Ratings based on 1,876 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Location, location

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Wonderful location to experience Portland. Walking distance, public transportation, or quick drives to local attractions is very convenient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

The hotel looked great online, it wasn't.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The vallets were some of the nicest people I have ever met. Super helpful and mindful.
Cons: Remodel and redecorate.
Location: Ringside was a great dinner! Wonderful wine selection, excellent serivce, and good food.
The room was awful. The obvious need to feel trendy in the competing market for "Keeping Portland Weird" has been taken to an extreme. Nothing matched. Early 1900 insoired wall paper, supre chique chairs, psychadelic pillows, and a lamp with duck, it was all terrible. All the furniture and room fixtures were so loud it gave me a head ache. Speaking of headache, the room next to us had a small dog who barked for 4 straight hours, and 3 calls down to the front desk later something was finally done. I love dogs, and I think it's great how pet friendly they are. This is more speaking on the matter of the paper thin walls that seperate guests, and the amount of times we had to call down to have something done about it. We were woke up at 7:30 by said dog, went to breakfast since we were up, and when we got back after 10 am the dog was still going. Also, the room smelled like mildew. Will not stay here, and will not recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ellensburg , WA

Will Stay Again

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Perfect location, close to good food and shopping. First time at a Moaco and I will definitely be back!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Hotel sliding downhill a bit

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: The location is excellent and the staff are friendly. The people at the front door always offer good tips on where to go. Pretty hotel and decor.
Cons: Room service improvement is a must before I'd stay here again. It seems like it's time to spruce up the linens.
Location: Walk to the Pearl District on the downtown waterfront; visit the Rose Garden; shop at Pioneer Square and nearby boutiques.
I have stayed at this property multiple times over the past 10 years--even before it was a Kimpton Property. This time I felt like it was less than the great experience I had in the past. The linens are aging and the the extra blanket in the closet was just ratty. I found a hidden liquor bottle in the tissue box, which just had one tissue in it when I checked in. My biggest complaint is the room service. At the breakfast coffee hour, they looked at me as if I had two heads when I asked for stevia and non cow's milk--c'mon.. Portland is where I discovered stevia 14 years ago and now my mother has it in her kitchen instead of "Equal." They offer a fabulous restaurant and will deliver but there are always issues 1) they are out of many items every night; and 2) they NEVER answer the phone. I called four times before being transferred to the front desk staff who explained they must be out taking orders. The second time they called me back from a "ring back" type phone service once I just gave up. Since this is a pattern and not a one time occurrence I'd like to suggest that they figure out a better way to take room service calls.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Portland , Oregon vacation with grandson

Posted Jul 21, 2016
We had a time of fantasy in your beautify decorated hotel. It was truely inspirational to our imaginations, Thank you, Judy Ruiz
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible hotel and terrible staffs

Posted Jul 7, 2016
The hotel has no cleaned up room. Staffs are not friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dope location, awesome staff, pleasant experience

Posted Jun 16, 2016
First thing we got when we came in was free beer. Room was awesome, Portland is a great town and the staff was really cool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Portland Monaco

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Great location, great restaurant and great service.
Great location, great restaurant and great service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thanks very much and get back to see us soon. Robert General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: Extremely friendly and competent staff. Has an atmosphere of quite luxury that's never oppressive.
Location: Near the heart of Portland's downtown, not as vibrant as other cities', but excellent cuisine - experimental, traditional, vegan, whichever you'd like
Stayed for a long weekend. Easy check-in and very helpful staff. Very traditional hotel on the inside, a bit of an oasis from downtown Portland. Beautiful rooms. Not the cheapest stay ever, but still excellent value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thank you very much! So happy that you had a chance to get out and see our city and the amazing things it offers. Hope you get a chance to get back soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a lot of old charm but bad service

Posted May 30, 2016
Overall the stay was good - but definitely not exceptional. This hotel has a lot of charming details but all of them are worn and old. Room badly needed a refresh and the whole place felt like it was in bad need of a cosmetic reconditioning. Free wine tasting was a nice touch though.