Ratings based on 1,645 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangor

Awful

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pillows were so uncomfortable they were unusable, mold all over the bathroom ceiling, housekeeping never came once over the weekend, pool was used for a kids pool party with no hotel staff and was a terrible experience. Find a better place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor, CT

Very good value

Posted Feb 22, 2017
We always stay at this hotel when we need one in the South Portland area. It is comfortable, clean and good value for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maine

Great price for a one night stay

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Price and location
Cons: Pillows are low quality
Location: Mall shopping is handy
Great service for a night stop asking for more info or I will need to rate your survey,!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and affordable

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Enjoyed our stay. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico, Me

Good location

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Location and price
W were visiting relatives for Christmas. This hotel had easy access to the interstate and our family. Check in was quick and easy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Portland

Merely a Cheap Shelter

Posted Dec 20, 2016
First of all, I did not have much interaction with the staff because the first impression they imply is that you needn't any. Just a bunch of hardworking (9-5/Clock-in; Clockout kinda) folks. They don't enjoy being there for the sake of HJH, and you can tell that because Management neglects renovations throughout the facility. It feels like all they do is clean, wash, and change sheets... for the past decade. The room felt muggy in December (photos cannot explain). So what-there is an indoor swimming pool? The amenities feel like it's the 1990s. Pretty much--it's a checkin/checkout kinda motel (not hotel). No wonder it was the cheapest. Great job on management surviving inspections because it appears that that is all they care about; survive state inspections and stay open.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

oldie but goodie

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: staff always around to help
Location: portland jetport
This Howard Johnsons is an older building but well kept. The value of the room, pool, breakfast and jet port shuttle was excellent. But the true value was the wonderful staff that helped during a stormy weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Dec 17, 2016
The staff was very helpful. Love the waffle. Peaceful night sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK, but not even a hair dryer in the room.

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Disappointed with the shuttle service to the airport. I was told the evening before when I checked in that the shuttle would run on the hour. So I planned accordingly. They didn't run on time - they were waiting for someone who was late getting to the shuttle. I can't help if they are late - and they were not in a hurry. If they say they will run on time, they should. Very disappointed and it caused unnecessary stress for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Convenient to all the stores, very nice staff.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, nice and clean.
Location: If you want to do stuff around greater Portland, it is very handy to stores at the mall, or to downtown.
Got a great deal, and didn't expect much. But the hotel surpassed our expectations, and was very nice and clean. Even a pool and exercise equipment. Recommend!