Ratings based on 1,436 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not People Friendly

Posted Feb 9, 2016
We booked a king sized bedroom, but they put us in the pet wing. The room stunk like feces and urine. We were moved to another room with two double beds, not ideal for our situation, but better than a stinky room. I felt like they should have either upgraded us to another king sized room or refunded some money, but that wasn't ever offered. Not sure if we will ever go back to this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the airport and Maine Medical Hospital

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Rooms was clean . Great parking area . Breakfast was good they could all some different bread to the menu. Wifi wasn't the best need to improve in this area . Indoor Pool was nice this is extra if you have kids with you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Leftover linens & trash....

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Leaving in the morning
Cons: more training from desk help
Check in about 5 pm - clerk not very friendly, got key to room and found the dirty laundry still in a chair from that morning I guess. Took it back to front desk and gave to same clerk...... never said anything like " oh I'm sorry" I told him I'll check the rest of the room for him, everything was nice and clean - but I did bring the leftover trash back out to front desk. The next when checking out the girl at front desk asked how our stay was- so I filled her in from night before. She was shocked and sorry for what happened and prior desk clerk did nothing. We had breakfast that was offered also. Now that was great. food was hot - staff was taking care food and restocking & cleaning. At least it ended on a high note.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Maine

Short distance to downtown Portland

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: The location at a reasonable price
Cons: Somewhat dated hallways.
Location: Just a few mile from downtown and the Opl Port section of Portland
Hotl was located in a convenient location. Simple, clean rooms. Check in - check out was done quickly with no issues.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

noise thru the night

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: The staff was excellent and very courteous and helpful.
Cons: See above
Location: South Portland, Maine
Heater was noisy thru the whole night even on low and when heater wasn't running the refrigerator was making noise. At about 1:30 am, a "fellow guest" down the hall, starting yelling in the hallway. I am use to sleeping in a completely darken room. There was light shining in the room all around the door frame and the window curtains there was a lot of light leakage. Not a very restful night. The continental breakfast started at 6:00 am and ended at 9:00 am????? At least extend the hours till 10:00 or 11:00.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Worst stay ever at a hotel!!!!!!

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Convenience
Cons: Everything
Location: South Portland. Mall, restraunts
We arrived on Monday December 28th and went into a cold room we tried everything to make it warm it never worked on out two night stay. ON tuesday we had a snow storm and the place wasnt even plowed front desk was shoveling the guest out i had to wait to park plow guys finally showed up at 6pm but did not plow guest spots!!!!!! the front dest told us they had 5 properties to take care of not our problem we spent money to stay there and were miserable, we had to go to front desk to get towels cause no one cleaned the room, what kind of hotel is this guest do not matter to you it seemed,without us you have no business!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the mall in South Portland.

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Our fourth year in a row staying here on New Year's Eve. After an evening out in Portland, it's an easy trip to get to the hotel. As for it being New Year's, the hotel is not party city--and is very sound proof. Very comfortable, very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Allentown pa

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Location: Close to mall and Portland
First time I ever stayed at this hotel. I would definitely go back. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Pleasantly surprised!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Bay, FL

Friendly staff

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Having a refrigerator and/or a microwave for guests that will be staying more than two days without having to pay extra.
Location: Not much to do within walking distance. There was a restraunt attached to another hotel and a duncan donuts.
The hotel itself was nice and clean. Had to be moved from rooms because there was a leak in the bathroom but they made the changes quickly. Noisy neighbors but that is not the hotels fault. Close to the mall but not walking distance since it's all highway. Not much around the area in walking distance. I was able to get the shuttle to the airport which was great. I do recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Deland, Florida

Do not go to this hotel in Portland Maine

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: My refund
Cons: The plumbing and finish the construction improvements. Also, open a window. It was stuffy.
Location: Busy location. I was going to the airport.
My stay at the Howard Johnsons was terrible. When I arrived they were having a plumbing problem. I could not wash my face or flush the toilet. It stay like that for over 30 minutes. Out of frustration I told the staff I would not stay there any longer. They agreed to refund my stay from expedia. That was the best part of my experience with Howard Johnsons in Maine. They also were doing some construction work outside my room. The manager was a young guy who was trying. It just didn't work out. I left with my wheeled suitcase and stayed at a Quality Inn down the street. Much better. I guess I got lucky with my refund. JW Deland Florida