Ratings based on 1,501 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great except for noisy a/c.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Location: We love Portland, with all the fabulous food, breweries and location.
All was fine except for terribly noisy a/c. Less than 10 minutes from Portland, clean, comfy, generous breakfast including waffle maker.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

Great hotel!

Posted Aug 20, 2016
We were looking for a hotel in Portland that would shuttle us to the airport after a vacation in mid-coast Maine and the Howard Johnson Hotel more than met our expectations. The location was great, the room was spacious and comfortable and they provided us with 3 shuttles to the airport, one when we dropped off our rental car, one for my flight and one later that day for my husband's flight since we were going to different locations initially. The staff was friendly and very helpful and the pool and fitness room looked great though we didn't use them since we were only there 1 night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from paris

Hôtel grande chaîne bien pour un passage, pas cher

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Assez impersonnel, piscine, petit déjeuner type grande chaîne américaine . Pas cher pour une nuit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Andover

Nice hotel. Close o lots of stuff!

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Great friendly staff, clean. Good food variety for breakfast. Only missing bacon & doughnuts!
Cons: Add bacon to the breakfast!
Location: Great food & drink. Antique shops, historical stuff. Lots of gift shops & breweries to visit!
Good experience, so far. I wish they had bacon for breakfast, though:)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Good hotel for the price.

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Price, location.
Cons: The bed was not very comfortable and pillows were like not having anything at all.
Location: Close to Portland and all of it's amenities.
Stayed for five nights and found the room adequate. It was centrally located and convenient to the highway.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A good value

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Cons: The fixtures were tired but everything was clean and neat, obviously housekeeping really takes its job seriously
Very convenient to 295 and downtown, lots of amenities, shopping, restaurants within easy 5-10 minute drive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great half way point to Bar Harbor

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Pet friendly; easy on/off location.
Very accommodating. Friendly staff. Only "drawback": No "kitchenettes".
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

The hotel exceeded our expectations!

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, location, amenities, breakfast and room too!
Cons: Can't think of a thing!
Location: We were there for a wedding, and spent some time on Commercial Street. Spent another day checking out a couple of the lighthouses, which were nearby.
The hotel exceeded our expectations with a friendly staff and terrific amenities for the price! The location to the places we needed to go was ideal, and we would definitely stay there again whenever we return to Portland, Maine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, complimentary breakfast

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Convenient location, complimentary breakfast
Cons: Clean the carpets, secure the toilet seats, install secure doors.
Location: Convenient to all Portland, Maine attractions.
Toilet was loose on the floor, carpeting was filthy - my feet were black from briefly walking barefoot, 1/2 gap on room door - I could see outside the room! Are you kidding me? Filthy rug - my feet were black from briefly walking around room. 1/2 inch gap in door - are you kidding me! I could see outside the room! I did not feel safe or secure in room 112. Toilet seat was loose, not secured to the floor. ++++++++++++++
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

great location, close to places we wanted to visit

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: breakfast and the pool especially!
Cons: hairdryer :)
Location: close to the mall and not too far from Old Orchard Beach!
great time with my family there - staff was wonderful, very helpful and accommodating. The kitchen was awesome in the morning - with variety of food and drinks. Thank you for making our trip a great success.