Ratings based on 1,474 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, NY

Nice hotel, nothing fancy

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Free breakfast and shuttle
Cons: the décor was outdated, but not a big deal.
Location: Take a cab to downtown, plenty of bars, restaurants, boat tours
We stayed at the Howard Johnson for 3 days on a visit to Portland. The hotel is nice, staff friendly, and free breakfast was a plus. They also provide free shuttle to and from the airport. It is far from fancy, but compared to the prices of hotels in downtown Portland you can't go wrong. We pretty much just slept and showered there. We took a cab to downtown and spent the whole day there, cab ride was anywhere from $14-18, make sure you mention to the driver you want "the flat rate" for Howard Johnson guests, it made a difference in the price. The room also had a mini fridge and microwave, which was nice. It was just what we were looking for, keep in mind it is not a fancy hotel with views.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Fabulous staff and close to all amenities.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
I've stayed here multiple times and it's always fantastic. The staff always go above and beyond.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2016
Clean room. Great staff. Great location. Nice breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boot

Cheap and worndown hotel.

Posted May 5, 2016
The hotel is really outdated and needs a make-over. Rooms look old. Pricewise it's a reasonable choice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Québec

Excellent endroit

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: L'aspect sécuritaire, le confort des lieux et la situation géographique parfaite!
Cons: Bien que tout soit propre dans la chambre et la salle de bain, il reste encore un peu de place à l'amélioration dans les coins.
Location: Magasinage à profusion, la proximité de l'eau avec le port de Portland, nombreux restaurants. Super!
J'en suis à mon sixième séjours à cet hôtel: Endroit sécuritaire, bien situé, chambre confortable qui inclut le petit déjeuner et un stationnement, personnel courtois et poli qui répond bien à nos demandes. De là, on peut aller rapidement au Casino d'Oxford, aux outlets de Kittery et Freeport, sur la plage d'Ongunquit ou d'Old Orchard, chacun en 40 minutes et moins. En outre, il y a le fameux Mall Mail Center et une bonne centaines de magasins différents à cinq minutes de l'hôtel. J'adore l'endroit!
5 out of 5
by Scott J. from Downeast Maine

A great choice for a family

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleased with facility and service. This hotel provided a very clean and pleasant stay. As a family travelling, we were very happy with the pool, staff, and complimentary morning breakfast. The bed was comfortable but did have a bit of sump in the middle. That was the only drawback. We favor this hotel over the several others we have stayed at in the Portland area for this price range.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Never received my wake up call. Other than that it was fine.
4 out of 5
by david

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
room was supposed to be non-smoking - but smelled of stale smoke, bedding was light, uncomfortable - but you get what you pay for - great for the low price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Close to Portland

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Reasonable price and easy drive to downtown. Very nice staff in breakfast room. Egg and sausage breakfast included.