Ratings based on 1,675 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from CA. stayed in portland, Maine

Nice

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Just needed a place to sleep over. Nice breakfast included. Would recommend to friends for a nice stay over. Heated swimming pool great 4 family. You get what u pay for but i would stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near what we want to do

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Room cleaning
Location: beach, shopping
Great experience. Good price. Good quality. Enough info. Let me go...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Good place for winter break with children

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, convenient location, niece indoor pool
Cons: Housekeeping
Location: Conveniently located close to port, shopping center (mall), eateries and tourist attractions
Friendly staff, good breakfast and great pool area for children
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Does the trick

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Nice indoor pool
Location: Right near restaurants and shopping mall
Our hotel room was comfortable and worth the money we paid which wasn't very much. The bathroom door knob was broken. The pool was great for the kids!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
We chose Howard Johnsons as a winter vacation overnight with our three boys and had a great time. The pool was great and we liked the fact that the continental breakfast was more than just bagels and cereal. In addition to the usual continental breakfast foods, they also offered hard boiled eggs and yogurt as well as a warmer with scrambled eggs, sausage and biscuits.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangor

Awful

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pillows were so uncomfortable they were unusable, mold all over the bathroom ceiling, housekeeping never came once over the weekend, pool was used for a kids pool party with no hotel staff and was a terrible experience. Find a better place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor, CT

Very good value

Posted Feb 22, 2017
We always stay at this hotel when we need one in the South Portland area. It is comfortable, clean and good value for the money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good deal!

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Overall everything was good. Breakfast, rooms, pool and staff. Will stay again.
5 out of 5
by Manmeet

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
Was great
3 out of 5
by Mercedes

Horrible internet

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
The internet was horrible, didn't work at all. Very disappointed with that, especially when I had to do homework. Other than that it was very clean, everyone was nice.