Ratings based on 1,658 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Does the trick

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Nice indoor pool
Location: Right near restaurants and shopping mall
Our hotel room was comfortable and worth the money we paid which wasn't very much. The bathroom door knob was broken. The pool was great for the kids!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
We chose Howard Johnsons as a winter vacation overnight with our three boys and had a great time. The pool was great and we liked the fact that the continental breakfast was more than just bagels and cereal. In addition to the usual continental breakfast foods, they also offered hard boiled eggs and yogurt as well as a warmer with scrambled eggs, sausage and biscuits.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangor

Awful

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pillows were so uncomfortable they were unusable, mold all over the bathroom ceiling, housekeeping never came once over the weekend, pool was used for a kids pool party with no hotel staff and was a terrible experience. Find a better place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor, CT

Very good value

Posted Feb 22, 2017
We always stay at this hotel when we need one in the South Portland area. It is comfortable, clean and good value for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maine

Great price for a one night stay

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Price and location
Cons: Pillows are low quality
Location: Mall shopping is handy
Great service for a night stop asking for more info or I will need to rate your survey,!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and affordable

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Enjoyed our stay. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico, Me

Good location

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Location and price
W were visiting relatives for Christmas. This hotel had easy access to the interstate and our family. Check in was quick and easy.
5 out of 5
by megan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Portland

Merely a Cheap Shelter

Posted Dec 20, 2016
First of all, I did not have much interaction with the staff because the first impression they imply is that you needn't any. Just a bunch of hardworking (9-5/Clock-in; Clockout kinda) folks. They don't enjoy being there for the sake of HJH, and you can tell that because Management neglects renovations throughout the facility. It feels like all they do is clean, wash, and change sheets... for the past decade. The room felt muggy in December (photos cannot explain). So what-there is an indoor swimming pool? The amenities feel like it's the 1990s. Pretty much--it's a checkin/checkout kinda motel (not hotel). No wonder it was the cheapest. Great job on management surviving inspections because it appears that that is all they care about; survive state inspections and stay open.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

oldie but goodie

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: staff always around to help
Location: portland jetport
This Howard Johnsons is an older building but well kept. The value of the room, pool, breakfast and jet port shuttle was excellent. But the true value was the wonderful staff that helped during a stormy weekend.