Ratings based on 1,791 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seoul

모텔보다 못한 방의 컨디션

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: 하나도 없었다.
Cons: 주차가 발렛 서비스 밖에 되지 않는다는 것이 이해 되지 않는데, 게다가 발렛비용이 40불이 넘는다. 이게 말이 되나?
Location: 포틀렌드를 다시 가고 싶지 않을 정도로 호텔이 최악이였다.
방의 컨디션이나 수준에 비해 너무 비쌌다. 위치는 다운타운에 있었으나 그거 하나 말고는 전혀 이해 할 수 없는 별개수였다. 어떤 기준으로 star rating 을 하는지 모르겠지만 별 2개 이상의 장소가 아니다.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too loud, uncomfortable bed, creepy black crows.

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Cons: Temperature in the room fluctuates too much; it was either too hot or too cold.
While I enjoyed the size of my large king suite, the bed (for me) was too hard and very uncomfortable. I actually ended up sleeping on the couch. Additionally, my room on the 2nd floor facing Washington St. was much too loud; I could here full conversations on the street below and drunk people yelling about all night long. Making matters worse, starting before 6am every morning a disturbing number of black crows gathered atop two trees just outside my room making the most horrific noises. I hardly slept at all, and this was my worst experience staying a Kimpton property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2016
The place to be when traveling with your dog! So welcoming and loving to your pets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quirky, fun, original hotel in downtown Portland

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Loved the character of the hotel from the moment you walk in. Great staff and the complimentary wine hour was a plus. The room was cozy and had a great "Portland" vibe. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland

Girls night celebration!

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Location, friendliness of staff, wine reception, nice sofa bed with door between the rooms.
Cons: Can't think of anything!
Location: We had dinner at Pazzo and it was delicious, a Spanish Coffee at Huber's, breakfast at Red Star. Rainy day so nice to have so many options close by.
Took an overnight staycation and loved the hotel. The wine reception, the front desk staff, the proximity to great restaurants all added up to fun day/night. Coming back to a wonderful room was perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Love the location of this hotel. It's close to shops, mall and food trucks.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Love the location of this hotel. It's close to shops, mall and food trucks.
Love Kimpton and their hotels. And Hotel Monaco Portland is no exception. I visit Portland a few times a year and stay at Hotel Monaco every time. The staff are always so helpful. Rooms are always clean. They do weekly wine happy hours. And their restaurant, Red Star, has delicious food and great whisky/scotch selection.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Dirty and impossible to sleep in

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: The food was good. Room service was good, which I ordered everyday from being so tired from not sleeping.
Cons: Almost everything.
This hotel stay was awful and i came home two days early due to how uncomfortable it was and how much it ruined my trip. The room had a vibrating/rumbling noise from the heater that made is very very difficult to sleep in. further, the king mattress was completely distorted from too much use, and i got up each morning with back pain. the third night i slept on the pull out couch due to the rumbling/vibrating in the room and the bad mattress but the mattress on the pull out couch was rock hard. i didnt not sleep at all the third night. The first night I had terrible allergies due to the dust infested down comforter that was on the bed. the second night i asked for a different comforter that was hypoallergenic and it was that one was ok. There was birthday decorations behind the pull out couch from a previous guest still. The wine glass in the mini bar had lipstick on it from a previous guest. The tub was not draining water properly and water would accumulate during a short shower. There was no mattress protectors on the mattress. There is no vent in the bathrooms. I hated staying in this hotel and could't wait to leave. I paid extra money on to switch my flight just to leave this place two days early.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: give free parking, free wifi, serve breakfast
It was like walking through mine fields, everything one touched in the room came with additional fees. Considering the room price there was no free parking at the hotel, no free wifi, no breakfast, no even crappy coffee in the room...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Perfect!

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Awesome location at the heart of downtown Portland. My girlfriend and I decided to visit the city for New Years and we arrived really late due to flight delays and transportation difficulties. However, the front desk staff was so accommodating (even at 2:00AM) and they made sure we had our room ready with the heat on and 2 cups of hot tea. The room was super clean and had Hummingbirds paintings all over the walls. Every everything is within walking distance and it's really easy to find your way around town from the Hotel. Make sure you stay close between 5-6 PM.... There is a cute little happy hour at the lobby next to the fireplace with complimentary draft beer and wine. Highly recommended!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Worn out.

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Beds, couches and chairs all showed significant wear. Also, parking adds up at $41 a day + tip. Time to update Monaco.