
Cons: Comp coffee in the lobby would have been nice. A better parking alternative than $38 a day valet
Location: Central to downtown. Enjoyed a morning walk on the icy, snowy sidewalks
All good. Only negative was the parking--$38 for valet parking. Could have parked on street or nearby lot but with all the snow and ice, it was not practical.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Jim, Thank you for your review of Hotel Modera. As you mentioned, our location is fantastic with easy access to highways and walkable distance to many Portland attractions. We have a wonderful parking package that I highly recommend for your next stay with us. We cannot wait for the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Modera in the future. Regards Andrew Maffei General Manager